Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 17

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Public Service Labour Relations

Collective Bargaining, Essential Services and Recourse

To ensure that the public service remains affordable, modern, high-performing, and in line with the expectation of taxpayers, the Public Service Labour Relations Act will be amended to better align public service labour relations with other jurisdictions, achieve savings, and streamline practices.

To modernize the dispute resolution process, and to bring it more in line with those at the provincial level and in the private sector, conciliation will be used as the primary mechanism to resolve disputes in the collective bargaining process. In order to ensure the effective protection of the safety and security of the public, the employer will have the exclusive right to determine whether a service is essential or not and to designate the positions it considers necessary to perform the essential service. Where 80% or more of the employees are responsible for providing essential services to Canadians, arbitration will be used to resolve disputes. To improve the predictability of the collective bargaining process, the notice period to begin collective bargaining will be increased to 12 months. 

To better ensure the prudent management of taxpayer dollars, as well as to provide fair and adequate compensation, these amendments will require that all elements of compensation be taken into account by an arbitration board or public interest commission when making awards or recommendations. When determining appropriate levels of compensation for public servants, arbitration boards and public interest commissions must give greater consideration to the necessity of attracting and retaining competent persons as well as Canada’s fiscal circumstances. This will ensure awards are fair and equitable for all parties, including taxpayers. To enhance the collective bargaining process in the future, these amendments will require that written reasons be provided for these decisions. To ensure that arbitration boards and public interest commissions are guided by these criteria, the Chairperson of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board can direct that they review their decisions.

Finally, these amendments will address an overly complex, legalistic, cumbersome, lengthy and costly employee recourse system by consolidating the recourse system within a new Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board. These amendments will improve the process and reduce overlap for employees, who will continue to have the right to have their employment-related grievances or complaints, including discrimination cases, decided by a neutral third-party.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 17

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Négociations collectives, services essentiels et recours

Pour que la fonction publique demeure abordable, moderne, hautement performante et qu’elle corresponde aux attentes des contribuables, la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique sera modifiée pour mieux harmoniser les relations de travail dans la fonction publique avec celles d’autres organisations, réaliser des économies et simplifier les pratiques.

Pour permettre de moderniser le processus de règlement des différends et faire en sorte qu’il soit davantage aligné sur ceux des provinces et du secteur privé, la conciliation sera le principal mécanisme de règlement des différends du processus de négociation collective. Afin d’assurer la protection efficace de la sécurité du public, l’employeur aura le droit exclusif de déterminer si un service est ou non essentiel et de désigner les postes qu’il juge nécessaires à l’exécution du service essentiel. Lorsque 80 % ou plus des employés d’une unité de négociation sont responsables de la prestation de services essentiels aux Canadiens, les différends seront réglés par voie d’arbitrage. La période d’avis pour le début des négociations sera prolongée de 12 mois de manière à améliorer la prévisibilité du processus de négociation collective. 

Selon ces modifications, pour mieux assurer la gestion prudente de l’argent des contribuables et offrir une rémunération équitable et adéquate, les conseils d’arbitrage ou les commissions de l’intérêt public devront prendre en considération tous les éléments de la rémunération lorsqu’ils prennent des décisions ou formulent des recommandations. Lorsque les conseils d’arbitrage et les commissions de l’intérêt public déterminent les niveaux convenables de rémunération des fonctionnaires, ils devront prendre davantage en considération la nécessité d’attirer et de maintenir en poste des personnes compétentes ainsi que les circonstances budgétaires du Canada. Les décisions arbitrales seront ainsi équitables pour toutes les parties, y compris les contribuables. Pour améliorer le processus de négociation collective dans l’avenir, ces modifications exigeront que des raisons écrites soient fournies pour appuyer ces décisions. Pour s’assurer que les conseils d’arbitrage et les commissions de l’intérêt public sont guidés par ces critères, le président de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique peut leur enjoindre d’examiner leurs décisions.

Enfin, ces modifications permettront de gérer un système de recours des employés trop complexe, formaliste, contraignant, long et coûteux en centralisant celui-ci au sein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique et de l’emploi. Ces modifications amélioreront le processus et réduiront les chevauchements pour les   employés, qui continueront d’avoir le droit de demander que leurs plaintes ou griefs liés à l’emploi, notamment les cas de discrimination, soient tranchés par  une tierce partie neutre.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant