Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 2

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Financial Institutions (Conflicts of Interest)

To ensure the continued strong governance and oversight of federally regulated financial institutions the Government committed to examine whether the conflict of interest provisions contained in the financial sector statutes remain consistent with the overall Government policy as outlined in the Conflict of Interest Act (COI Act).

This measure will amend the Bank Act, the Insurance Companies Act and the Trust and Loan Companies Act to allow agents of the Crown and federal and provincial government employees to sit as directors on the boards of federally regulated financial institutions. These agents will be subject to the requirements of the federal Conflict of Interest Act and the provincial conflict of interest legislation, as relevant.

These provisions also remove the obligations of members of the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee (FISC), along with the Deputy Superintendent of Financial Institutions and the Deputy Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) to notify the Minister of Finance of his/her intent to borrow money from any financial institution under the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act (OSFI Act)and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada Act (FCAC Act).

Repeal of the borrowing notification provisions under the OSFI Act and the FCAC Act will streamline and modernize Government policy on conflict of interest.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 2

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Institutions financières (conflits d’intérêts)

Pour veiller à ce que les institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale continuent de faire l’objet d’une gouvernance et d’une supervision rigoureuses, le gouvernement a pris l’engagement de déterminer si les dispositions relatives aux conflits d’intérêts dans les lois régissant le secteur financier continuent de concorder avec la politique gouvernementale telle qu’énoncée dans la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts.

Cette mesure modifiera la Loi sur les banques, la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances et la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt de manière à autoriser les mandataires de l’État et les fonctionnaires fédéraux et provinciaux à siéger au conseil d’administration des institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale. Ces mandataires et fonctionnaires seront assujettis aux exigences de la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts etaux lois provinciales sur les conflits d’intérêts pertinentes.

Les modifications proposées ont aussi pour effet d’éliminer l’obligation qui est faite aux membres du Comité de surveillance des institutions financières (CSIF), de même qu’au surintendant adjoint des institutions financières et au commissaire adjoint de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC), d’informer le ministre des Finances lorsqu’ils ont l’intention de contracter un emprunt auprès d’une institution financière en application de la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières et de la Loi sur l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada.

L’abrogation des dispositions exigeant l’envoi d’un tel avis aux termes des deux lois en question servira à rationaliser et à moderniser les exigences relatives aux conflits d’intérêts.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant