Backgrounder: Continued Progress for the Middle Class

The Fall Economic Statement 2018 is a plan to invest in the economy, strengthen and grow the middle class, and offer real help to people working hard to join it. The Government is delivering on its commitments to Canadians—investing in a fiscally responsible way that will keep the economy strong and growing today, and for the long term.

Results for Canadians

The Government has made a commitment to deliver real results for Canadians. Of the 289 commitments made in Ministers' mandate letters in November 2015, 97 have been successfully completed, and 189 have had actions taken and progress made.

Figure 1
Mandate Letter Commitments (November 2015)
Figure 1 Mandate Letter Commitments (November 2015) - For details, see the previous paragraphs.

The Government's plan is helping people and communities across the country, especially hard-working middle class families.

Real progress has been made, including:

  • Supporting children and families by lowering taxes and introducing the Canada Child Benefit. By this time next year, a typical middle class family of four will have about $2,000 more each year to help with the high cost of raising their children, and saving for their future.
  • Helping Canadians secure a safe and affordable home with the first-ever Canadian National Housing Strategy. This $40 billion, 10-year plan helps ensure that Canadians have access to affordable housing that meets their needs.
  • Building strong and resilient communities through the more than 30,000 infrastructure projects approved since 2016 under the Investing in Canada plan. The vast majority are underway and creating good, middle class jobs.
  • Giving more Canadians a secure and dignified retirement by increasing the Guaranteed Income Supplement top-up for low-income single seniors, restoring the eligibility age for Old Age Security and Guaranteed Income Supplement benefits to 65, and enhancing the Canada Pension Plan to improve the quality of life for seniors now and for generations to come. 

The full and equal participation of women in the economy is important for economic growth and a strong middle class. However, a persistent wage gap between the average earnings of Canadian women and men is a stark reminder that there is more work to do. The Government's actions to address the gender wage gap and achieve pay equity in Canada include: 

  • Introducing proactive pay equity legislation for federally regulated workers to promote equal pay for work of equal value.
  • Creating the Employment Insurance Parental Sharing Benefit to support greater gender equality at home and in the workplace.
  • Introducing a new Women Entrepreneurship Strategy to help women entrepreneurs grow their businesses with greater access to capital, training, networking and expertise.
  • Increasing women's representation in male-dominated trades through the Apprenticeship Incentive Grant for Women and the Pre-Apprenticeship Program.
  • Promoting equal access to training and jobs for Indigenous women through the Indigenous Skills and Employment Training Program.
  • Investing to help visible minority newcomer women in Canada enter and stay in the workforce.

New Measures for Continued Progress

While much progress has been made, more work remains to be done. With the Fall Economic Statement 2018, the Government is highlighting new measures to promote equal and full participation by all Canadians in our economy and society.

Proactive Pay Equity for Federally Regulated Workers

As part of the multi-pronged strategy to address the gender wage gap and achieve gender equality, the Government recently introduced proactive pay equity legislation for federally regulated workers.

Gender Wage Gap

For every dollar of hourly wages earned by a man working full time, a woman working full time earns on average about 88 cents. This gap places Canada in the middle of the pack compared to other developed economies.

On October 29, the Government introduced proactive pay equity legislation to address the gender wage gap. This legislation would apply to approximately 1.2 million employees in federally regulated workplaces, and is designed to ensure that women and men working in the federally regulated sector receive equal pay for work of equal value.

Highlights of the new legislation include:

  • Establishment of a Pay Equity Commissioner within the Canadian Human Rights Commission to ensure that pay equity requirements are enforced.
  • Requirements for employers to establish and regularly update a pay equity plan.
  • Requirements that unionized and larger non-unionized employers set up a pay equity committee to develop and update the plan.
  • Introduction of a monetary penalty system to ensure that pay equity plans are made, updated and followed.

To support the implementation of this new legislation, the Government proposes to provide the Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour; the Minister of Justice; and the Treasury Board Secretariat with funding needed to implement, administer, and adjudicate the new proactive pay equity regime. 

The Social Finance Fund

To encourage innovative approaches to persistent and complex social challenges, the Government is creating a Social Finance Fund. This will give charitable, non-profit and social purpose organizations access to new financing to implement their innovative ideas, and will connect them with non-government investors seeking to support projects that will drive positive social change.

To help accelerate that change, the Government proposes to make available up to $755 million on a cash basis over the next 10 years for a new Social Finance Fund and an additional $50 million over two years for social purpose organizations to improve their ability to successfully participate in the social finance market.

The proposed Social Finance Fund could generate up to $2 billion in economic activity, and help create as many as 100,000 jobs over the next decade. In addition to these measures, the Government will continue to work on exploring other recommendations from the Steering Group's report.

Support for Canadian Journalism

A strong and independent news media is crucial to a well-functioning democracy. It empowers citizens by providing them with the information they need to make sound decisions on important issues.

In order to ensure Canadians' continued access to informed and reliable civic journalism, the Government is announcing its intention to propose three new initiatives: allowing non-profit news organizations to receive charitable donations and issue official donation receipts; introducing a refundable tax credit to support original news content, including local news; and introducing a new temporary non-refundable tax credit to support subscriptions to Canadian digital news media.

The Fall Economic Statement also proposes to:

  • Establish a permanent advisory committee on the charitable sector to ensure that the regulatory environment in which charities operate is appropriate and that it encourages their full participation in public policy dialogue and development.
  • Make nutritious food more affordable in isolated northern communities, to ensure northern families have access to affordable, healthy and more culturally relevant foods.
  • Ensure prompt payment for government construction contractors working on federal projects on federal land.
  • Support the creation of a Francophone digital platform that will increase online French content, give higher profile to Canadian content, and enhance opportunities for Canadian artists and producers.
  • Sustain Canada's wild fish stocks to support rebuilding efforts for priority Pacific salmon stocks, as well as other priority fish stocks across Canada.
  • Expand on the success of the Atlantic Fisheries Fund with the creation of a Quebec Fisheries Fund and a British Columbia Salmon Restoration and Innovation Fund, which will generate good, middle class jobs in coastal communities.
  • Promote avalanche safety by supporting Avalanche Canada's efforts to expand the size and scope of its programs.

With the Fall Economic Statement 2018, the Government is doing more to strengthen the middle class and build an economy that works for everyone.

Document d'information : Progrès continus pour la classe moyenne

L'Énoncé économique de l'automne 2018 constitue un plan pour investir dans l'économie, renforcer la classe moyenne et assurer sa croissance, ainsi qu'apporter une aide concrète aux personnes qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie. Le gouvernement respecte ses engagements à l'égard des Canadiens– investir d'une façon responsable sur le plan financier, qui préservera la force et la croissance de l'économie aujourd'hui et à long terme.

Des résultats pour les Canadiens

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à produire des résultats concrets pour les Canadiens. Des 289 engagements pris dans les lettres de mandat des ministres en novembre 2015, 97 ont été mis en œuvre avec succès alors que des mesures ont été prises et des progrès réalisés pour 189 autres.

Figure 1
Engagements figurant dans les lettres de mandat (novembre 2015)
Figure 1 Figure 1 – Engagements figurant dans les lettres de mandat (novembre 2015) - Voir le paragraphe précédent pour plus de détails.

Le plan du gouvernement aide les gens et les collectivités de partout au pays, surtout les familles de la classe moyenne qui travaillent fort.

Des progrès concrets ont été accomplis, dont les suivants :

  • Appuyer les enfants et les familles en réduisant les impôts et en instaurant l'Allocation canadienne pour enfants. D'ici la même période l'année prochaine, une famille typique de quatre personnes de la classe moyenne disposera d'environ 2 000 $ de plus chaque année pour les aider à assumer les coûts associés à l'éducation de leurs enfants et à économiser en vue de l'avenir.
  • Aider les Canadiens à se trouver un logement sûr et abordable grâce à la toute première Stratégie nationale sur le logement. Ce plan décennal de 40 milliards de dollars aide à faire en sorte que les Canadiens aient accès à un logement abordable qui répond à leurs besoins.
  • Bâtir des communautés fortes et résilientes grâce aux quelque 30 000 projets d'infrastructure approuvés depuis 2016 en vertu du plan Investir dans le Canada. La grande majorité des projets sont en cours et créent de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne.
  • Assurer une retraite sûre et digne pour plus de Canadiens en augmentant la prestation complémentaire au Supplément de revenu garanti versée aux aînés à faible revenu vivant seuls, en rétablissant à 65 ans l'âge de l'admissibilité aux prestations de la Sécurité de la vieillesse et du Supplément de revenu garanti, ainsi qu'en bonifiant le Régime de pensions du Canada pour accroître la qualité de vie des aînés aujourd'hui et pour les générations à venir. 

La participation pleine et égale des femmes à l'économie est essentielle pour assurer la croissance économique et une classe moyenne forte. Toutefois, l'écart salarial qui persiste entre les revenus moyens des femmes et des hommes au Canada nous rappelle qu'il reste du travail à faire. Les mesures prises par le gouvernement pour combler l'écart salarial entre les sexes et atteindre l'équité salariale comprennent les suivantes :

  • Proposer une loi d'équité salariale proactive pour les travailleurs sous réglementation fédérale afin de promouvoir un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale.
  • Créer la prestation parentale partagée d'assurance-emploi pour appuyer une plus grande égalité des sexes au foyer et en milieu de travail.
  • Instaurer une nouvelle Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat pour aider les femmes entrepreneures à faire croître leur entreprise en leur donnant un meilleur accès aux capitaux, à la formation, au réseautage et à l'expertise.
  • Accroître la représentation des femmes dans les métiers à prédominance masculine, grâce à la Subvention incitative aux apprentis pour les femmes et au Programme de préparation à la formation d'apprenti.
  • Promouvoir un accès égal à la formation et aux emplois pour les femmes autochtones par l'intermédiaire du Programme de formation pour les compétences et l'emploi destiné aux Autochtones.
  • Investir pour aider les nouvelles arrivantes au Canada appartenant à une minorité visible à intégrer le marché du travail et à y demeurer.

Nouvelles mesures pour un progrès continu

Bien que des progrès considérables aient été réalisés, il faut en faire davantage. Par l'entremise de l'Énoncé économique de l'automne 2018, le gouvernement présente de nouvelles mesures visant à favoriser la participation pleine et égale de tous les Canadiens à l'économie et à la société.

Équité salariale proactive pour les travailleurs sous réglementation fédérale

Dans le cadre de la stratégie à plusieurs volets visant à combler l'écart salarial entre les sexes et à atteindre l'égalité entre les sexes, le gouvernement a récemment proposé une loi d'équité salariale proactive pour les travailleurs sous réglementation fédérale.

Écart salarial entre les sexes

Pour chaque dollar de salaire horaire gagné par un homme travaillant à temps plein, une femme travaillant à temps plein gagne environ 88 cents en moyenne. Cet écart place le Canada au milieu du peloton des économies avancées.

Le 29 octobre, le gouvernement a présenté une loi d'équité salariale proactive pour combler l'écart salarial entre les sexes. Cette loi, qui s'appliquera à environ 1,2 million d'employés en milieu de travail sous réglementation fédérale, est conçue pour faire en sorte que les femmes et les hommes travaillant dans le secteur sous réglementation fédéral reçoivent un salaire égal pour un travail de valeur égale.

Les faits saillants de la loi proposée comprennent les dispositions suivantes :

  • La création d'un poste de commissaire à l'égalité salariale au sein de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne, pour veiller à ce que les exigences en matière d'équité salariale soient mises en application.
  • Des exigences pour les employeurs d'établir un plan d'équité salariale et de le mettre à jour de façon régulière.
  • Des exigences, pour les employeurs dont l'effectif est syndiqué et pour les employeurs plus importants dont l'effectif n'est pas syndiqué, de mettre sur pied un comité d'équité salariale chargé d'élaborer et de mettre à jour le plan d'équité salariale.
  • L'instauration d'un système de sanctions administratives pécuniaires pour veiller à ce que des plans d'équité salariale soient élaborés, mis à jour et respectés.

Afin d'appuyer la mise en œuvre de ces nouvelles mesures législatives, le gouvernement propose de verser au ministre de l'Emploi, du Développement de la main-d'œuvre et du Travail, au ministre de la Justice ainsi qu'au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor le financement nécessaire pour décider du nouveau régime d'équité salariale proactive, le mettre en œuvre et l'administrer.

Le Fonds de finance sociale

Afin d'encourager des approches novatrices aux difficultés sociales persistantes et complexes, le gouvernement met sur pied un fonds de finance sociale. Ce fonds donnera aux œuvres de bienfaisance, aux organismes à but non lucratif et aux organisations à vocation sociale l'accès à un nouveau financement dans le but de mettre en œuvre leurs idées novatrices, et les mettra en relation avec des investisseurs non gouvernementaux qui cherchent à appuyer des projets favorisant des changements sociaux positifs.

Afin d'accélérer ce changement, le gouvernementpropose de verser dans un nouveau fonds de finance sociale jusqu'à 755 millions de dollars selon la comptabilité de caisse sur les 10 prochaines années, ainsi que 50 millions de plus sur deux ans afin que les organisations à vocation sociale puissent accroître leur capacité à participer au marché de la finance sociale avec succès.

Le fonds de finance sociale proposé pourrait générer jusqu'à 2 milliards de dollars en activités économiques et contribuer à créer pas moins de 100 000 emplois au cours des 10 prochaines années. En plus de ces mesures, le gouvernement continuera d'étudier les autres recommandations du rapport du Groupe directeur.

Soutien au journalisme canadien

Pour qu'une démocratie fonctionne bien, il est essentiel d'avoir des médias d'information forts et indépendants. Ces médias donnent des moyens d'agir aux citoyens en leur présentant l'information dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions éclairées sur des questions importantes.

Pour veiller à ce que les Canadiens continuent d'avoir accès à un journalisme citoyen informé et fiable, le gouvernement annonce son intention de proposer trois nouvelles initiatives : permettre à des organisations d'information à but non lucratif de recevoir des dons de bienfaisance et de délivrer des reçus officiels de dons; instaurer un crédit d'impôt remboursable pour appuyer la création de contenu d'information original, y compris les bulletins d'information locaux; et instaurer un nouveau crédit d'impôt temporaire non remboursable pour encourager les abonnements aux médias d'information numériques canadiens.

L'Énoncé économique de l'automne propose aussi les mesures suivantes :

  • Mettre sur pied un comité consultatif permanent sur le secteur des organismes de bienfaisance, pour veiller à ce que l'environnement réglementaire dans lequel œuvrent les organismes de bienfaisance soit adéquat et qu'il encourage leur pleine participation au dialogue et à l'élaboration de politiques publiques.
  • Rendre les aliments nutritifs plus abordables dans les communautés nordiques isolées pour veiller à ce que les familles du Nord aient accès à des aliments abordables, sains et plus pertinents sur le plan culturel.
  • Veiller au paiement rapide des entrepreneurs en construction du gouvernement qui participent à des projets fédéraux sur des terrains fédéraux.
  • Appuyer la création d'une plateforme numérique francophone qui augmentera la présence en ligne du contenu en français, accroîtra la visibilité du contenu canadien et donnera de meilleures possibilités de diffusion pour les artistes et les producteurs canadiens.
  • Assurer la durabilité des stocks de poissons sauvages du Canada pour appuyer les efforts de rétablissement des stocks prioritaires de saumon du Pacifique ainsi que d'autres stocks prioritaires de poisson dans l'ensemble du Canada.
  • Miser sur le succès du Fonds des pêches de l'Atlantique, par la création d'un fonds pour les pêches du Québec et d'un fonds d'innovation et de rétablissement du saumon en Colombie-Britannique, qui créeront de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne dans les collectivités côtières.
  • Promouvoir la sécurité en matière d'avalanches en appuyant les efforts déployés par Avalanche Canada pour accroître la taille et la portée de ses programmes.

Grâce à l'Énoncé économique de l'automne 2018, le gouvernement en fait davantage pour renforcer la classe moyenne et bâtir une économie qui fonctionne pour tous.