Entry Into Force of the Tax Convention Between Canada and Finland

January 17, 2007

The Convention between Canada and Finland for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income entered into force on January 17, 2007. The Convention was signed on July 20, 2006. In accordance with Article 27 of the Convention, its provisions have effect, in respect of withholding taxes, on amounts paid or credited to non-residents on or after January 1, 2006; and in respect of other taxes, for taxation years beginning on or after January 1, 2006.

The Convention replaces the tax treaty signed in 1990 between Canada and Finland.

For further information contact:

Tax Legislation Division
Phone: 613-369-4016