Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 19

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous

Supreme Court Act

Division 19 adds two declaratory provisions to the Supreme Court Act, respecting certain criteria for appointing judges to the Supreme Court of Canada. These provisions clarify, without making changes to, the existing law relating to the experience that a person is required to have as a member of a bar of a province in order to be appointed to that Court.

The first declaratory provision, section 5.1 of the Supreme Court Act, clarifies that a person may be appointed as a judge of the Supreme Court of Canada if they have at least 10 years of experience as a member of a bar of a province, even if they are no longer a member of a bar.

The second declaratory provision, section 6.1 of the Supreme Court Act, clarifies that a person with at least 10 years of experience as a member of the Barreau du Québec may be appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada as a judge from Quebec, even if they are no longer a member of the bar.

Table of contents - Previous

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 19

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent

Loi sur la Cour suprême

La section 19ajoute à la Loi sur la Cour suprême deux dispositions déclaratoires portant sur certains critères de nomination des juges de la Cour suprême du Canada. Ces dispositions clarifient, sans toutefois les modifier, les règles relatives à l’expérience qu’un juriste est tenu d’avoir comme membre d’un barreau d’une province afin d’être nommé juge de cette cour.

La première disposition déclaratoire, l’article 5.1 de la Loi sur la Cour suprême, précise qu’un juriste qui compte au moins dix ans d’expérience comme membre du barreau d’une province peut être nommé à la Cour suprême du Canada même s’il n’est plus membre d’un barreau.

La deuxième disposition déclaratoire, l’article 6.1 de la Loi sur la Cour suprême, précise qu’un juriste qui compte au moins dix ans d’expérience comme avocat au Barreau du Québec peut être nommé, comme juge du Québec, à la Cour suprême du Canada même s’il n’est plus membre de ce barreau.

Table des matières - Précédent