Minister Morneau Announces Appointment to the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Board of Directors

May 23, 2019 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Canadians work hard to save money for the future—to buy a home, to pay for their children's education, to enjoy a family vacation, or have enough set aside for a secure retirement.

These savings are often securely kept in deposits at banks and other financial institutions across Canada. The Government is committed to protecting these savings through the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC), and to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve its mandate.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of J. Martin Castonguay to the Board of Directors of CDIC, for a term of four years. Biographical information can be found below.

This appointment was made under the Government of Canada's new approach to Governor in Council appointments. This approach supports open, transparent and merit-based selection processes that strive for gender parity and reflect Canada's diversity, to support Ministers in making appointment recommendations for positions within their portfolio by providing them with information and referrals.

Quote

"I wish to congratulate Mr. Castonguay on his appointment to the Board of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation. His extensive experience working with deposit-taking institutions and the financial sector in general will bring a valuable perspective to CDIC's Board as it supports CDIC in its role of insuring the savings of hard-working Canadians."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, a federal Crown corporation, contributes to the stability of the Canadian financial system by providing deposit insurance against the loss of eligible deposits at member institutions.
  • The CDIC Board of Directors includes a Chairperson, five private sector directors who bring practical experience from the business world, and five public sector directors who provide knowledge of the financial, supervisory and regulatory environment in which CDIC operates.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Director of Media Relations
Office of the Minister of Finance
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Biographical Notes

J. Martin Castonguay

J. Martin Castonguay is a Chartered Professional Accountant and auditor with over 40 years of experience serving public companies, primarily in the financial services industry, including mostly deposit-taking institutions such as banks. Other companies with which Mr. Castonguay worked included securities dealers, asset managers and clients in the telecommunications, engineering and construction sectors.

Most recently Mr. Castonguay was an Audit and Advisory Partner with Deloitte Canada, having held various management positions with the firm during his career, and serving as lead client service partner to some of the largest public companies in Canada. He has also been a member of various advisory committees to industry regulators and professional institutes.

Mr. Castonguay holds a Bachelor of Science from Loyola College, a Bachelor of Commerce from Concordia University, and a Graduate Diploma in Public Accountancy from McGill University. He is also a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors and holds the ICD.D designation.

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce une nomination au conseil d'administration de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada

Le 23 mai 2019 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Les Canadiens travaillent fort pour épargner de l'argent en prévision de l'avenir, qu'il s'agisse d'acheter un logement, de payer les études de leurs enfants, de profiter de vacances en famille, ou d'avoir suffisamment d'argent de côté pour une retraite sûre.

Cette épargne est souvent conservée de manière sécuritaire sous forme de dépôts auprès de banques ou d'autres institutions financières situés partout au Canada. Le gouvernement est résolu à protéger cette épargne par l'entremise de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC) et à nommer des candidats hautement qualifiés qui peuvent remplir au mieux le mandat de cette dernière.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de M. J. Martin Castonguay au conseil d'administration de la SADC pour un mandat de quatre ans. Une notice biographique se trouve ci-dessous.

Cette nomination s'inscrit dans la nouvelle approche du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Cette approche fait appel à un processus de sélection ouvert et transparent fondé sur le mérite qui vise à assurer la parité hommes-femmes et à refléter la diversité du Canada, afin d'aider les ministres à faire des recommandations concernant les nominations à des postes au sein de leur portefeuille, en leur fournissant de l'information et de l'orientation.

Citation

« Je souhaite féliciter M. Castonguay pour sa nomination au conseil d'administration de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada. Son expérience approfondie de travail avec des institutions de dépôts, et avec le secteur financier en général, apportera des perspectives précieuses au conseil d'administration pour appuyer la SADC dans son rôle consistant à assurer les économies des Canadiens qui travaillent fort. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada, une société d'État fédérale, contribue à la stabilité du système financier canadien en fournissant de l'assurance contre la perte des sommes admissibles déposées auprès des institutions membres.
  • Le conseil d'administration de la SADC compte un président, cinq administrateurs du secteur privé possédant une expérience pratique du monde des affaires, et cinq administrateurs du secteur public qui apportent des connaissances de l'environnement financier, de surveillance et de réglementation dans lequel évolue la SADC.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Directeur des relations avec les médias
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Notice biographique

J. Martin Castonguay

J. Martin Castonguay est un comptable professionnel agréé et un auditeur possédant plus de 40 années d'expérience au service d'entreprises publiques, principalement dans le secteur des services financiers, et en particulier des institutions de dépôts comme des banques. Parmi les autres entreprises avec lesquelles M. Castonguay a travaillé figurent des courtiers en valeurs mobilières, des gestionnaires d'actifs et des clients des secteurs des télécommunications, de l'ingénierie et de la construction.

Récemment, M. Castonguay a été un associé du groupe Audit et Services-conseils de Deloitte Canada. Il a occupé divers postes de gestion au sein de ce cabinet pendant sa carrière, et il a servi à titre d'associé leader du service à la clientèle pour certaines des plus grandes sociétés publiques du Canada. Il a aussi siégé à différents comités consultatifs d'organismes de réglementation de l'industrie et d'instituts professionnels.

M. Castonguay est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences du Collège Loyola, d'un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université Concordia, et d'un diplôme d'études supérieures en comptabilité publique de l'Université McGill. Il est aussi membre de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés, dont il détient le titre IAS.A.

Restez branchés