Part 6 – Division 29
Overview: Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada Act

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Part 6, Division 29 establishes the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC) as a department, listed in Schedule I.1 of the Financial Administration Act, within the Justice portfolio. The ATSSC will provide registry, administrative and other support services to 11 administrative tribunals (see list below).  The staff and resources that currently support those tribunals will be transferred to the ATSSC.

The legislation ensures the continuing independence of the tribunals and the fairness of their proceedings. The tribunals will maintain their separate identities under their current ministerial portfolios, and their members and chairs will retain control of their adjudicative procedures and other substantive functions.

The ATSSC will be based in the National Capital Region. The head of the new department will be appointed by the Governor in Council for a fixed term, and will be conferred the necessary authorities to provide the tribunals with the required support services.

The legislation also makes consequential amendments to tribunal statutes and other related legislation to ensure cohesion of the relevant acts.

List of included tribunals and boards:

Canada Industrial Relations Board

Canadian Agricultural Review Tribunal

Canadian Cultural Properties Review Board

Canadian Human Rights Tribunal

Canadian International Trade Tribunal

Competition Tribunal

Public Servants Disclosure Protection Tribunal

Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board*

Specific Claims Tribunal

Social Security Tribunal 

Transportation Appeal Tribunal

* Pursuant to the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act No. 2, the Public Service Labour Relations Board and the Public Service Staffing Tribunal are being merged to form the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Partie 6 – Section 29
Aperçu : Loi sur le service canadien d'appui aux tribunaux administratifs

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

La partie 6 de la section 29 établit le Service canadien d'appui aux tribunaux administratifs (SCDATA) en tant que ministère figurant à l'annexe I.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques  au sein du portefeuille de la Justice.  Le SCDATA  fournira les services de greffe, administratifs de même que les autres services d'appui requis à 11 tribunaux administratifs (voir liste ci-dessous). Le personnel et les ressources qui soutiennent actuellement ces tribunaux seront transférés au SCDATA.

Le projet de loi garantit l'indépendance des tribunaux et de leurs procédures. Les tribunaux maintiendront leur identité distincte et continueront de faire partie de leurs portefeuilles ministériels actuels.  Leurs présidents et leurs membres conserveront le contrôle de leurs procédures d'arbitrage et des autres fonctions reliées aux dossiers.

Le SCDATA sera basée dans la région de la capitale nationale.  Le chef de cette nouvelle organisation sera nommé par le gouverneur en conseil pour un mandat fixe, et sera conféré les pouvoirs nécessaires pour fournir les tribunaux avec les services d'appui requis.

Le projet de loi apporte aussi des modifications corrélatives aux lois des tribunaux et des autres lois connexes pour assurer la cohérence avec les lois pertinentes.

Liste des tribunaux et des commissions :

Commission de révision agricole du Canada

Conseil canadien des relations industrielles

Commission canadienne d'examen des exportations de biens culturels

Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne

Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Tribunal de la concurrence

Tribunal de la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles

La Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique*

Tribunal des revendications particulières

Tribunal de la sécurité sociale

Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada

* Loi no 2 sur le Plan d'action économique 2013 a fait l'annonce de la fusion de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique et du Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique pour former la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant