Agreement Between The Government Of Canada And The Government Of His Majesty The Sultan And Yang Di-Pertuan Of Brunei Darussalam For The Exchange Of Information On Tax Matters

THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA AND THE GOVERNMENT OF HIS MAJESTY THE SULTAN AND YANG DI-PERTUAN OF BRUNEI DARUSSALAM, desiring to facilitate the exchange of information with respect to taxes, have agreed as follows:

ARTICLE 1

Object and Scope of this Agreement

1. The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties shall provide assistance through exchange of information that is foreseeably relevant to the administration and enforcement of the domestic laws of the Contracting Parties concerning taxes covered by this Agreement. Such information shall include information that is foreseeably relevant to the determination, assessment and collection of such taxes, the recovery and enforcement of tax claims, or the investigation or prosecution of tax matters. Information shall be exchanged in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement and shall be treated as confidential in the manner provided in Article 8.

2. The requested Party shall ensure that any right or safeguard granted to persons by the laws or administrative practices of the requested Party is not applied in a manner which unduly prevents or delays the effective exchange of information.

ARTICLE 2

Jurisdiction

A requested Party is not obligated to provide information which is neither held by its authorities nor in the possession or control of persons who are within its territorial jurisdiction.

ARTICLE 3

Taxes Covered

1. The taxes which are the subject of this Agreement are:

(a) in Canada, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Canada;

(b) in Brunei Darussalam, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Brunei Darussalam.

2. This Agreement shall also apply to any identical taxes imposed after the date of entry into force of this Agreement in addition to or in place of the existing taxes. This Agreement shall also apply to any substantially similar taxes imposed after the date of entry into force of this Agreement in addition to or in place of the existing taxes if the competent authorities of the Contracting Parties so agree. Furthermore, the taxes covered may be expanded or modified by mutual agreement of the Contracting Parties in the form of an exchange of letters. The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties shall notify each other of any substantial changes to the taxation and related information gathering measures covered by this Agreement.

ARTICLE 4

Definitions

1. For the purposes of this Agreement, unless otherwise defined:

(a) the term “Brunei Darussalam” means the territory of Brunei Darussalam including its territorial sea, extending to the airspace above such territory, over which it exercises sovereignty, and the maritime area beyond its territorial sea, including sea-bed and subsoil, which has been or may hereafter be designated under the laws of Brunei Darussalam as an area over which it exercises sovereign rights and jurisdiction in accordance with international law;

(b) the term “Canada”, used in a geographical sense, means:

(i) the land territory, air space, internal waters and territorial sea of Canada;

(ii) the exclusive economic zone of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part V of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982; and

(iii) the continental shelf of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part VI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982;

(c) the term “Contracting Party” means Canada or Brunei Darussalam as the context requires;

(d) the term “competent authority” means:

(i) in the case of Canada, the Minister of National Revenue or the Minister’s authorised representative;

(ii) in the case of Brunei Darussalam, the Minister of Finance or the Minister’s authorised representative;

(e) the term “person” includes an individual, a company, a trust, a partnership and any other body of persons;

(f) the term “company” means any body corporate or any entity that is treated as a body corporate for tax purposes;

(g) the term “publicly traded company” means any company whose principal class of shares is listed on a recognised stock exchange provided that its listed shares can be readily purchased and sold by the public. Shares can be purchased or sold “by the public” if the purchase or sale of shares is not implicitly or explicitly restricted to a limited group of investors;

(h) the term “principal class of shares” means the class or classes of shares representing a majority of the voting power and value of the company;

(i) the term “recognised stock exchange” means any stock exchange agreed upon by the competent authorities of the Contracting Parties;

(j) the term “collective investment fund or scheme” means any pooled investment vehicle, irrespective of legal form. The term “public collective investment fund or scheme” means any collective investment fund or scheme provided the units, shares or other interests in the fund or scheme can be readily purchased and sold, or readily purchased and redeemed, by the public. Units, shares or other interests in the fund or scheme can be readily purchased, sold or redeemed “by the public” if the purchase, sale or redemption is not implicitly or explicitly restricted to a limited group of investors;

(k) the term “tax” means any tax to which this Agreement applies;

(l) the term “applicant Party” means the Contracting Party requesting information;

(m) the term “requested Party” means the Contracting Party requested to provide information;

(n) the term “information gathering measures” means laws and administrative or judicial procedures that enable a Contracting Party to obtain and provide the requested information; and

(o) the term “information” means any fact, statement or record in any form whatever.

2. As regards the application of this Agreement at any time by a Contracting Party, any term not defined therein shall, unless the context otherwise requires, have the meaning that it has at that time under the law of that Party, any meaning under the applicable tax laws of that Party prevailing over a meaning given to the term under other laws of that Party.

ARTICLE 5

Exchange of Information upon Request

1. The competent authority of the requested Party shall provide upon request information for the purposes referred to in Article 1. Such information shall be exchanged without regard to whether the conduct being investigated would constitute a crime under the laws of the requested Party if such conduct occurred in the territory of the requested Party.

2. If the information in the possession of the competent authority of the requested Party is not sufficient to enable it to comply with the request for information, that Party shall use all relevant information gathering measures to provide the applicant Party with the information requested, notwithstanding that the requested Party may not need such information for its own tax purposes.

3. If specifically requested by the competent authority of the applicant Party, the competent authority of the requested Party shall provide information under this Article, to the extent allowable under the domestic laws of the requested Party, in the form of depositions of witnesses and authenticated copies of original records.

4. Each Contracting Party shall ensure that its competent authority for the purposes specified in Article 1 of this Agreement, has the authority to obtain and provide upon request:

(a) information held by banks, other financial institutions, and any person acting in an agency or fiduciary capacity including nominees and trustees;

(b) information regarding the ownership of companies, partnerships, trusts, foundations, “Anstalten” and other persons, including, within the constraints of Article 2, ownership information on all such persons in an ownership chain; in the case of trusts, information on settlors, trustees and beneficiaries; and in the case of foundations, information on founders, members of the foundation council and beneficiaries. This Agreement does not create an obligation on the Contracting Parties to obtain or provide ownership information with respect to publicly traded companies or public collective investment funds or schemes unless such information can be obtained without giving rise to disproportionate difficulties.

5. The competent authority of the applicant Party shall provide the following information to the competent authority of the requested Party when making a request for information under this Agreement to demonstrate the foreseeable relevance of the information to the request:

(a) the identity of the person under examination or investigation;

(b) a statement of the information sought including its nature and the form in which the applicant Party wishes to receive the information from the requested Party;

(c) the tax purpose for which the information is sought;

(d) grounds for believing that the information requested is held in the territory of the requested Party or is in the possession or control of a person within the jurisdiction of the requested Party;

(e) to the extent known, the name and address of any person believed to be in possession of the requested information;

(f) a statement that the request is in conformity with the laws and administrative practices of the applicant Party, that if the requested information was within the jurisdiction of the applicant Party then the competent authority of the applicant Party would be able to obtain the information under the laws of the applicant Party or in the normal course of administrative practice and that it is in conformity with this Agreement; and

(g) a statement that the applicant Party has pursued all means available in its own territory to obtain the information, except those that would give rise to disproportionate difficulties.

6. The competent authority of the requested Party shall acknowledge receipt of the request to the competent authority of the applicant Party and shall use its best endeavours to forward the requested information to the applicant Party within a reasonable time.

ARTICLE 6

Tax Examinations Abroad

1. A Contracting Party may allow representatives of the competent authority of the other Contracting Party to enter the territory of the first-mentioned Party to interview individuals and examine records with the written consent of the persons concerned. The competent authority of the second-mentioned Party shall notify the competent authority of the first-mentioned Party of the time and place of the meeting with the individuals concerned.

2. At the request of the competent authority of one Contracting Party, the competent authority of the other Contracting Party may allow representatives of the competent authority of the first-mentioned Party to be present at the appropriate part of a tax examination in the territory of the second-mentioned Party.

3. If the request referred to in paragraph 2 is acceded to, the competent authority of the Contracting Party conducting the examination shall, as soon as possible, notify the competent authority of the other Party about the time and place of the examination, the authority or official designated to carry out the examination and the procedures and conditions required by the first-mentioned Party for the conduct of the examination. All decisions with respect to the conduct of the tax examination shall be made by the Party conducting the examination.

ARTICLE 7

Possibility of Declining a Request

1. The requested Party shall not be required to obtain or provide information that the applicant Party would not be able to obtain under its own laws for purposes of the administration or enforcement of its own tax laws. The competent authority of the requested Party may decline to assist where the request is not made in conformity with this Agreement.

2. The provisions of this Agreement shall not impose on a Contracting Party the obligation to supply information which would disclose any trade, business, industrial, commercial or professional secret or trade process. Notwithstanding the foregoing, information of the type referred to in Article 5, paragraph 4, shall not be treated as such a secret or trade process merely because it meets the criteria in that paragraph.

3. The provisions of this Agreement shall not impose on a Contracting Party the obligation to obtain or provide information, which would reveal confidential communications between a client and an attorney, solicitor or other admitted legal representative where such communications are produced for the purposes of:

(a) seeking or providing legal advice; or

(b) use in existing or contemplated legal proceedings.

4. The requested Party may decline a request for information if the disclosure of the information would be contrary to public policy (ordre public).

5. A request for information shall not be refused on the ground that the tax claim giving rise to the request is disputed.

6. The requested Party may decline a request for information if the information is requested by the applicant Party to administer or enforce a provision of the tax laws of the applicant Party, or any requirement connected therewith, which discriminates against a national of the requested Party as compared with a national of the applicant Party in the same circumstances.

ARTICLE 8

Confidentiality

Any information received by a Contracting Party under this Agreement shall be treated as confidential and may be disclosed only to persons or authorities (including courts and administrative bodies) in the jurisdiction of the Contracting Party concerned with the assessment or collection of, the enforcement or prosecution in respect of, or the determination of appeals in relation to, taxes in that jurisdiction. Such persons or authorities shall use such information only for such purposes. They may disclose the information in public court proceedings or in judicial decisions. The information may not otherwise be disclosed to any other person or entity or authority or any other jurisdiction without the express written consent of the competent authority of the requested Party.

ARTICLE 9

Costs

Incidence of costs incurred in providing assistance shall be agreed by the competent authorities of the Contracting Parties.

ARTICLE 10

Other International Agreements or Arrangements

The possibilities of assistance provided by this Agreement do not limit, nor are they limited by, those contained in existing international agreements or other arrangements between the Contracting Parties which relate to co-operation in tax matters.

ARTICLE 11

Mutual Agreement Procedure

1. Where difficulties or doubts arise between the Contracting Parties regarding the implementation or interpretation of this Agreement, the competent authorities shall endeavour to resolve the matter by mutual agreement.

2. In addition to the agreements referred to in paragraph 1, the competent authorities of the Contracting Parties may mutually agree on the procedures to be used under Articles 5 and 6.

3. The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties may communicate with each other directly for purposes of reaching agreement under this Article.

4. The Contracting Parties may also agree on other forms of dispute resolution.

ARTICLE 12

Entry into Force

This Agreement shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the date of the later of the two notifications by which either Contracting Party notifies the other Contracting Party that its internal legal requirements for the entry into force of this Agreement have been fulfilled. Upon entry into force, it shall have effect:

(a) for tax matters involving intentional conduct which is liable to prosecution under the criminal laws of the applicant Party (irrespective of whether contained in the tax laws, the criminal code or other statutes), on that date; and

(b) for all other matters covered in Article 1, on that date, but only in respect of taxable periods beginning on or after that date, or where there is no taxable period, all charges to tax arising on or after that date.

ARTICLE 13

Termination

1. A Contracting Party may terminate this Agreement by serving a notice of termination through diplomatic channels to the other Contracting Party.

2. This Agreement shall terminate on the first day of the month following the expiration of a period of six months after the date of the notice of termination.

3. Where a Contracting Party terminates this Agreement, both Contracting Parties shall remain bound by the provisions of Article 8 with respect to any information obtained under this Agreement.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned being duly authorised thereto, have signed this Agreement.

DONE in duplicate at Bandar Seri Begawan, this 9th day of May 2013, in the English, French and Malay languages, each version being equally authentic.

Marcel Gaumond

FOR THE GOVERNMENT
OF CANADA

Hajah Ning-Lela binti Dato Paduka Haji Mohammad

FOR THE GOVERNMENT
OF HIS MAJESTY THE
SULTAN AND YANG DI-PERTUAN
OF BRUNEI DARUSSALAM

Accord entre le gouvernement du canada et le gouvernement de sa majesté le sultan et yang di-pertuan de Brunéi Darussalam sur l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DE SA MAJESTÉ LE SULTAN ET YANG DI-PERTUAN DE BRUNÉI DARUSSALAM, souhaitant faciliter l’échange de renseignements en matière fiscale, sont convenus des dispositions suivantes :

ARTICLE PREMIER

Objet et champ d’application du présent accord

1. Les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes s’accordent une assistance par l’échange de renseignements vraisemblablement pertinents pour l’administration et l’application de la législation interne des parties contractantes relative aux impôts visés par le présent accord. Ces renseignements sont ceux qui sont vraisemblablement pertinents pour la détermination, l’établissement et la perception de ces impôts, pour le recouvrement et l’exécution des créances fiscales ou pour les enquêtes ou poursuites en matière fiscale. Les renseignements sont échangés conformément aux dispositions du présent accord et traités comme confidentiels selon les modalités prévues à l’article 8.

2. La partie requise fait en sorte que les droits et protections accordés aux personnes en vertu de la législation ou des pratiques administratives de la partie requise ne soient pas appliqués d’une manière qui entrave ou retarde indûment l’échange effectif de renseignements.

ARTICLE 2

Compétence

La partie requise n’a pas obligation de fournir des renseignements qui ne sont ni détenus par ses autorités ni en la possession ou sous le contrôle de personnes relevant de sa compétence territoriale.

ARTICLE 3

Impôts visés

1. Les impôts visés par le présent accord sont :

a) au Canada, tous les impôts établis ou administrés par le gouvernement du Canada;

b) à Brunéi Darussalam, tous les impôts établis ou administrés par le gouvernement de Brunéi Darussalam.

2. Le présent accord s’applique aussi aux impôts identiques qui seraient établis après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord et qui s’ajouteraient aux impôts existants à cette date ou les remplaceraient. Il s’applique également aux impôts analogues qui seraient établis après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord et qui s’ajouteraient aux impôts existants à cette date ou les remplaceraient si les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes en conviennent ainsi. De plus, les impôts visés peuvent être élargis ou modifiés d’un commun accord entre les parties contractantes, sous la forme d’un échange de lettres. Les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes se notifient toute modification importante que la partie contractante dont elles relèvent apporte aux mesures fiscales et aux mesures de collecte de renseignements connexes visées par le présent accord.

ARTICLE 4

Définitions

1. Aux fins du présent accord, sauf définition contraire :

a) le terme « Brunéi Darussalam » désigne le territoire de Brunéi Darussalam, y compris sa mer territoriale et l’espace aérien au-dessus de ce territoire sur lesquels il exerce sa souveraineté ainsi que la zone maritime au-delà de sa mer territoriale, y compris le fond et le sous-sol de la mer, lesquels ont été ou pourraient être désignés en vertu de la législation de Brunéi Darussalam comme une zone sur laquelle il exerce des droits souverains et sa compétence conformément au droit international;

b) le terme « Canada », employé dans un sens géographique, désigne :

i)   le territoire terrestre, l’espace aérien, les eaux intérieures et la mer territoriale du Canada,

ii) la zone économique exclusive du Canada, déterminée selon son droit interne, en conformité avec la partie V de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer du 10 décembre 1982,

iii)   le plateau continental du Canada, déterminé selon son droit interne, en conformité avec la partie VI de la Convention des Nations Unies sur le droit de la mer du 10 décembre 1982;

c) le terme « partie contractante » désigne le Canada ou Brunéi Darussalam, selon le contexte;

d) l’expression « autorité compétente » désigne :

i)   dans le cas du Canada, le ministre du Revenu national ou son représentant autorisé,

ii) dans le cas de Brunéi Darussalam, le ministre des Finances ou son représentant autorisé;

e) le terme « personne » inclut une personne physique, une société, une fiducie, une société de personnes et tout autre groupement de personnes;

f) le terme « société » désigne toute personne morale ou toute entité considérée fiscalement comme une personne morale;

g) l’expression « société cotée » désigne toute société dont la catégorie principale d’actions est cotée sur une bourse reconnue, les actions cotées de la société devant pouvoir être achetées et vendues facilement par le public. Les actions peuvent être achetées ou vendues « par le public » si l’achat ou la vente des actions n’est pas implicitement ou explicitement restreint à un groupe limité d’investisseurs;

h) l’expression « catégorie principale d’actions » désigne la ou les catégories d’actions représentant la majorité des droits de vote et de la valeur de la société;

i)   l’expression « bourse reconnue » désigne toute bourse déterminée d’un commun accord par les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes;

j)   l’expression « fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif » désigne tout instrument de placement groupé, quelle que soit sa forme juridique. L’expression « fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif public » désigne tout fonds ou dispositif de placement collectif dont les parts, actions ou autres participations peuvent être facilement achetées et vendues, ou facilement achetées et rachetées, par le public. Les parts, actions ou autres participations au fonds ou dispositif peuvent être facilement achetées, vendues ou rachetées « par le public » si l’achat, la vente ou le rachat n’est pas implicitement ou explicitement restreint à un groupe limité d’investisseurs;

k) le terme « impôt » désigne tout impôt auquel s’applique le présent accord;

l)   l’expression « partie requérante » désigne la partie contractante qui demande les renseignements;

m)   l’expression « partie requise » désigne la partie contractante à laquelle les renseignements sont demandés;

n) l’expression « mesures de collecte de renseignements » désigne la législation ainsi que les procédures administratives ou judiciaires qui permettent à une partie contractante d’obtenir et de fournir les renseignements demandés;

o) le terme « renseignement » désigne tout fait, énoncé ou document, quelle que soit sa forme.

2. Pour l’application du présent accord à un moment donné par une partie contractante, tout terme ou toute expression qui n’y est pas défini a, sauf si le contexte exige une interprétation différente, le sens que lui attribue à ce moment le droit de cette partie, le sens attribué à ce terme ou à cette expression par le droit fiscal applicable de cette partie prévalant sur le sens que lui attribuent les autres branches du droit de cette partie.

ARTICLE 5

Échange de renseignements sur demande

1. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise fournit les renseignements sur demande aux fins visées à l’article 1. Ces renseignements doivent être échangés, que l’acte faisant l’objet de l’enquête aurait constitué ou non une infraction pénale selon la législation de la partie requise s’il s’était produit sur le territoire de cette partie.

2. Si les renseignements en la possession de l’autorité compétente de la partie requise ne sont pas suffisants pour lui permettre de donner suite à la demande de renseignements, cette partie prend toutes les mesures de collecte de renseignements adéquates qui sont nécessaires pour fournir à la partie requérante les renseignements demandés, même si la partie requise n’a pas besoin de ces renseignements à ses propres fins fiscales.

3. Sur demande spécifique de l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante, l’autorité compétente de la partie requise fournit les renseignements visés au présent article, dans la mesure où la législation interne de la partie dont elle relève le lui permet, sous la forme de dépositions de témoins et de copies certifiées conformes aux documents originaux.

4. Chaque partie contractante fait en sorte que son autorité compétente ait le droit, aux fins visées à l’article 1 du présent accord, d’obtenir et de fournir, sur demande :

a) les renseignements détenus par les banques, les autres institutions financières et toute personne agissant en qualité de mandataire ou de fiduciaire;

b) les renseignements concernant la propriété des sociétés, sociétés de personnes, fiducies, fondations, « Anstalten » et autres personnes, y compris, dans les limites de l’article 2, les renseignements en matière de propriété concernant toutes ces personnes lorsqu’elles font partie d’une chaîne de propriété; dans le cas d’une fiducie, les renseignements sur les constituants, les fiduciaires et les bénéficiaires et, dans le cas d’une fondation, les renseignements sur les fondateurs, les membres du conseil de la fondation et les bénéficiaires. Le présent accord n’oblige pas les parties contractantes à obtenir ou à fournir des renseignements en matière de propriété concernant des sociétés cotées ou des fonds ou dispositifs de placement collectif publics, sauf s’ils peuvent être obtenus sans susciter des difficultés disproportionnées.

5. L’autorité compétente de la partie requérante fournit les informations suivantes à l’autorité compétente de la partie requise lorsqu’elle soumet une demande de renseignements en vertu du présent accord, afin de démontrer la pertinence vraisemblable des renseignements demandés :

a) l’identité de la personne faisant l’objet d’un contrôle ou d’une enquête;

b) les indications concernant les renseignements demandés, notamment leur nature et la forme sous laquelle la partie requérante souhaite recevoir les renseignements de la partie requise;

c) le but fiscal dans lequel les renseignements sont demandés;

d) les raisons qui donnent à penser que les renseignements demandés sont détenus sur le territoire de la partie requise ou sont en la possession ou sous le contrôle d’une personne relevant de la compétence de la partie requise;

e) dans la mesure où ils sont connus, les nom et adresse de toute personne dont il y a lieu de penser qu’elle est en possession des renseignements demandés;

f) une déclaration précisant que la demande est conforme aux dispositions législatives et réglementaires ainsi qu’aux pratiques administratives de la partie requérante, que, si les renseignements demandés relevaient de la compétence de la partie requérante, l’autorité compétente de cette partie pourrait obtenir les renseignements en vertu de son droit ou dans le cadre normal de ses pratiques administratives et que la demande est conforme au présent accord;

g) une déclaration précisant que la partie requérante a utilisé pour obtenir les renseignements tous les moyens disponibles sur son propre territoire, hormis ceux qui susciteraient des difficultés disproportionnées.

6. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise accuse réception de la demande à l’autorité compétente de la partie requérante et fait de son mieux pour transmettre les renseignements demandés à la partie requérante dans un délai raisonnable.

ARTICLE 6

Contrôles fiscaux à l’étranger

1. Une partie contractante peut autoriser des représentants de l’autorité compétente de l’autre partie contractante à entrer sur son territoire pour interroger des personnes physiques et examiner des documents, avec le consentement écrit des personnes concernées. L’autorité compétente de la deuxième partie fait connaître à l’autorité compétente de la première partie la date et le lieu de l’entretien avec les personnes physiques concernées.

2. À la demande de l’autorité compétente d’une partie contractante, l’autorité compétente de l’autre partie contractante peut autoriser des représentants de l’autorité compétente de la première partie à assister à la phase appropriée d’un contrôle fiscal sur le territoire de la deuxième partie.

3. Si la demande visée au paragraphe 2 est acceptée, l’autorité compétente de la partie contractante qui conduit le contrôle fait connaître aussitôt que possible à l’autorité compétente de l’autre partie la date et le lieu du contrôle, l’autorité ou le fonctionnaire désigné pour conduire le contrôle ainsi que les procédures et conditions exigées par la première partie pour la conduite du contrôle. Toute décision relative à la conduite du contrôle fiscal est prise par la partie qui conduit le contrôle.

ARTICLE 7

Possibilité de rejeter une demande

1. La partie requise n’est pas tenue d’obtenir ou de fournir des renseignements que la partie requérante ne pourrait pas obtenir en vertu de sa propre législation pour l’administration ou l’application de sa propre législation fiscale. L’autorité compétente de la partie requise peut refuser l’assistance lorsque la demande n’est pas soumise en conformité avec le présent accord.

2. Le présent accord n’oblige pas une partie contractante à fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient un secret commercial, industriel ou professionnel ou un procédé commercial. Nonobstant ce qui précède, les renseignements du type visé au paragraphe 4 de l’article 5 ne sont pas traités comme un tel secret ou procédé commercial du simple fait qu’ils remplissent les critères prévus à ce paragraphe.

3. Le présent accord n’oblige pas une partie contractante à obtenir ou à fournir des renseignements qui révéleraient des communications confidentielles entre un client et un avocat ou un autre représentant juridique agréé, lorsque ces communications :

a) ont pour but de demander ou de fournir un avis juridique; ou

b) sont destinées à être utilisées dans une action en justice en cours ou envisagée.

4. La partie requise peut rejeter une demande de renseignements si la communication des renseignements serait contraire à son ordre public.

5. Une demande de renseignements ne peut être rejetée au motif que la créance fiscale faisant l’objet de la demande est contestée.

6. La partie requise peut rejeter une demande de renseignements si les renseignements sont demandés par la partie requérante pour administrer ou appliquer une disposition de la législation fiscale de la partie requérante – ou toute obligation s’y rattachant – qui est discriminatoire à l’endroit d’un ressortissant de la partie requise par rapport à un ressortissant de la partie requérante se trouvant dans les mêmes circonstances.

ARTICLE 8

Confidentialité

Tout renseignement reçu par une partie contractante en vertu du présent accord est tenu confidentiel et ne peut être divulgué qu’aux personnes ou autorités (y compris les tribunaux et les organes administratifs) relevant de la compétence de la partie contractante qui sont concernées par l’établissement, la perception, le recouvrement ou l’exécution des impôts applicables sur le territoire de cette partie, ou par les poursuites ou les décisions en matière de recours se rapportant à ces impôts. Ces personnes ou autorités ne peuvent utiliser ces renseignements qu’à ces fins. Elles peuvent en faire état lors d’audiences publiques de tribunaux ou dans des décisions judiciaires. Les renseignements ne peuvent être divulgués à toute autre personne, entité ou autorité ou à toute autre autorité étrangère sans le consentement écrit exprès de l’autorité compétente de la partie requise.

ARTICLE 9

Frais

La répartition des frais engagés pour l’assistance est déterminée par consentement mutuel des autorités compétentes des parties contractantes.

ARTICLE 10

Autres accords et arrangements internationaux

Les possibilités d’assistance prévues par le présent accord ne limitent pas et ne sont pas limitées par celles découlant de tous accords ou autres arrangements internationaux en vigueur entre les parties contractantes qui se rapportent à la coopération en matière fiscale.

ARTICLE 11

Procédure amiable

1. En cas de difficultés ou de doutes entre les parties contractantes au sujet de l’application ou de l’interprétation du présent accord, les autorités compétentes s’efforcent de régler la question par voie d’accord amiable.

2. Outre les accords visés au paragraphe 1, les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes peuvent déterminer d’un commun accord les procédures à suivre pour l’application des articles 5 et 6.

3. Les autorités compétentes des parties contractantes peuvent communiquer entre elles directement lorsqu’elles recherchent un accord en application du présent article.

4. Les parties contractantes peuvent également convenir d’autres formes de règlement des différends.

ARTICLE 12

Entrée en vigueur

Le présent accord entre en vigueur le trentième jour suivant la date de la dernière des deux notifications au moyen desquelles chacune des parties contractantes notifie à l’autre partie contractante l’accomplissement des formalités légales internes régissant l’entrée en vigueur du présent accord. À compter de son entrée en vigueur, le présent accord prend effet :

a) en ce qui concerne les questions fiscales mettant en cause une conduite intentionnelle pouvant faire l’objet de poursuites en vertu des lois pénales de la partie requérante (que les dispositions en cause soient prévues par la législation fiscale, le code criminel ou d’autres lois), à cette date;

b) en ce qui concerne toutes les autres questions visées à l’article 1, à cette date, mais seulement pour les exercices fiscaux commençant à cette date ou par la suite ou, à défaut d’exercice fiscal, pour toutes les obligations fiscales prenant naissance à cette date ou par la suite.

ARTICLE 13

Dénonciation

1. Une partie contractante peut dénoncer le présent accord au moyen d’une notification de dénonciation transmise par la voie diplomatique à l’autre partie contractante.

2. Le présent accord prend fin le premier jour du mois suivant l’expiration d’un délai de six mois à compter de la date de la notification de dénonciation.

3. Lorsqu’une partie contractante dénonce le présent accord, les deux parties contractantes restent liées par l’article 8 pour tous les renseignements obtenus en application du présent accord.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les soussignés, dûment autorisés à cet effet, ont signé le présent accord.

FAIT en double exemplaire à Bandar Seri Begawan, ce 9e jour de mai 2013, en langues française, anglaise et malaise, chaque version faisant également foi.

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT
DU CANADA 



Marcel Gaumond

POUR LE GOUVERNEMENT
DE SA MAJESTÉ LE SULTAN
ET YANG DI-PERTUAN
DE BRUNÉI DARUSSALAM

Hajah Ning-Lela binti Dato Paduka Haji Mohammad