Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 4

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Passports

In July 2013 the accountability for the Passport Program was transferred from the Minister of Foreign Affairs to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Under this transfer, the Minister of Employment and Social Development will support the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration as Service Canada (SC) will serve as the delivery agent for passport services on behalf of Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC). The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) will continue to provide passport services abroad, working in partnership with CIC and SC.

As a result of this transfer, technical amendments to various Acts are required to firmly establish the Minister of CIC’s legal authority with respect to the delivery of the Passport Program.

The first is a proposed amendment to s.11 of the DFATD Act to replace the Minister of Foreign Affairs with the Minister of CIC, thereby establishing the legal authority to charge a consular fee for the issuance of a travel document.

The second is a proposed amendment to s. 57(5) of the Criminal Code to amend the definition of a passport to one issued by the Minister of CIC as opposed to the Minister of Foreign Affairs. This would ensure that the government’s ability to bring forward charges under the Criminal Code in relation to forged passports, false statements to obtain a passport and, possession of forged passports or passports obtained by false representation, is not affected. The amendment will also ensure that the offence can be prosecuted for passports previously issued by the Minister of Foreign Affairs and that the offences will  apply to all passports and travel documents irrespective of their form or supporting system.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 4

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Passeports

En juillet 2013 la responsabilité du programme de passeport a été transférée du ministre des Affaires étrangères au ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration.

En vertu de ce transfert, le ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social fournira son soutien au ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration dans la mesure où Service Canada (SC) sera l’agent d’exécution des services de passeport pour le compte de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC). Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) continuera de fournir les services de passeport à l’étranger, en partenariat avec CIC et SC.

En raison de ce transfert, il faut apporter des modifications de fond à diverses lois pour fermement établir les pouvoirs légaux du ministre de CIC à l’égard de l’exécution du programme de passeport.

La première est une modification que l’on se propose d’apporter à l’article 11 de la Loi sur le MAECD afin de remplacer le ministre des Affaires étrangères par le ministre de CIC, lui conférant ainsi le pouvoir légal de percevoir les droits à payer pour les services consulaires au titre de la délivrance d’un document de voyage.

La deuxième est la modification prévue du paragraphe 57(5) du Code criminel en vue de modifier la définition d’un passeport comme document émis par le ministre de CIC par opposition au ministre des Affaires étrangères. Cela a pour but de ne pas compromettre la capacité du gouvernement à porter des chefs d’accusation en vertu du Code criminel en ce qui concerne les faux passeports, les fausses déclarations pour se procurer un passeport et la possession de faux passeports ou de passeports obtenus sur la foi de fausses déclarations. La modification garantira également que l’infraction est passible de poursuites pour les passeports émis au préalable par le ministre des Affaires étrangères et que les infractions s’appliqueront à tous les passeports et documents de voyage, quelle que soit leur forme ou leur support.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant