Archived - Part 3 – Various Measures: Division 8

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Reorganization of Certain Crown Corporations (Bridges)

In March 2010, a review of the Federal Bridge Corporation Limited (FBCL) was launched.

The measures in Division 8 will allow for the implementation of the following governance improvements:

  • FBCL and its subsidiary, the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Inc., are to be two separate parent Crown corporations; and
  • FBCL is to amalgamate with its two remaining subsidiaries, the Seaway International Bridge Corporation, Ltd. and the Saint Mary’s River Bridge Company and another parent Crown corporation, Blue Water Bridge Authority (BWBA).

The establishment of a single parent Crown corporation through the amalgamation of FBCL with its remaining subsidiaries and the BWBA would provide a portfolio approach to certain international bridge operations and improved oversight of the amalgamated corporations.

This approach will allow the amalgamated corporation to apply consistent policies and procedures across all its operations, streamline reporting, ensure consistency in service levels and security protocols, and conduct more rigorous financial planning.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Archivé - Partie 3 – Diverses mesures : section 8

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Réorganisation de certaines sociétés d’État — ponts

En mars 2010, un examen de la Société des ponts fédéraux Limitée (SPFL) a été lancé.

Les mesures de la section 8 permettront de mettre en œuvre les suivantes améliorations à la gouvernance de :

  • la SPFL et sa filiale, la société Les Ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Inc., doivent être deux sociétés d’État mère distinctes;
  • la SPFL doit être fusionnée avec ses deux filiales restantes, la Corporation du pont international de la Voie maritime et la Saint Mary’s River Bridge Company ainsi qu’avec une autre société d’État mère, l’Administration du pont Blue Water (APBW).

La création d’une seule société d’État mère grâce à la fusion de la SPFL avec ses filiales restantes et l’APBW fournirait une approche de gestion de portefeuille de certaines activités d’exploitation et améliorerait la surveillance des ponts internationaux de la société issue de la fusion.

Cette approche permettra à la société issue de la fusion d’appliquer des politiques et des procédures uniformes dans l’ensemble de ses activités, de rationaliser la production de rapports, d’assurer le respect des niveaux de service et des protocoles de sûreté et de procéder à une planification financière plus rigoureuse.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant