Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 7

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Dominion Coal Blocks

On August 30, 2013 the Government of Canada announced that it is considering an open competitive sale of portions of the Dominion Coal Blocks (DCB), two parcels of federal Crown land located in the Kootenay region of British Columbia.

The potential sale stems from a general review of federal corporate assets launched in 2009 to assess whether continued public ownership remains relevant, to examine opportunities for transferring assets to the private sector with the objective of stimulating additional economic activity, and to ensure that tax dollars are spent wisely.

The divestiture legislation provides the following:

  • Authority for the Crown to dispose of all or any part of the DCB.
  • Authority for the Minister of Natural Resources to dispose of the DCB, with the approval of the Governor-in-Council.
  • Authority for the Minister of Natural Resources to grant easements over the DCB without the approval of the Governor-in-Council.
  • Authority for the Minister of Natural Resources to prepare the DCB for disposal.
  • Authority to pay costs related to the disposition out of the proceeds of sale.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 7

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Réserve fédérale de charbon

Le 30 août 2013, le gouvernement du Canada annonçait qu’il envisage un processus de vente concurrentiel pour se défaire de certaines parties de la Réserve fédérale de charbon (RFC), soit deux parcelles de terres de la Couronne fédérale situées dans la région de Kootenay, en Colombie­Britannique.

Cette vente potentielle fait suite à l’examen général des actifs du gouvernement lancé en 2009 pour évaluer s’il convenait de maintenir la propriété publique de ces biens, examiner les possibilités de transfert d’actifs au secteur privé afin de stimuler l’activité économique, et vérifier si les fonds publics étaient judicieusement utilisés.

Le texte de loi régissant la disposition prévoit les autorisations suivantes :

  • Le pouvoir de la Couronne de disposer de tout ou partie de la RFC.
  • Le pouvoir conféré au ministre des Ressources naturelles de disposer de la RFC, avec l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil.
  • Le pouvoir conféré au ministre des Ressources naturelles d’accorder des servitudes à l’égard de la RFC sans l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil.
  • Le pouvoir conféré au ministre des Ressources naturelles de préparer la RFC en vue de la disposition.
  • Le pouvoir de prélever le coût de la disposition sur le produit de la vente.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant