Department of Finance Canada Releases Annual Report on Federal Tax Expenditures

April 11, 2019 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is building an economy that works for everyone—where people, businesses and communities have a real and fair shot at success. The foundation of that economy is a modern, simple and efficient tax system where everyone pays their fair share.

Today the Department of Finance Canada released the 2019 Report on Federal Tax Expenditures—Concepts, Estimates and Evaluations. This report, shared under the Government's commitment to openness and transparency, provides estimates of the fiscal cost of federal tax measures designed to keep the federal tax system functioning properly and support Canadian families and businesses.

This year's report also includes two analytical papers. The first paper is an evaluation of the moving expense deduction, which recognizes the expenses involved in moving to a new job. The second paper responds to the requirements of the Canadian Gender Budgeting Act of 2018 by presenting a Gender-based Analysis Plus of the federal personal income tax system, focusing on the impacts of tax expenditures among various groups of men and women.

The release of today's report coincides with the tabling of the Main Estimates in the House of Commons by the President of the Treasury Board.

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada first reported on federal tax expenditures in 1979. It has published estimates of tax expenditures for personal and corporate income taxes, as well as for the Goods and Services Tax, since 1994.
  • The Report on Federal Tax Expenditures—Concepts, Estimates and Evaluations is a key component of the Government's reporting on the federal tax system, contributing to public dialogue on federal tax policies.
  • Tax expenditure reporting is considered an international best practice to foster government budgetary and fiscal transparency.
  • Studies published by international organizations—including the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and the International Monetary Fund—have recognized the quality of Canada's reporting on federal tax expenditures, noting the broad range of measures tracked and details provided.

Related Product

Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Director of Media Relations
Office of the Minister of Finance
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances du Canada publie le rapport annuel sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales

Le 11 avril 2019 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada bâtit une économie qui fonctionne pour tout le monde. Une économie où les gens, les entreprises et les communautés ont des chances réelles et égales de réussir. Cette économie repose sur un régime fiscal moderne, simple et efficient où chacun paie sa juste part.

Le ministère des Finances a publié aujourd'hui l'édition de 2019 du Rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales – Concepts, estimations et évaluations. Ce rapport, qui est communiqué en vertu de l'engagement du gouvernement en matière d'ouverture et de transparence, présente des estimations du coût financier des mesures fiscales fédérales visant à assurer le bon fonctionnement du régime fiscal fédéral et à appuyer les familles et les entreprises canadiennes.

Le rapport de cette année comprend aussi deux documents d'analyse. Le premier document est une évaluation de la déduction pour frais de déménagement, laquelle reconnaît les dépenses que l'on engage afin de déménager plus près d'un nouveau lieu de travail. Le deuxième document donne suite aux exigences de la Loi canadienne sur la budgétisation sensible aux sexes de 2018 en présentant une analyse comparative entre les sexes plus du régime fédéral d'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers qui est axée sur les effets des dépenses fiscales chez différents groupes d'homme et de femmes. 

La publication du rapport d'aujourd'hui coïncide avec le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses par le président du Conseil du Trésor à la Chambre des communes.

Les faits en bref

  • Le gouvernement du Canada a rendu compte des dépenses fiscales fédérales pour la première fois en 1979. Depuis 1994, il publie des estimations des dépenses fiscales liées à l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, à l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et à la taxe sur les produits et services.
  • Le Rapport sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales – Concepts, estimations et évaluations est une importante composante des rapports du gouvernement en matière de régime fiscal fédéral. En tant que tel, il contribue aux discussions publiques à ce sujet.
  • La présentation de rapports sur les dépenses fiscales est considérée à l'échelle internationale comme une pratique exemplaire qui vise à favoriser la transparence budgétaire et financière des gouvernements.
  • Des études publiées par des organismes internationaux, comme l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et le Fonds monétaire international, ont reconnu la qualité des rapports du Canada sur les dépenses fiscales fédérales, notamment le large éventail de mesures faisant l'objet de suivi et les détails fournis.

Produit connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Directeur des relations avec les médias
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés