Part 6 – Division 15
Overview: Regulatory Cooperation

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Motor Vehicle Safety Act

The Motor Vehicle Safety Act (MVSA) was last significantly revised in 1993.

The proposed amendments will support the objectives of the Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC) to better and more rapidly align Canadian and U.S. regulations and boost North American trade and competitiveness.   These amendments fall into four categories: rulemaking, importation, safety (compliance and enforcement) and information gathering.

Modified regulation-making provisions will facilitate more efficient ongoing alignment with U.S. and other international safety standards, in those instances where the Government of Canada determines that it is appropriate. These changes will allow Canada’s motor vehicle safety regime to keep pace with emerging technologies. Changes to the importation provisions will allow the importation of vehicles and equipment where it is deemed that the U.S. or other international safety standard achieves the safety outcome required in Canada and removes other importation irritants. This will reduce impediments for Canadians and business, while continuing to protect public safety.

Changes to the compliance and enforcement provisions will more closely align the Canadian and U.S. regimes, while continuing to protect and serve Canadians.  This will ensure vehicle safety for Canadians, in a manner that recognizes the integrated nature of the North American auto market, public expectations of similar safety oversight regimes, and reduces industry compliance burdens, where appropriate.

Improving the ability of Transport Canada to obtain and distribute information related to vehicle safety will help keep Canadians informed of issues related to vehicle safety and enable the government to make better-informed policy and regulatory decisions.  These changes include: improving the ability to gather data and conduct collision examinations and allowing the Minister to disclose information where such disclosure is in the interest of safety.

Railway Safety Act / Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act

The proposed amendments will remove mandatory prepublication from the Railway Safety Act and the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act, 1992, that will remove a redundant provision and allow more effective regulatory alignment with the United States where appropriate. It repeals a statutory provision that has been made redundant by the Cabinet Directive on Regulatory Management, where emergency action is required, the Governor in Council will have the power to expedite the enactment of regulatory amendments that respond to those emergencies, and removes an obstacle to more effective regulatory alignment between Canada and the United States.

Safe Food for Canadians Act

The proposed amendments for the Safe Food for Canadians Act (SFCA) will enhance the financial protection for fresh produce sellers through the provision of authority to replace the Canadian Food Inspection Agency’s (CFIA) Licensing and Arbitration Regulations with a requirement that all fresh produce dealers trading internationally or inter-provincially be a member of a single, third-party dispute resolution body (most likely the Dispute Resolution Corporation (DRC)).

This new approach is designed to help to address the limitations associated with the creation of two similar, yet distinct, sets of licensing regime now managed by either DRC or CFIA. Additionally, this more proactive approach is expected to significantly reduce instances of slow, partial and non-payment, as well as fraudulent activity within the fresh produce industry.

Table of contents - Previous - Next

Partie 6 – Section 15
Aperçu : Coopération en matière de réglementation

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant

Loi sur la sécurité automobile

La dernière révision d’importance à la Loi sur la sécurité automobile a été effectuée en 1993.

Les modifications proposées appuieront les objectifs du Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation, afin d’améliorer et accélérer la concordance entre les règlements canadiens et américains et ainsi favoriser le commerce et la compétitivité en Amérique du Nord. Ces modifications sont regroupées sous quatre catégories : élaboration de règlements, importation, sécurité (conformité et application de la loi) et collecte de renseignements.

Les dispositions modifiées relatives à l’élaboration de règlements pertmettront une harmonisation efficace et continue avec les normes de sécurité américaines et autres normes internationales dans les cas où le gouvernement du Canada déterminera qu’il est approprié de le faire. Ces modifications permettront au régime canadien de la sécurité automobile de garder le rythme par rapport aux nouvelles technologies. Les modifications aux dispositions relatives à l’importation permettront l’importation de véhicules et d’équipements dans les cas où l’on juge que les normes de sécurité américaines et internationales atteignent les résultats escomptés en matière de sécurité telles qu’exigées au Canada, et éliminera d’autres irritants relatifs à l’importation. Cela réduira les obstacles pour les Canadiens et les entreprises tout en continuant à protéger la sécurité du public.

Les modifications aux dispositions relatives à la conformité et à l’application de la loi seront plus étroitement harmonisées avec les régimes canadiens et américains et elles continueront de protéger les Canadiens et de servir leurs intérêts. Cela assurera la sécurité automobile des Canadiens d’une façon qui reconnaît la nature intégrée du marché automobile nord-américain, les attentes du public à l’égard de régimes semblables de surveillance de la sécurité et allègera les fardeaux relatifs à la conformité qui pèsent sur l’industrie, le cas échéant.

Le fait d’améliorer la capacité de Transports Canada d’obtenir et de diffuser les renseignements sur la sécurité automobile permettra de tenir les Canadiens au courant des enjeux relatifs à la sécurité automobile et donnera au gouvernement la possibilité d’élaborer des politiques et de prendre des décisions réglementaires plus éclairées. Ces modifications comprennent d’améliorer la capacité de recueillir des données et d’effectuer des examens des collisions et ainsi permettre au ministre de divulguer des renseignements pour des raisons de sécurité.

Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire / Loi sur le transport de marchandises dangereuses

Les modifications proposées élimineront l’exigence de la publication préalable de la Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire et la Loi sur le Transport de marchandises dangereuses, 1992. Ceci éliminera une disposition redondante  tout en permettant un alignement réglementaire plus efficace avec les États-Unis, le cas échéant.

Cette modification abroge une disposition législative rendue redondante par la Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation où une action d’urgence est nécessaire, le gouverneur en conseil aura le pouvoir d’accélérer l’adoption des modifications réglementaires répondant à cette urgence. Cette modification supprime un obstacle à l’harmonisation plus efficace des règlements canadiens et américains.

Loi sur la salubrité des aliments au Canada

Les modifications proposées de la Loi sur la salubrité des aliments au Canada (LSAC) amélioreront la protection financière des vendeurs de fruits et légumes frais en donnant le pouvoir de remplacer le Règlement sur la délivrance de permis et l’arbitrage de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) par l’exigence que tous les marchands de fruits et légumes frais faisant commerce à l’échelle internationale ou interprovinciale soient membres d’un seul organisme indépendant de règlement des différends (fort probablement la Corporation de règlement des différends [DRC]).

Cette nouvelle démarche vise à améliorer la création de deux ensembles de régime de délivrance de licences, mais distinctes, gérées actuellement par le DRC et l’ACIA. De plus, cette démarche plus proactive devrait réduire considérablement les cas de retard de paiement, de paiement partiel, de défaut de paiement et d’activité frauduleuse dans le secteur des fruits et légumes frais.

Table des matières - Précédent - Suivant