Backgrounder: Proposed Application of the Federal Carbon Pollution Pricing System in Alberta

In 2016, the federal government worked with provinces, territories, and with input from Indigenous Peoples, on Canada's first comprehensive climate action plan, which includes a stringent, fair and efficient price on carbon pollution.

As part of Canada's plan, provinces and territories have the flexibility to maintain or develop a carbon pollution pricing system that works for their circumstances and meets the federal standard for stringency.

As a result of Alberta's May 30, 2019 repeal of its carbon levy, Alberta now only partially meets federal benchmark stringency requirements and will join the provinces of Ontario, New Brunswick, Manitoba and Saskatchewan in being covered by the federal fuel charge for jurisdictions that have not met the Canada-wide federal standard for stringency. A charge applied to fossil fuels, generally paid by registered distributors (fuel producers and distributors), as set out in the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act, Part 1, would start applying as of January 1, 2020, reflecting a carbon pollution price of $20 per tonne of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e). The charge would be raised to $30 per tonne as of April 1, 2020 (as in other provinces where the federal backstop applies). For details about fuel charge rates that will apply in Alberta, see the table at the end of this backgrounder.

The Government of Canada will monitor any proposed changes to Alberta's large industrial emitter system, and will undertake another benchmark assessment once sufficient details about the new system for large emitters are available. The Government is also open to working with the Government of Alberta to determine the most appropriate treatment of small oil and gas facilities under the carbon-pricing regime.

Returning Direct Proceeds from the Federal Fuel Charge to Albertans

The Government of Canada has committed to return all direct proceeds from the federal carbon pollution pricing backstop system in Alberta, through direct payments to families and investments to reduce emissions, save money, and create jobs. In Alberta, it will return the direct proceeds as follows:

  • Climate Action Incentive payments: The bulk of the direct proceeds from the federal fuel charge will be returned directly to eligible individuals and families residing in Alberta through Climate Action Incentive payments, starting in early 2020, through 2019 personal income tax returns. Most households in Alberta will receive more in Climate Action Incentive payments than they incur in increased costs resulting from pollution pricing. 
  • Support for other sectors: The remainder of those proceeds will be used to provide support to the province's schools, hospitals, small and medium-sized businesses (SMEs), colleges and universities, municipalities, not-for-profit organizations, and Indigenous communities, which will help save money and create good jobs. In Alberta, this amount is estimated at $610 million over the next four fiscal years.[1]

How Climate Action Incentive Payments Will Benefit Albertans

Exceptionally, the first Climate Action Incentive payment claimed by eligible Albertans will reflect fuel charge proceeds generated over a 15-month period. This consists of three months (January-March 2020) with a carbon price of $20, plus 12 months (April 2020-March 2021) with a carbon price of $30.

For residents of Alberta, the proposed Climate Action Incentive payment amounts for 2020 are as follows:

  • $444 for a single adult or the first adult in a couple.
  • $222 for the second adult in a couple. Single parents will receive this amount for their first child.
  • $111 for each child in the family (starting with the second child for single parents).

Based on these proposed amounts and taking into account the various family compositions and circumstances, households in Alberta will receive $880 on average, in early 2020, which consists of $126 for the first three months of the fuel charge (January-March 2020) and $754 for the next 12 months (April 2020-March 2021). These amounts are greater than the estimated average cost impacts per household (which are $101 for the first three-month period and $610 for the following 12-month period).

In future years, as in other jurisdictions where Climate Action Incentive payments are available, payments will reflect direct fuel charge proceeds generated over a 12-month period (from March through April) at a given carbon price.

Example: Family of Four

Andrew and Ann, who have two young children, live in Edmonton. They decide that Ann will be the parent claiming the Climate Action Incentive payment for their family when she files her 2019 tax return in early 2020. She will claim $444 for herself, $222 for Andrew, and $111 for each child, for a total amount of $888. She will see this full amount when her tax return is assessed.

Supplement for Residents of Small and Rural Communities

The Government of Canada will also provide a supplementary Climate Action Incentive payment amount for people who live in small and rural communities, in recognition of their increased energy needs and reduced access to energy-efficient transportation options. This supplement will be an additional 10 per cent of the payment amount to which they are entitled. Small and rural communities are identified as anywhere outside of a census metropolitan area (CMA), as defined by Statistics Canada.[2]

Example: Single Parent with One Child Eligible for Small and Rural Communities Supplement

Eva is a single mother who lives in Youngstown with her five-year-old son. Under the Climate Action Incentive payments, Eva will claim $444 for herself and $222 for her son when she files her 2019 tax return in early 2020, for a total Climate Action Incentive payment of $666. Given that the family lives in a small or rural community, Eva will indicate on her tax return that her family qualifies for the small and rural communities supplement, meaning that their payment will be boosted by 10 per cent. As a result, Eva will see an amount of $733 when her tax return is assessed.

Payment Amounts in Years Subsequent to 2020

Climate Action Incentive payments will increase annually to reflect increases in the price on pollution under the federal backstop system, until at least 2022. The federal Minister of Finance will make annual announcements of Climate Action Incentive payment amounts, reflecting the increasing price on pollution and updated levels of direct proceeds.

Based on current projections and reflecting direct fuel charge proceeds generated over a 12-month period at a given carbon price, Climate Action Incentive payment amounts (excluding the supplement for residents of small and rural communities) in future years would be as follows:

Illustrative Climate Action Incentive Payment Amounts for 2021 and 2022
  2021 2022
Carbon Pollution Price* $40/tonne $50/tonne
Single adult, or first adult in a couple $496 $600
Second adult in a couple, or first child of a single parent $248 $300
Each child under 18 (starting with the second child for single parents) $124 $150
Example: Baseline amount for a family of four $992 $1,200
* As of April 1 of each year.

Targeted Relief for Farmers and Fishers, and Residents of Rural and Remote Communities

The Government also recognizes that particular groups and sectors—including farmers and fishers, and residents of remote communities—require targeted relief from the fuel charge because of the more limited number of alternative options they may have to respond to carbon pollution pricing.

Details on this relief can be found in the Department of Finance Canada Backgrounder: Targeted Relief for Farmers and Fishers, and Residents of Rural and Remote Communities as well as in the Department of Finance Canada news release Department of Finance Canada Proposes Refinements to the Federal Carbon Pollution Pricing System.

Support for Municipalities, Universities, Schools and Colleges, Hospitals, Non-Profits, and Indigenous Communities

In recognition of the fact that universities and colleges, hospitals, schools, municipalities, non-profit organizations, and Indigenous communities can expect to incur additional costs as a result of pricing carbon pollution, the Government will return a portion of the proceeds collected through the price on carbon pollution to help these groups take climate action, and this will also help them lower their energy costs. Context for this support (predating Alberta's coverage by the federal system) can be found in the Department of Finance Canada Backgrounder: Support for Municipalities, Universities, Schools and Colleges, Hospitals, Non-Profits, and Indigenous Communities.

Support for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses

Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are a critically important part of the Canadian economy. The Government recognizes that SMEs can expect to incur additional costs as a result of carbon pollution pricing, and is committed to providing additional support to help them take climate action, and lower their energy costs while remaining competitive. Context for this support (predating Alberta's coverage by the federal system) can be found in the Department of Finance Canada Backgrounder: Support for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses, as well as in the Environment and Climate Change Canada news release Canada to help small businesses invest in energy-saving equipment and retrofits.

Projected Proceeds and Returns for Alberta

The table below shows the estimated direct proceeds from the federal fuel charge for fiscal years 2019-20 to 2022-23 for Alberta. The table also indicates how much of the direct proceeds will be provided to support particularly affected sectors including small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), municipalities, universities, colleges, schools and hospitals, non-profit organizations, and Indigenous communities. An estimate for total Climate Action Incentive payments to eligible individuals and families is also included.

As illustrated, all net fuel charge proceeds will be returned to the province.

Projected Proceeds and Returns for Alberta, 2019-20 to 2022-23
 Year of Fuel Charge 2019-20 2020-21 2021-22 2022-23
 Carbon Pollution Price $20/tonne $30/tonne $40/tonne $50/tonne
Net Fuel Charge Proceeds ($ million) 230 1,365 1,805  2,240
Less: Proceeds Returned ($ million)
Projected Total Climate Action Incentive Payments (in Respect of This Year) 205 1,220 1,610 1,995
Support for SMEs 15 100 130 165
Support for Municipalities, Universities, Schools, Colleges, Hospitals, Non-Profit Organizations, and Indigenous Communities 10 50 65 80
Total Net Fuel Charge Proceeds Returned 230 1,365 1,805 2,240
Projected Fuel Charge Proceeds Less Total Proceeds Returned 0 0 0 0
Notes: Due to rounding, totals may not add and numbers in the table may not match numbers in the text.
Numbers over $5 million are rounded to the nearest $5 million. This table excludes the costs of administering the fuel charge in Alberta, and the costs of delivering Climate Action Incentive payments and relief to certain sectors, which will be borne by the Government of Canada. Estimates are illustrative and subject to adjustments as more information becomes available.

Transparency and Annual Reporting

As announced in October 2018, the Government of Canada will provide annual updates on the direct proceeds and disbursements realized from the federal carbon pollution pricing system in respect of each province and territory where it applies.

Any actual variance between the proceeds originating in a given jurisdiction and the amount of proceeds returned to that jurisdiction would be addressed through changes in future payment amounts to that jurisdiction. This process will ensure that direct proceeds are fully returned to the jurisdiction of origin over time.

Fuel Charge Rates for Alberta

The following table presents fuel charge rates that will apply in Alberta. The rates will become effective as of January 2020, with future increases effective as of April of the year specified in the table.

Fuel Charge Rates for Alberta
Type Unit ($ per) January 2020 ($20/tonne) April 2020 ($30/tonne) April 2021 ($40/tonne) April 2022 ($50/tonne)
Aviation gasoline litre 0.0498 0.0747 0.0995 0.1244
Aviation turbo fuel litre 0.0516 0.0775 0.1033 0.1291
Butane litre 0.0356 0.0534 0.0712 0.0890
Ethane litre 0.0204 0.0306 0.0408 0.0509
Gas liquids litre 0.0333 0.0499 0.0666 0.0832
Gasoline litre 0.0442 0.0663 0.0884 0.1105
Heavy fuel oil litre 0.0637 0.0956 0.1275 0.1593
Kerosene litre 0.0516 0.0775 0.1033 0.1291
Light fuel oil litre 0.0537 0.0805 0.1073 0.1341
Methanol litre 0.0220 0.0329 0.0439 0.0549
Naphtha litre 0.0451 0.0676 0.0902 0.1127
Petroleum coke litre 0.0767 0.1151 0.1535 0.1919
Pentanes plus litre 0.0356 0.0534 0.0712 0.0890
Propane litre 0.0310 0.0464 0.0619 0.0774
Coke oven gas cubic metre 0.0140 0.0210 0.0280 0.0350
Marketable natural gas cubic metre 0.0391 0.0587 0.0783 0.0979
Non-marketable natural gas cubic metre 0.0517 0.0776 0.1034 0.1293
Still gas cubic metre 0.0540 0.0810 0.1080 0.1350
Coke tonne 63.59 95.39 127.19 158.99
High heat value coal tonne 45.03 67.55 90.07 112.58
Low heat value coal tonne 35.45 53.17 70.90 88.62
Combustible waste tonne 39.95 59.92 79.89 99.87

[1] The support for SMEs and for municipalities, universities, schools, colleges, hospitals, non-profit organizations, and Indigenous communities in the table below ("Projected Proceeds and Returns for Alberta, 2019-20 to 2022-23") does not add up to the total of $610 million due to rounding.

[2] Individuals will indicate on their tax return whether they reside in a small community or rural area. Alberta has three CMAs: Calgary, Edmonton and Lethbridge.

Document d'information : Mise en application proposée du système fédéral de tarification de la pollution par le carbone en Alberta

En 2016, le gouvernement fédéral a collaboré avec les provinces et les territoires à l'élaboration, en tenant compte des observations des peuples autochtones, du premier plan exhaustif de lutte contre les changements climatiques du Canada. Ce plan prévoit l'imposition rigoureuse et efficiente d'un prix juste sur la pollution par le carbone.

Dans le cadre du plan du Canada, les provinces et les territoires ont la latitude nécessaire pour conserver ou créer un système de tarification de la pollution par le carbone qui est adapté à leur situation et qui respecte la norme fédérale de rigueur.

À la suite de l'élimination de son prélèvement provincial sur le carbone, le 30 mai 2019, le système de l'Alberta ne répond maintenant qu'en partie aux exigences du modèle fédéral relatives à sa rigueur. L'Alberta s'ajoutera à l'Ontario, au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Manitoba et à la Saskatchewan au nombre des provinces où s'applique la redevance fédérale sur les combustibles visant les administrations qui ne respectent pas la norme fédérale pancanadienne de rigueur du système. Une redevance sur les combustibles fossiles, généralement payée par les distributeurs inscrits (producteurs et distributeurs de combustible) conformément à la partie 1 de la Loi sur la tarification de la pollution causée par les gaz à effet de serre, entrerait en vigueur le 1er janvier 2020; cette redevance correspond à un prix de la pollution par le carbone de 20 dollars par tonne métrique (20 $/t) d'équivalent dioxyde de carbone. La redevance augmenterait à 30 dollars par tonne le 1er avril 2020 (tout comme dans les autres provinces où le filet de sécurité fédéral s'applique). Pour en savoir plus sur les taux de la redevance sur les combustibles qui s'appliqueront en Alberta, veuillez consulter le tableau à la fin du présent document d'information.

Le gouvernement du Canada surveillera tous les changements proposés au système de l'Alberta s'appliquant aux grands émetteurs industriels, et il mènera une nouvelle évaluation comparative lorsqu'il disposera de suffisamment de détails sur le nouveau système. De plus, le gouvernement est disposé à collaborer avec le gouvernement de l'Alberta en vue de déterminer le traitement le plus adéquat à réserver aux petites installations pétrolières et gazières dans le cadre du système de tarification du carbone.

Retour aux Albertains des produits directs issus de la redevance fédérale sur les combustibles

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à ce que tous les produits directs issus du système de filet de sécurité fédéral de tarification de la pollution par le carbone recueillis en Alberta soient retournés dans cette province par le biais de paiements aux familles et d'investissements afin de réduire les émissions, de réaliser des économies et de créer des emplois. En Alberta, les produits directs seront remis comme suit :

  • Paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat : La majeure partie des produits directs issus de la redevance fédérale sur les combustibles sera versée directement aux particuliers et aux familles admissibles de l'Alberta par le biais des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat à compter du début de 2020, par le mécanisme des déclarations de revenus des particuliers pour 2019. La plupart des ménages de l'Alberta recevront des paiements de l'Incitatif plus élevés que la hausse des coûts occasionnée par la tarification de la pollution par le carbone. 
  • Soutien aux autres secteurs : Le solde des produits sera utilisé pour appuyer les écoles, les hôpitaux, les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), les collèges et universités, les municipalités, les organismes à but non lucratif et les collectivités autochtones de la province, ce qui leur permettra de réaliser des économies et de créer des emplois bien rémunérés. En Alberta, ce montant est estimé à 610 millions de dollars au cours des quatre prochaines années financières[1].

Méthode de calcul des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat pour les Albertains

De façon exceptionnelle, le premier paiement de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat demandé par les Albertains admissibles tiendra compte des produits directs issus de la redevance sur les combustibles au cours d'une période de 15 mois. Cette période se compose de 3 mois (de janvier à mars 2020) où le prix du carbone s'élève à 20 dollars la tonne et de 12 mois (d'avril 2020 à mars 2021) où il s'élève à 30 dollars la tonne.

Pour les résidents de l'Alberta, les montants proposés des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat pour 2020 sont calculés comme suit :

  • 444 dollars pour un adulte célibataire ou le premier adulte d'un couple.
  • 222 dollars pour le deuxième adulte d'un couple. Les familles monoparentales recevront ce montant pour leur premier enfant.
  • 111 dollars pour chaque enfant de la famille (à partir du deuxième enfant dans le cas des familles monoparentales).

D'après ces montants proposés, les ménages de l'Alberta toucheront 880 dollars en moyenne au début de 2020, montant qui variera selon la composition et la situation des ménages. Ce montant moyen comprend 126 dollars pour les 3 premiers mois de l'application de la redevance sur les combustibles (de janvier à mars 2020) et 754 dollars pour les 12 mois suivants (d'avril 2020 à mars 2021). Ces montants sont supérieurs aux répercussions financières moyennes estimées pour un ménage, qui sont de 101 dollars pour la première période de 3 mois et de 610 dollars pour la période suivante de 12 mois.

Au cours des années suivantes, les paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat tiendront compte des produits directs issus de la redevance sur les combustibles générés au cours d'une période de 12 mois à un taux désigné (d'avril à mars), comme dans les autres administrations où ils seront offerts.

Exemple : Famille de 4 personnes

André et Anne ont deux jeunes enfants et habitent à Edmonton. Ils ont décidé qu'Anne demanderait le paiement de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat pour leur famille au début de l'année 2020, soit au moment de remplir sa déclaration de revenus pour 2019. Elle demandera 444 dollars pour elle-même, 222 dollars pour André et 111 dollars pour chacun de ses enfants, soit un montant total de 888 dollars. Ce montant lui sera accordé lorsque sa déclaration de revenus sera traitée.

Supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés

Le gouvernement du Canada versera aussi un supplément du paiement de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat aux résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés, afin de tenir compte de leurs besoins énergétiques plus élevés et de leur accès limité à des options de transport à haute efficacité énergétique. Ce supplément correspondra à 10 % du montant de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat auquel ils sont admissibles. Les petites communautés et les régions rurales comprennent tous les secteurs situés à l'extérieur d'une région métropolitaine de recensement, selon la définition de Statistique Canada[2].

Exemple : Famille monoparentale ayant 1 enfant et admissible au supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés

Éva est une mère seule qui vit à Youngstown avec son fils âgé de 5 ans. Au titre de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat, Éva demandera un paiement de 444 dollars pour elle-même et de 222 dollars pour son fils lorsqu'elle remplira sa déclaration de revenus pour 2019, au début de 2020, soit un montant total de 666 dollars. Éva indiquera dans sa déclaration de revenus que sa famille est admissible au supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés, ce qui signifie que le paiement sera majoré de 10 %. Par conséquent, Éva aura droit à un montant de 733 dollars une fois que sa déclaration de revenus sera traitée.

Montants des paiements pour les années après 2020

Les paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat augmenteront chaque année, au moins jusqu'en 2022, en fonction de la hausse du prix de la pollution établi dans le cadre du système de filet de sécurité fédéral. Chaque année, le ministre fédéral des Finances annoncera les montants des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat en fonction de la hausse du prix de la pollution et du montant à jour des produits directs de la tarification.

Selon les prévisions actuelles et compte tenu des produits directs issus de la redevance sur les combustibles générés au cours d'une période de 12 mois à un prix donné pour le carbone, les montants des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat (sans compter le supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés) pour les prochaines années seraient les suivants :

Exemple de montants des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat pour 2021 et 2022
  2021 2022
Prix de la pollution par le carbone* 40 $/t 50 $/t
Adulte célibataire ou 1er adulte d'un couple 496 $ 600 $
2e adulte d'un couple ou 1er enfant d'une famille monoparentale 248 $ 300 $
Chaque enfant de moins de 18 ans (à partir du 2e enfant dans le cas des familles monoparentales) 124 $ 150 $
Exemple : Montant de base pour une famille de 4 personnes 992 $ 1 200 $
* Au 1er avril de l'année en question.

Allègements ciblés pour les agriculteurs, les pêcheurs et les résidents de communautés rurales et éloignées

Le gouvernement reconnaît également que des groupes ou des secteurs particuliers – y compris les agriculteurs, les pêcheurs et les résidents de communautés éloignées – ont besoin d'allègements ciblés de la redevance sur les combustibles en raison du nombre plus faible d'options à leur disposition pour répondre à la tarification de la pollution par le carbone.

Pour en savoir plus sur ces allègements, veuillez consulter le document d'information du ministère des Finances intitulé Allègements ciblés pour les agriculteurs, les pêcheurs et les résidents de communautés rurales et éloignées et le communiqué de presse intitulé Le ministère des Finances Canada propose des ajustements au système fédéral de tarification de la pollution par le carbone.

Soutien aux municipalités, universités, écoles et collèges, hôpitaux, organismes à but non lucratif et communautés autochtones

Le gouvernement reconnaît que les universités et les collèges, les hôpitaux, les écoles, les municipalités, les organismes à but non lucratif et les communautés autochtones peuvent s'attendre à engager des coûts supplémentaires en raison de la tarification de la pollution par le carbone. C'est pourquoi il retournera une partie des produits de cette tarification à ces groupes pour les aider à agir pour le climat, ce qui les aidera du même coup à réduire leurs coûts énergétiques. On trouve des renseignements généraux sur ce soutien (qui précèdent l'assujettissement de l'Alberta au système fédéral) dans le document d'information du ministère des Finances intitulé Soutien aux municipalités, aux universités, écoles et collèges, aux hôpitaux, aux organismes à but non lucratif et aux communautés autochtones.

Soutien aux petites et moyennes entreprises

Les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) sont une composante essentielle de l'économie canadienne. Le gouvernement reconnaît qu'elles peuvent s'attendre à engager des coûts supplémentaires découlant de la tarification de la pollution par le carbone, et il est résolu à leur offrir du soutien supplémentaire pour les aider à agir pour le climat et à réduire leurs coûts énergétiques en demeurant compétitifs. On trouve des renseignements généraux sur ce soutien (qui précèdent l'assujettissement de l'Alberta au système fédéral) dans le document d'information du ministère des Finances intitulé Soutien aux petites et moyennes entreprises et dans le communiqué de presse d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada intitulé Le Canada aide les petites entreprises à investir dans de l'équipement et des améliorations écoénergétiques.

Produits et retours projetés pour l'Alberta

Le tableau ci-dessous présente les produits directs estimés de la redevance fédérale sur les combustibles pour les années financières 2019-2020 à 2022-2023 pour l'Alberta. Il présente aussi le montant des produits directs qui servira à soutenir les secteurs particulièrement touchés, y compris les PME, les municipalités, les universités, les collèges, les écoles et les hôpitaux, les organismes à but non lucratif et les communautés autochtones, ainsi qu'une estimation du total des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat versés aux particuliers et aux familles admissibles.

Comme le montre le tableau, les produits nets de la redevance sur les combustibles seront entièrement retournés à la province.

Produits et retours projetés pour l'Alberta, 2019-2020 à 2022-2023
Année de la redevance sur les combustibles 2019-2020 2020-2021 2021-2022 2022-2023
Prix de la pollution par le carbone ($/t) 20  30  40  50 
Produits nets issus de la redevance sur les combustibles (M$)  230  1 365  1 805  2 240
Moins : Retour des produits (M$)
Total projeté des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat (pour l'année)  205  1 220  1 610  1 995
Mesures de soutien pour les PME  15  100  130  165
Mesures de soutien pour les municipalités, les universités, les écoles, les collèges, les hôpitaux, les organismes à but non lucratif et les communautés autochtones  10  50  65  80
Somme retournée des produits nets issus de la redevance sur les combustibles  230  1 365  1 805  2 240
Produits issus de la redevance sur les combustibles projetés moins la somme retournée des produits 0 0 0 0
Nota – Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, leur somme peut ne pas correspondre aux montants indiqués, et les montants indiqués dans le tableau peuvent ne pas correspondre à ceux du texte du document d'information.
Les chiffres supérieurs à 5 millions de dollars sont arrondis au multiple de 5 millions le plus proche. Ce tableau ne prend pas en compte les coûts liés à l'administration de la redevance sur les combustibles en Alberta ni ceux liés au versement des paiements de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat et des allègements à certains secteurs, qui seront assumés par le gouvernement du Canada. Les estimations sont présentées à titre d'exemples seulement et sont susceptibles d'être ajustées au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements seront disponibles.

Transparence et rapports annuels

Comme il l'a annoncé en octobre 2018, le gouvernement du Canada présentera des mises à jour annuelles sur les produits directs et les versements issus du système de tarification de la pollution par le carbone pour chaque province et chaque territoire où il s'appliquera.

Tout écart entre les produits provenant d'une administration donnée et le montant des produits retourné dans cette même administration sera rectifié en ajustant les montants retournés par la suite. Ce processus permettra de garantir que tous les produits directs seront retournés à l'administration d'origine au fil du temps.

Taux de la redevance sur les combustibles pour l'Alberta

Le tableau suivant montre les taux de la redevance sur les combustibles qui s'appliqueront en Alberta. La redevance entrera en vigueur en janvier 2020, et les augmentations futures auront lieu en avril de l'année indiquée dans le tableau.

Taux de la redevance sur les combustibles pour l'Alberta
Type Par unité ($) Janvier 2020 (20 $/t) Avril 2020 (30 $/t) Avril 2021 (40 $/t) Avril 2022 (50 $/t)
Essence d'aviation Litre 0,0498 0,0747 0,0995 0,1244
Carburéacteur Litre 0,0516 0,0775 0,1033 0,1291
Butane Litre 0,0356 0,0534 0,0712 0,0890
Éthane Litre 0,0204 0,0306 0,0408 0,0509
Liquides de gaz Litre 0,0333 0,0499 0,0666 0,0832
Essence Litre 0,0442 0,0663 0,0884 0,1105
Mazout lourd Litre 0,0637 0,0956 0,1275 0,1593
Kérosène Litre 0,0516 0,0775 0,1033 0,1291
Mazout léger Litre 0,0537 0,0805 0,1073 0,1341
Méthanol Litre 0,0220 0,0329 0,0439 0,0549
Naphta Litre 0,0451 0,0676 0,0902 0,1127
Coke de pétrole Litre 0,0767 0,1151 0,1535 0,1919
Pentanes plus Litre 0,0356 0,0534 0,0712 0,0890
Propane Litre 0,0310 0,0464 0,0619 0,0774
Gaz de four à coke Mètre cube 0,0140 0,0210 0,0280 0,0350
Gaz naturel commercialisable Mètre cube 0,0391 0,0587 0,0783 0,0979
Gaz naturel non commercialisable Mètre cube 0,0517 0,0776 0,1034 0,1293
Gaz de distillation Mètre cube 0,0540 0,0810 0,1080 0,1350
Coke Tonne 63,59 95,39 127,19 158,99
Charbon à pouvoir calorifique supérieur Tonne 45,03 67,55 90,07 112,58
Charbon à pouvoir calorifique inférieur Tonne 35,45 53,17 70,90 88,62
Déchet combustible Tonne 39,95 59,92 79,89 99,87

[1] Les chiffres ayant été arrondis, le total des montants du soutien aux PME, municipalités, universités, écoles, collèges, hôpitaux, organismes à but non lucratif et communautés autochtones indiqué dans le tableau « Produits et retours projetés pour l'Alberta, 2019-2020 à 2022-2023 » ne correspond pas au total prévu de 610 millions de dollars.

[2] Les contribuables indiqueront dans leur déclaration de revenus s'ils résident dans une région rurale ou une petite communauté. L'Alberta a trois régions métropolitaines de recensement : Calgary, Edmonton et Lethbridge.