Government of Canada Retail Debt Program Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Finance (“Finance”), and the Bank of Canada (the “Bank”)

Effective 15 December 2017

1. Introduction

1.1 Purpose of the Memorandum of Understanding

This Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) establishes how Finance and the Bank will work together to carry out the Government of Canada’s Retail Debt Program (RDP).

It sets out the mandate of the RDP, the program governance, the roles and responsibilities of Finance and the Bank, the planning and budgeting process, and the reporting requirements.

This MOU is aligned with the 3-Year Strategic Plan and the Funds Management Governance Framework jointly developed by Finance and the Bank.

1.2 Definition of the Retail Debt Program

The RDP, for the purposes of this MOU, includes all product management, communications, systems and operations, as well as all financial aspects of Canada Savings Bonds (CSBs) and Canada Premium Bonds (CPBs) whether held within a non-registered or registered plan (e.g. RRSP, RRIF).

2. Mandate of the Retail Debt Program

  • Implement the program wind-down and transition while providing quality service delivery for outstanding retail debt.
  • Continue to look for opportunities to reduce overall RDP delivery costs.

Principles

In pursuit of the objectives of the mandate, retail debt activities are managed according to the following principles:

  • Quality of service delivery: The program should be delivered and represented in a way that adheres to the quality and standards of a Government of Canada program.
  • Prudent management: Program investments and costs should seek to balance quality service delivery with effective control of operational expenses.
  • Timeliness: Strategic changes to the program should be implemented in a timely manner while managing risks.

3. Program Governance

3.1 Division of responsibilities

The Minister of Finance is responsible for the RDP. Finance is responsible for providing advice to the Minister on the strategic objectives of the RDP and the overall strategy for achieving those objectives, as well as on decisions relating to the structure of the program and product pricing.

The Bank, as the Government’s fiscal agent, is responsible for implementation and administration of the RDP. The Bank also provides related advice on planning, policy, pricing and marketing strategy. The Bank is accountable for decisions relating to the execution of the RDP in order to achieve the Mandate approved by the Minister. While the Bank is independently accountable to its Board of Directors, it acknowledges its responsibilities under this MOU to administer the RDP.

3.2. Governance framework

Governance of the RDP is integrated into the Funds Management Governance Framework, which addresses the governance of all funds management responsibilities carried out by Finance and the Bank (cash balances, foreign reserves, wholesale debt, and retail debt) as well as risk management. Three inter-agency policy advisory committees support the RDP: the Funds Management Committee, the Retail Debt Committee, and the Retail Debt Working Group.

3.2.1. Funds Management Committee

The Funds Management Committee (FMC) is a decision-making body responsible for all activities covering the Government’s financial asset and liability functions. The FMC generally meets quarterly, and on an ad hoc basis as required. The FMC is supported by the Debt & Treasury Management Committee, the Foreign Reserves Committee and the Retail Debt Committee.

The FMC’s mandate is composed of two key responsibilities: i) advising the Minister of Finance, through the Deputy Minister or a delegate, on policy and strategy for funds and risk management; and ii) providing overall direction to management and officials with respect to asset and liability management policies and strategies, consistent with the direction provided by the Minister. As required, the FMC may also consider operational issues arising from the work of the other committees where these have important strategic implications.

The FMC also monitors key risks associated with funds management and ensures that sound practices are in place for risk identification, measurement, monitoring and mitigation. The FMC is responsible for considering the risks associated with its decisions, and addressing these as deemed appropriate. In addition, the FMC reviews performance outcome reports and ensures the regular conduct of program reviews and evaluations. The FMC serves as an advisory body to Finance Audit and Evaluation Committee with respect to treasury evaluations.

The FMC is composed of the following members:

Finance:

Associate Deputy Minister and the Assistant Deputy Minister from Financial Sector Policy Branch.

Bank:

Managing Director, Funds Management and Banking Department.
 

The Associate Deputy Minister (Finance) chairs the FMC.

3.2.2. Retail Debt Committee

The Retail Debt Committee (RDC) is a decision-making body responsible for overseeing the RDP. The RDC develops annual work plans for the year, coordinates program initiatives, and oversees campaign issues and pricing. It also provides recommendations to the FMC on overall retail debt strategy and the parameters for the annual pricing of retail debt. The RDC is accountable to the FMC with respect to the management of the RDP.

The RDC meets regularly (scheduled monthly) or as needed, and is supported by the Retail Debt Working Group, which includes officers from Finance and the Bank.

The Director of the Financial Risk Office (FRO) at the Bank provides advice to the RDC on risk issues associated with the RDP, identifies risks related to new policy and operational initiatives under consideration, and outlines options for addressing them. Advice provided by the Director of FRO is an integral part of the RDC’s policy development and approval process. The RDC is responsible for considering and addressing as deemed appropriate, the risk issues identified by FRO.

The Bank provides secretariat functions for RDC meetings.

The RDC is composed of the following members:

Finance:

Director General of the Funds Management Division and Director of the Debt Management Policy Section.

Bank:

Deputy Managing Director of the Funds Management and Banking Department and Director, Retail and Wholesale Debt Administration.
 

The Director General (Finance) and Deputy Managing Director (Bank) co-chair the RDC.

The Director of FRO acts as a special advisor to the RDC.

3.2.3. Retail Debt Working Group

The Retail Debt Working Group (RDWG) is comprised of day-to-day management and staff from both Finance and the Bank. It is co-chaired by the Director of the Debt Management Policy Section – Funds Management Division from Finance and the Director of Retail Wholesale Debt Administration – Funds Management and Banking Department from the Bank.

The RDWG develops the three-year strategic plan for review and approval by the RDC. It undertakes analysis and makes recommendations to the RDC specific to program initiatives such as product adjustments. The RDWG meets monthly or more frequently if needed.

4. Roles and Responsibilities

The governance framework (Section 3) facilitates the coordination of activities between Finance and the Bank, and provides a channel for both parties to provide input and advice on the RDP. Within that governance framework, there is a clear delineation of the roles and responsibilities of Finance and the Bank, consistent with the division of responsibilitiesstated in 3.1. These roles and responsibilities may be revised with the written consent of both parties.

In carrying out their respective responsibilities, Finance and the Bank agree on the following:    

4.1. Third Party Contracts

From time to time, third party contracts may be used to facilitate the administration of the program. All procurement activities related to the Bank’s administration of the program will be in accordance with the Bank’s procurement policy and procedures. Where there are reputational or policy concerns in relation to the engagement of external parties, such procurement activities will be conducted in consultation with Finance, under the authorities delegated by the Minister of Finance.

4.2. Communications

The Bank with the support from Finance develops the communications strategy in line with the strategic direction for the RDP and leverages communications for the purposes of the wind-down.This communications strategy is subject to consultation with the Department of Finance.

The Bank will be responsible for the implementation of the communication strategy including managing the procurement and administration of any contracts in relation to communication activities.

The Bank will be responsible for fielding public and media inquiries and requests about the RDP that fall within the scope of the Bank’s responsibilities. For media requests specifically, details of the request are to be communicated by email to the key RDP contacts at both the Bank and Finance on a timely basis. The Bank and Finance will coordinate an appropriate response and action plan. A summary of the response or de-brief of the interview will be circulated to the same participants after the request has been answered.

4.3. Sales Agent and Payroll Relationships

The Bank will maintain the supporting systems and other resources required to administrate the Payroll Savings Program. For retail debt currently outstanding, the Bank will manage contractual relationships and commissions payments. Commissions are considered part of the debt servicing costs, and therefore are subject to the final approval from Finance.

4.4. Interest Rates

Finance will set the interest rates for retail debt products, based on a number of inputs. The Bank will provide an estimate of the following: applicable Government of Canada zero coupon wholesale bond and treasury bill rates, RDP gross administrative costs (Bank and Finance) including commission costs, and retail debt option values. The Bank will also be responsible for monitoring the rates on other retail products.

Finance is responsible for pricing retail debt products in accordance with the RDP’s objectives.

4.5. Third Party Complaints/Enquiries

The Bank will respond directly to all third party complaints/enquiries that are operational in nature. Operational complaints/enquiries received directly at Finance should be acknowledged by Finance to the third party indicating that the complaint/enquiry has been forwarded to the Bank for action.

The third party complaints/enquiries that are policy related shall be answered directly by Finance. Policy related complaints/enquiries received directly at the Bank will be acknowledged by the Bank to the third party indicating that the complaint/enquiry has been forwarded to Finance for action.

5. Planning and Budgeting

5.1. Planning process

Each year, the RDWG will develop a three-year strategic plan for the program consistent with the strategic objectives of the RDP. The RDWG will submit the three-year strategic plan to the RDC for review and approval. The three-year strategic plan may either be submitted to the FMC for approval or provided as an information item if deemed appropriate by the RDC, depending on the initiatives outlined in the plan.

The three-year strategic plan is a rolling plan and, as such, will be approved annually at the RDC level. Relevant policy considerations will be forwarded to the FMC at the recommendation of the RDC. The RDWG will track progress of the three-year strategic plan and report any significant variances to the RDC in a timely manner.

5.2. Budgeting process

In parallel with the planning process, the Bank will determine the financial requirements1 associated with the RDP three-year planning horizon.

The first-year requirements will be incorporated into the Bank’s proposed annual budget submitted to the Bank’s Board of Directors for approval. Second and third-year requirements will be incorporated into the Bank’s medium-term planning process. Normally the Bank’s Board of Directors would approve the annual budget by the end of December, prior to the start of the budget year.

The Bank is responsible for all costs associated with the RDP except interest payments and commissions, which are considered part of the debt servicing costs and are paid directly by the Government.

5.3. Modifications to approved plans and budgets

Any recommended changes to the approved strategic plan will be brought to the RDC for review and approval and to the FMC if deemed appropriate by the RDC. Should a significant change be deemed necessary, Finance and the Bank will first consider reprioritizing the approved work plan and budget allocation so that the change may be accommodated without necessitating additional resources.

6. Reporting and Records Keeping

The record keeping associated with the issuance of continuous reinvestment series, redemptions and the outstanding stock will be maintained by the Bank on the government’s behalf.

The following documents are distributed within Finance and the Bank and filed in registries on a periodic basis for the purposes of informing senior officials and accountability:

  • Quarterly financial reports on variances to the RDP budget, as per Annex I (Bank)
  • Monthly reports on redemptions and outstanding stock for the RDP (Bank)
  • A yearly report summarizing redemptions, and any major changes or trends for the RDP

7. Audits

RDP expenses incurred by the Bank and reported within the Bank's expenditures will be audited by the Bank's external auditors as part of the established annual financial statement audit processes. The internal controls over financial reporting of RDP expenses shall be audited by the Bank's internal auditors as part of the regular internal control over financial reporting audits.

Redemptions, and outstanding stock reported through "The Statement of Government Debt Outstanding" shall be audited by the Bank's external auditors as part of the established annual financial information audit. The internal controls over financial reporting of this information shall be audited by the Bank's internal auditors as part of the regular internal control over financial reporting audits.

8. MOU Reviews

The RDC will undertake as needed a qualitative assessment of the utility of this MOU and the effectiveness of the working relationship between the parties. As appropriate, revisions to the MOU will be made.

9. Confidentiality

Both Finance and the Bank will maintain a level of confidentiality over information relayed from one party to the other in all matters related to the RDP that is consistent with applicable legislation and commercial standards of business protection. Thus, the Bank will not publish any documents related to the RDP without consulting with Finance and vice versa.

10. Term of Memorandum of Understanding

This MOU is effective 15 December 2017 and replaces any earlier MOUs between Finance and the Bank with respect to the RDP. This MOU shall remain in effect unless replaced with an amended MOU or terminated. This MOU may be terminated with one-year notice.

11. Approval of the Memorandum of Understanding

This MOU is entered into by the Bank, and Financial Sector Policy Branch of Finance, Government of Canada on this 15th day of December 2017.

 

By:

Grahame Johnson
Managing Director,

Funds Management and Banking
Bank of Canada

By:

Leah Anderson
Assistant Deputy Minister,
Financial Sector Policy Branch
Department of Finance


1 Financial requirements for the Retail Debt Program are defined to include both the direct and indirect operating and capital expenditures required by the Bank to administer the Retail Debt Program. These expenditures include salaries and staff-related expenses, third party contracts, a portion of Bank management as well as a portion of infrastructure and support expenditures such as Financial Services, Legal Services, Human Resources, Information Technology, Facilities and Security, etc.

Programme de placement de titres sur le marché de détail du gouvernement du canada Protocole d'entente entre le Ministère des Finances et la Banque du Canada

En vigueur à compter du 15 décembre 2017

1. Introduction

1.1 Objet du protocole d’entente

Le présent protocole d’entente (PE) établit la façon dont le ministère des Finances (le « Ministère ») et la Banque du Canada (la « Banque ») collaborent afin d’exécuter le Programme de placement de titres sur le marché de détail (le « Programme ») du gouvernement du Canada.

Le PE décrit le mandat du Programme, sa structure de gouvernance, les rôles et responsabilités du Ministère et de la Banque, le processus de planification et de budgétisation ainsi que les exigences en matière d’établissement de rapports.

Le PE est conforme au Plan stratégique triennal et au Cadre de gouvernance de la gestion des fonds mis au point conjointement par le Ministère et la Banque.

1.2 Définition du Programme

Pour l’application du présent PE, le Programme englobe la gestion, les communications, les systèmes et les opérations relatifs à l’ensemble des titres, ainsi que tous les aspects financiers liés aux Obligations d’épargne du Canada (OEC) et aux Obligations à prime du Canada (OPC), qu’elles soient détenues dans un régime enregistré (par exemple REER, FERR) ou un régime non agréé.

2. Mandat du Programme

  • Mettre en œuvre l’élimination progressive et la transition du Programme tout en offrant une prestation de services de qualité en ce qui concerne les titres en circulation sur le marché de détail.
  • Continuer à rechercher des occasions de réduire les coûts d’exploitation généraux du Programme.

Principes

Pour assurer l’atteinte des objectifs du mandat, les activités relatives au placement de titres sur le marché de détail sont gérées conformément aux principes suivants :

  • Qualité de la fourniture de services : le programme devrait être exécuté et représenté d’une manière qui respecte la qualité et les normes d’un programme du gouvernement du Canada.
  • Gestion prudente : les investissements et les coûts du Programme devraient tendre à trouver un équilibre entre la fourniture de services de qualité et le contrôle efficace des dépenses opérationnelles.
  • Rapidité d’exécution : Les changements stratégiques au Programme devraient être mis en œuvre en temps opportun tout en gérant les risques.

3. Règles de programme

3.1 Partage des responsabilités

La responsabilité du Programme incombe au ministre des Finances. Le Ministère est chargé de conseiller le ministre quant aux objectifs stratégiques du Programme et à la stratégie globale permettant d’atteindre ces objectifs, ainsi qu’aux décisions touchant la structure du Programme et l’établissement des prix des titres.

La Banque, en qualité d’agent financier du gouvernement, assume la mise en œuvre et l’administration du Programme; de plus, elle fournit des conseils sur la planification, la politique, l’établissement des prix des titres et la stratégie de marketing. Elle est responsable des décisions concernant l’exécution du Programme en vue de réaliser le mandat approuvé par le ministre. Bien que la Banque rende des comptes de façon autonome, à son Conseil d’administration, elle reconnaît que le PE lui confère la responsabilité d’administrer le Programme.

3.2. Cadre de gouvernance

La gouvernance du Programme est décrite dans le document Gestion de la trésorerie – Cadre de gouvernance, qui porte sur la gouvernance de toutes les responsabilités en matière de gestion financière revenant au Ministère et à la Banque (soldes de trésorerie, réserves de change, titres destinés aux investisseurs institutionnels et titres destinés aux particuliers), de même que des responsabilités en matière de gestion du risque. Trois comités consultatifs interinstitutionnels en matière de politique appuient le Programme : le Comité de gestion des fonds, le Comité de placement de titres au détail et le Groupe de travail sur le placement des titres au détail.

3.2.1. Comité de gestion des fonds

Le Comité de gestion des fonds (CGF) est un organisme décisionnel responsable de toutes les activités couvrant les fonctions financières des éléments d’actif et de passif du gouvernement. Le CGF se réunit habituellement tous les trimestres, et convoque des réunions spéciales au besoin. Le Comité de gestion de la dette et de la trésorerie, le Comité des réserves de change et le Comité de placement de titres au détail appuient le CGF.

Le mandat du CGF compte deux volets de responsabilité principaux : i) conseiller le ministre des Finances, par l’entremise du sous-ministre ou de son délégué, sur la politique et la stratégie de gestion des fonds et des risques; et, ii) fournir une orientation globale à la direction et aux fonctionnaires en ce qui a trait aux politiques et aux stratégies de gestion des éléments d’actif et de passif, conformément à l’orientation fournie par le ministre. Au besoin, le CGF peut aussi considérer des questions opérationnelles émergeant des travaux d’autres comités lorsque ceux-ci ont d’importantes incidences stratégiques.

Le CGF surveille également les principaux risques associés à la gestion des fonds et veille à ce que des pratiques solides soient mises en place pour l’identification, la mesure, le contrôle et l’atténuation des risques. Le CGF est responsable de l’examen des risques associés à ses propres décisions et de les traiter comme il le juge opportun. De plus, le CGF examine les rapports sur les résultats de performance et assure la conduite régulière des examens et des évaluations des programmes. Le CGF sert d’organisme consultatif au Comité de vérification et d’évaluation du Ministère relativement aux évaluations du Trésor.

Le CGF se compose des membres suivants :

Ministère :

le sous-ministre délégué et le sous-ministre adjoint de la Direction de la politique du secteur financier.

Banque :

Directeur général, Département de la Gestion financière et des Opérations bancaires.
 

Le sous-ministre délégué (Ministère) préside le CGF.

3.2.2. Comité de placement de titres au détail

Le Comité de placement de titres au détail (CPTD) est un organisme décisionnel responsable de la surveillance du Programme. Il élabore les plans de travail pour l’année, coordonne les initiatives de programme et surveille les campagnes de souscription et de l’établissement des prix. Il formule aussi des recommandations au CGF sur la stratégie globale de placement de titres au détail et les paramètres de l’établissement des prix annuel de ces titres. Le CPTD doit rendre compte au CGF relativement à la gestion du Programme.

Le CPTD se réunit régulièrement (tous les mois) ou au besoin et est appuyé par le Groupe de travail sur le placement des titres au détail, qui comprend des fonctionnaires du Ministère et de la Banque.

Le directeur du Bureau de surveillance des risques financiers (BSRF) à la Banque donne des conseils au CPTD sur les questions de risque associées au Programme, cerne les risques liés aux nouvelles initiatives stratégiques et opérationnelles à l’étude, et décrit les options pour les aborder. Les conseils offerts par le directeur du BSRF font partie intégrante du processus d’élaboration des politiques et d’approbation du CPTD. Le CPTD est responsable de tenir compte et de traiter, comme il le juge approprié, des questions de risque relevées par le BSRF.

La Banque assure les fonctions de secrétariat pour les réunions du CPTD.

Le CPTD est composé des membres suivants :

Ministère :

le directeur général de la Division de la gestion des fonds et le directeur de la Section de la Gestion de la dette.

Banque :

le Directeur général délégué du Département de la Gestion financière et Opérations bancaires et la directrice, Administration des titres au détail et des titres aux investisseurs.
 

Le directeur (Ministère) et directeur général délégué (Banque) assurent la coprésidence des réunions du CPTD.

Le directeur du BSRF agit en tant que conseiller spécial auprès du CPTD.

3.2.3. Groupe de travail sur le placement des titres au détail

Le Groupe de travail sur le placement des titres au détail (GTPTD) se compose de cadres et d’employés courants du Ministère et de la Banque. Il est coprésidé par le directeur de la Section de la Gestion de la dette, Division de la gestion des fonds du ministère des Finances, et la directrice, Administration des titres au détail et des titres aux investisseurs – Département de la Gestion financière et des Opérations bancaires de la Banque.

Le GTPTD élabore le plan stratégique triennal qu’il soumet au CPTD. En outre, il procède à des analyses et formule des recommandations à l’égard des initiatives de programme propres au CPTD, telles que l’ajustement des titres. Le GTPTD se réunit chaque mois ou plus souvent au besoin.

4. Rôles et responsabilités

Le cadre de gouvernance (section 3) facilite la coordination des activités entre le Ministère et la Banque et ouvre une voie aux deux parties en vue de donner des commentaires et des conseils sur le Programme. Le cadre définit clairement les rôles et les responsabilités du Ministère et de la Banque, conformément au partage des responsabilités décrit à la section 3.1. Ces rôles et ces responsabilités peuvent être modifiés avec le consentement écrit des deux parties.

Pour s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités respectives, le Ministère et la Banque conviennent de ce qui est indiqué ci‑dessous.    

4.1. Contrats avec des tiers

Au besoin, des contrats avec des tiers peuvent être conclus pour faciliter l’administration du Programme. Toute activité d’approvisionnement liée à l’administration du Programme par la Banque se déroule conformément à la politique et aux procédures de cette dernière en matière d’approvisionnement. Lorsque se présentent des préoccupations relatives à la réputation ou à la politique en ce qui a trait aux contrats des parties extérieures, ces activités d’approvisionnement seront menées en consultation avec le Ministère, conformément aux pouvoirs délégués par ce dernier.

4.2. Communications

La Banque, avec le soutien du Ministère, élabore la stratégie de communication, conformément à l’orientation stratégique du Programme et tire parti des communications, aux fins d’une élimination progressive du Programme. Cette stratégie de communication fait l’objet de consultations auprès du Ministère.

Il incombe à la Banque de mettre en œuvre la stratégie de communication, y compris la gestion de l’approvisionnement lié aux activités de communication et l’octroi de tout contrat connexe.

La Banque est également responsable de répondre aux demandes de renseignements et à d’autres demandes du public et des médias concernant le Programme, dans la mesure où celles‑ci relèvent de ses responsabilités. En ce qui a trait plus précisément aux demandes des médias, les détails de ces demandes doivent être communiqués en temps opportun, par courriel, aux principales personnes‑ressources du Programme, auprès de la Banque et du Ministère. Ces derniers coordonneront alors à une réponse et un plan d’action appropriés. Après avoir donné suite à une demande, un résumé de la réponse ou un compte rendu de l’entrevue est transmis à ces mêmes intervenants.

4.3. Agents vendeurs et représentants de l’épargne salariale

La Banque assurera la continuité des systèmes de soutien et des autres ressources nécessaires à l’administration du Programme d’épargne-salaire. Concernant les titres actuellement en circulation sur le marché de détail, la Banque gérera les relations contractuelles et les paiements de commissions. Les commissions sont prises en compte en tant que frais de service de la dette; par conséquent, celles‑ci doivent recevoir l’approbation du Ministère.

4.4. Taux d’intérêt

Le Ministère établira les taux d’intérêt des titres sur le marché de détail, en fonction d’un certain nombre de facteurs. La Banque fournit une estimation des éléments suivants : les taux s’appliquant aux obligations coupon zéro – destinées aux investisseurs institutionnels, et aux bons du trésor du gouvernement du Canada, les frais administratifs bruts liés au Programme (Banque et Ministère), y compris les frais de commission, et la valeur des titres à option sur le marché de détail. Par ailleurs, la Banque assume la surveillance des taux d’autres titres destinés aux particuliers.

Le Ministère est chargé de l’établissement des prix des titres sur le marché de détail, conformément aux objectifs du Programme.

4.5. Plaintes et demandes de renseignements de la part de tiers

La Banque répondra directement à l’ensemble des plaintes et des demandes de renseignements d’ordre opérationnel, de la part des tiers. Lorsque le Ministère reçoit directement des plaintes ou des demandes de renseignement d’ordre opérationnel, il en accuse réception et indique au tiers que la plainte ou la demande de renseignements a été transmise à la Banque, afin que celle‑ci prenne les mesures voulues.

Le Ministère répond directement aux plaintes et aux demandes de renseignements liées aux politiques du Programme. Lorsque la Banque reçoit directement des plaintes ou demandes de ce genre, elle en accuse réception et indique au tiers que la plainte ou la demande de renseignements a été transmise au Ministère, afin qu’il prenne les mesures voulues.

5. Planification et budgétisation

5.1. Processus de planification

Chaque année le GTPTD élaborera un plan stratégique triennal afin que le Programme demeure conforme à ses objectifs stratégiques. Le GTPTD présentera le plan stratégique triennal au CPTD aux fins d’examen et d’approbation. Le plan stratégique triennal peut soit être soumis au CGF aux fins d’approbation soit être fourni comme point d’information, si le CPTD le juge approprié, d’après les initiatives présentées dans le plan.

Le plan stratégique triennal est un plan continu et à ce titre il fera l’objet d’une approbation chaque année au niveau du CGF. Les considérations stratégiques pertinentes seront transmises au CGF sur recommandation du CPTD. Le GTPTD fera le suivi des progrès réalisés dans le cadre du plan stratégique triennal et signalera tout écart important en temps opportun au CPTD.

5.2. Processus de budgétisation

Parallèlement au processus de planification, la Banque déterminera les besoins financiers1 liés à la période triennale de planification du Programme.

Les besoins relatifs à la première année seront intégrés au budget annuel proposé par la Banque et que celle‑ci a soumis à son Conseil d’administration aux fins d’approbation. Les besoins relatifs à la deuxième et à la troisième année seront intégrés au processus de planification à moyen terme de la Banque. Généralement, le Conseil d’administration de la Banque approuvera le budget annuel avant la fin de décembre et le début de l’exercice financier.

La Banque est responsable de tous les coûts associés au Programme à l’exception du paiement des intérêts et des commissions qui sont considérés comme faisant partie des frais de service de la dette et qui sont réglés directement par le gouvernement.

5.3. Modification des plans et des budgets approuvés

Tous les changements recommandés à l’égard du plan stratégique approuvé seront soumis au CPTD aux fins d’examen et au CGF, si le CPTD le juge approprié. Si un changement important est jugé nécessaire, le Ministère et la Banque envisageront d’abord de rétablir les priorités du plan de travail et de l’affectation budgétaire approuvés, de manière que le changement ne nécessite pas de ressources additionnelles.

6. Présentation de rapports et tenue de livres

La tenue de livres associée aux émissions en continu de nouveaux placements, aux rachats et à l’encours sera assurée par la Banque, pour le compte du gouvernement.

Les documents suivants sont distribués auprès du Ministère et de la Banque et sont déposés périodiquement aux archives à des fins d’information des cadres supérieurs et de reddition de comptes :

  • Rapports financiers trimestriels sur les écarts par rapport au budget du Programme, conformément à l’annexe I (Banque)
  • Rapports mensuels sur les rachats et sur l’encours dans le cadre du Programme (Banque)
  • Un rapport annuel résumant les rachats ainsi que tout changement ou tendance important dans le cadre du Programme.

7. Audits

Les dépenses engagées par la Banque au titre du Programme et déclarées parmi ses charges sont vérifiées par les vérificateurs externes de la Banque dans le cadre d’un processus d’audit des états financiers annuels reconnu. Les contrôles internes des rapports financiers sur les charges du Programme sont vérifiés par les vérificateurs internes de la Banque dans le cadre du contrôle interne régulier exercé en matière de vérification de l’établissement de rapports financiers.

Les rachats et l’encours constatés dans le « Rapport sur la gestion de la dette » sont vérifiés par les vérificateurs externes de la Banque dans le cadre de l’audit des états financiers annuels en place. Les contrôles internes des rapports financiers en ce qui a trait à ces renseignements sont vérifiés par les vérificateurs internes de la Banque dans le cadre du contrôle interne régulier exercé en matière de vérification de l’établissement de rapports financiers.

8. Examens du PE

Le CPDT effectuera au besoin une évaluation qualitative de l’utilité du présent PE et de l’efficacité de la relation de travail entre les parties. S’il y a lieu, le PE fera l’objet de révisions.

9. Confidentialité

Le Ministère et la Banque assureront la continuité du niveau de confidentialité des renseignements qu’ils s’échangent entre eux sur toute question touchant le Programme, conformément aux lois applicables et aux normes commerciales en matière de protection des entreprises. Par conséquent, la Banque ne publiera aucun document relatif au Programme sans consulter le Ministère et vice versa.

10. Durée du protocole d’entente

Le présent PE entre en vigueur le 15 décembre 2017 et remplace tout PE antérieur conclu entre le Ministère et la Banque au sujet du Programme. Le présent PE reste en vigueur tant qu’il n’est pas résilié ou remplacé par un PE modifié. Le présent PE peut être résilié avec un préavis d’un an.

11. Approbation du protocole d’entente

Le présent PE est conclu par la Banque du Canada et la Direction de la politique du secteur financier du ministère des Finances du gouvernement du Canada, en date du 15 décembre 2017.

 

Par :

Grahame Johnson
Directeur général,
Gestion financière et Opérations bancaires
Banque du Canada

Par :

Leah Anderson
Sous-ministre adjoint
Direction de la politique du secteur financier

Ministère des Finances


1 Les besoins financiers du Programme sont déterminés de manière à inclure les charges opérationnelles et les dépenses en immobilisations directes et indirectes que la Banque doit nécessairement engager afin d’administrer le Programme. Ces dépenses comprennent les salaires et les autres dépenses liées au personnel, les contrats conclus avec des tiers, une partie des frais de gestion de la Banque ainsi qu’une partie des dépenses relatives à l’infrastructure et au soutien, comme celles liées aux services financiers, aux services juridiques, aux ressources humaines, aux technologies de l’information ou à la sécurité et aux installations, entre autres.