Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to Canadian International Trade Tribunal

February 8, 2019 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced two appointments to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT): Rose Ritcey as Vice-Chair and Susan Beaubien as a Permanent Member. The appointments are for five-year terms.

Ms. Ritcey is currently a Member of the CITT, where she hears and decides matters within its mandate, participates in its governance structure and Advisory Council, and represents the CITT in various national and international fora. She has held a variety of positions at CITT from 1989 to 1996 and again since 2003.

Ms. Beaubien is a lawyer with extensive practice in intellectual property, related civil litigation, regulatory law, administrative law and alternative dispute resolution, including active intellectual property litigation practice and experience providing advice and identifying issues concerning privacy law, corporate and commercial law, human rights and employment law.

These appointments were made under the Government of Canada's new approach to Governor in Council appointments. This approach supports open, transparent and merit-based selection processes that strive for gender parity and reflect Canada's diversity, to support Ministers in making appointment recommendations for positions within their portfolio by providing them with information and referrals.

Quote

"The Canadian International Trade Tribunal is recognized in Canada and around the world as a centre of excellence in the fair and timely adjudication of trade law matters. I wish to congratulate today's appointees and expect that their significant experience will be an asset to the Tribunal. Furthermore, the appointment of Ms. Ritcey to the newly created Vice-Chair position will further strengthen the Tribunal's ability to deliver on its mandate."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The CITT is an independent quasi-judicial adjudicative body reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.
  • It conducts injury inquiries into dumping and subsidy complaints; hears appeals of decisions of the Canada Border Services Agency and the Canada Revenue Agency; inquires into complaints by potential suppliers concerning procurement by the federal government covered under various trade agreements; conducts safeguard inquiries; and provides advice to the Government and/or to the Minister of Finance on economic, trade and tariff issues.
  • In light of the essential function that the CITT performs in Canada's trade remedy system and to ensure that it continues to effectively deliver on its mandate, the Government amended the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act through Budget 2018 to create the position of Vice-Chair.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Acting Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Rose Ann Ritcey has 35 years of public sector experience, largely in the field of trade analysis and policy. She has been with the CITT from 1989 to 1996 and again since 2003 in a variety of roles, most recently as a Member, since 2015. Ms. Ritcey's previous roles at the CITT include Special Advisor to the Chairperson, and formerly Director and Director General in the Research Branch. From 1998 to 2002 Ms. Ritcey served in the Domestic Tariff Affairs unit of the International Trade and Finance Branch at the Department of Finance Canada.

Ms. Ritcey holds a Bachelor of Commerce from Carleton University and an MBA from Dalhousie University.

Susan Beaubien is a lawyer with more than 30 years of experience in intellectual property litigation, administrative law and federal regulatory law, particularly for the pharmaceutical industry. She is a registered patent and trademark agent, a trained mediator and arbitrator, and an experienced corporate director of non-profit entities. She is also a member of numerous professional organizations, and has taught and given speeches and presentations on a wide range of topics pertaining to intellectual property law over the course of her career.

Ms. Beaubien has been with the law firm Macera & Jarzyna LLP since 2005. In February 2018, she was appointed by the Government of Canada as a Roster Member for dispute resolution binational panels convened under Chapter 19 of the North American Free Trade Agreement.

Ms. Beaubien holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from Mount Allison University and a Bachelor of Laws from Queen's University.

Le ministre Morneau annonce des nominations au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur

Le 8 février 2019 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à nommer des candidates et des candidats hautement qualifiés pouvant servir au mieux les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination au Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur (TCCE) de deux membres, soit Mme Rose Ritcey à titre de vice-présidente et Mme Susan Beaubien à titre de membre permanente. Leur nomination est assortie d'un mandat de cinq ans.

Mme Ritcey est actuellement membre du TCCE, où elle entend et tranche des questions relevant de son mandat, participe à sa structure de gouvernance et à son conseil consultatif, et représente le Tribunal à divers forums nationaux et internationaux. Elle a occupé de nombreux postes au TCCE de 1989 à 1996 et de nouveau depuis 2003.

Mme Beaubien est une avocate possédant une vaste expérience dans les domaines de la propriété intellectuelle et des contentieux civils connexes, du droit de nature réglementaire, du droit administratif et des modes alternatifs de résolution des différends, ce qui comprend la pratique active en matière de litiges concernant la propriété intellectuelle ainsi que de prestation de conseils et de détermination des enjeux liés au droit relatif à la vie privée, de droit commercial et des sociétés, de droits de la personne et de droit du travail.

Ces nominations s'inscrivent dans la nouvelle approche du gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Cette approche fait appel à un processus de sélection ouvert et transparent fondé sur le mérite qui vise à assurer la parité hommes-femmes et à refléter la diversité du Canada, afin d'aider les ministres à faire des recommandations concernant les nominations à des postes au sein de leur portefeuille, en leur fournissant de l'information et de l'orientation.

Citation

« Le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur est reconnu aussi bien à l'échelle nationale que partout dans le monde comme un centre d'excellence en ce qui concerne les jugements justes et efficaces en matière de droit commercial. Je tiens à féliciter les personnes nommées aujourd'hui, et je m'attends à ce que leur grande expérience soit un atout pour le Tribunal. De plus, la nomination de Mme Ritcey au nouveau poste de vice-présidente renforcera davantage la capacité du TCCE de s'acquitter de son mandat. »

– Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • Le TCCE est un organisme décisionnel quasi judiciaire et indépendant qui est responsable devant le Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances.
  • Le Tribunal mène des enquêtes sur les plaintes de dommages causés par le dumping ou le subventionnement, entend les appels des décisions de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et de l'Agence du revenu du Canada, enquête sur les plaintes déposées par des fournisseurs potentiels concernant les marchés publics fédéraux visés par différents accords commerciaux, mène des enquêtes sur les mesures de sauvegarde, et formule des avis à l'intention du gouvernement ou du ministre des Finances, ou des deux, sur des questions économiques, commerciales et tarifaires.
  • À la lumière de la fonction essentielle qu'exerce le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans le cadre du système de recours commerciaux du Canada et pour s'assurer que ce Tribunal continue de s'acquitter efficacement de son mandat, le gouvernement a modifié la Loi sur le Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur dans le cadre du budget de 2018 afin de créer le poste de vice-président.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Directeur des communications par intérim
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés


Notices biographiques

Rose Ann Ritcey possède 35 années d'expérience dans le secteur public, principalement dans le domaine de l'analyse et de la politique commerciales. Elle a travaillé pour le TCCE de 1989 à 1996, puis à nouveau depuis 2003, dans divers rôles, dont celui de membre depuis 2015. Ses fonctions antérieures au TCCE comprennent celles de conseillère spéciale auprès du président de même que celles de directrice et de directrice générale à la Direction de la recherche. De 1998 à 2002, Mme Ritcey a travaillé au sein de l'unité des questions tarifaires nationales de la Direction des finances et des échanges internationaux du ministère des Finances du Canada.

Mme Ritcey est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université Carleton et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université Dalhousie.

L'avocate Susan Beaubien possède plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans les domaines des litiges en matière de propriété intellectuelle, du droit administratif et du droit réglementaire fédéral, en particulier pour le secteur pharmaceutique. Elle est agente de marques de commerce et agente de brevets inscrite et médiatrice et arbitre de formation, en plus d'avoir servi à titre d'administratrice d'entités à but non lucratif. Elle est également membre de nombreuses organisations professionnelles, a œuvré à titre d'enseignante, a prononcé des discours et a fait des exposés sur une vaste gamme de sujets liés au droit de la propriété intellectuelle au cours de sa carrière.

Mme Beaubien fait partie du cabinet d'avocats Macera & Jarzyna LLP depuis 2005. En février 2018, le gouvernement du Canada l'a nommée membre habilitée à siéger aux groupes spéciaux binationaux des comités de règlement des différends constitués en vertu du chapitre 19 de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain.

Mme Beaubien est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences spécialisé de l'Université Mount Allison et d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Queen's.