Backgrounder: Targeted Relief for Farmers and Fishers, and Residents of Rural and Remote Communities

Background

The Government of Canada has a plan to build a cleaner environment and a stronger economy for today and tomorrow. A key part of this plan, the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act (GGPPA), which was enacted on June 21, 2018, establishes a federal Canada-wide standard for reducing carbon pollution. The federal standard gives provinces and territories the flexibility to choose a system that meets this standard and works best for them.

Provinces or territories that meet this standard with their own carbon pollution pricing systems will continue to reduce carbon pollution using their own systems.

For all other provinces and territories, beginning in 2019, the federal "backstop" carbon pollution pricing system will apply to ensure that all jurisdictions in Canada meet the federal standard.

The federal carbon pollution pricing backstop system is composed of two components:

  • A charge on fossil fuels ("fuel charge"), which will be administered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) starting in April 2019; and
  • An output-based pricing system (OBPS), which will be administered by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) starting in January 2019.

The purpose of the GGPPA is to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by ensuring that carbon pollution pricing applies broadly throughout Canada.

At the same time, the Government recognizes that particular groups or sectors require targeted relief from the fuel charge – in particular because of the small number of alternative options they may have in the face of carbon pollution pricing.

Relief for Farmers

The GGPPA will provide farmers with relief from the fuel charge for fuels used in tractors, trucks and other farm machinery. The relief is provided upfront through the use of exemption certificates, when certain conditions are met. Specifically, the GGPPA provides that a registered distributor can generally deliver, without the fuel charge applying, gasoline or light fuel oil (e.g., diesel) to a farmer at a farm, if the fuel is for use exclusively in the operation of eligible farming machinery and all or substantially all of the fuel is for use in the course of eligible farming activities. Farmers do not need to be registered for the purposes of this relief.

Under the GGPPA, eligible farming machinery means property that is primarily used for the purposes of farming and that is a farm truck or tractor, a vehicle not licensed to be operated on a public road, or an industrial machine or stationary or portable engine.

The GGPPA also includes diversion rules to ensure that the fuel charge applies if gasoline or light fuel oil is used in a manner contrary to the intended relief.

Relief for Fishers

The GGPPA also provides relief of the fuel charge for gasoline and light fuel oil (e.g., diesel) that is generally delivered to a fisher, if the fuel is for use exclusively in an eligible fishing vessel and all or substantially all of the fuel is for use in the course of eligible fishing activities. The relief is provided upfront through the use of exemption certificates, when certain conditions are met, one of them being that the province or territory subject to the fuel charge (i.e., "listed") be prescribed for the purposed of the relief. Fishers do not need to be registered for the purposes of this relief.

The GGPPA also includes diversion rules to ensure that the fuel charge applies if gasoline or light fuel oil is used in a manner contrary to the intended relief.

There are currently no listed provinces that are prescribed. It is proposed that all listed provinces and territories for the purpose of the fuel charge be prescribed for the purpose of the relief.

It is proposed that this relief apply as of April 2019, for the purpose of the fuel charge.

Providing Additional, Targeted Relief Under the GGPPA

In addition to the relief from the fuel charge that is already provided under the GGPPA, the Government is proposing that additional, targeted relief be provided to certain groups or sectors, including:

  • Residents of rural and small communities;
  • Users of aviation fuels in the territories;
  • Greenhouse operators;
  • Power plants that generate electricity for remote communities; and
  • Indigenous Peoples.

The following sections provide further details on proposed relief measures.

Supplement for Residents of Rural and Small Communities

For provinces that have not taken adequate action to meet the federal standard for pricing carbon pollution — Ontario, New Brunswick, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan – the Government proposes to provide a supplementary amount to the baseline Climate Action Incentive payments for residents of rural and small communities, in recognition of their increased energy needs and reduced access to alternative transportation options. This supplement would increase the amount that people living in these provinces would receive by 10 per cent. For more information, see the accompanying backgrounders regarding return of direct proceeds to the respective provinces.

Users of Aviation Fuels in the Territories

Generally, the fuel charge under the GGPPA applies to aviation gasoline and aviation turbo fuel that is used in intra-jurisdictional flights (i.e., between two points in the same province or territory), but not in inter-jurisdictional flights (e.g., between two different Canadian provinces or territories, or international flights).

As part of the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change, the federal government committed to work with the territories to address their unique circumstances, including the high cost of living, challenges with food security and emerging territorial economies.

Consequently, the federal government is proposing to apply the fuel charge at a rate of $0 per litre to aviation gasoline and aviation turbo fuel for listed territories (Yukon and Nunavut), as noted in the backgrounder entitled Fuel Charge Rates in Listed Provinces and Territories. This will also be in keeping with the treatment of aviation fuels under the proposed carbon pollution pricing system of the Northwest Territories. This ensures that, while carbon pollution pricing applies broadly in Canada, it also reflects the high-reliance on air transportation in the territories.

Air carriers in the listed territories will continue to be subject to the GGPPA (e.g., reporting and filing requirements), as required, but ultimately the fuel charge will not be paid on any flights in the territories.

The proposed rate of $0 per litre will be effective as of July 2019 (the implementation date of the fuel charge in the listed territories) and will apply for all years.

Greenhouse Operators

Partial relief of the fuel charge (i.e., 80 per cent) is proposed to apply to natural gas and propane that is exclusively for use in the operation of a commercial greenhouse for growing any plants, including vegetables, fruits, bedding plants, cut flowers, ornamental plants, tree seedlings and medicinal plants. It is also proposed that, in order for relief to be available, all or substantially all of the greenhouse building must be used for the growing of plants.

The relief is proposed to be provided upfront through the use of exemption certificates, similar to other exemption certificates under the GGPPA, such that only 20 per cent of the fuel charge applies to natural gas and propane that is delivered by a registered distributor to an eligible greenhouse operator if the fuel is exclusively for use in the heating of, or for the production of carbon dioxide for use in the operation of, a commercial greenhouse.

  • An eligible greenhouse operator is proposed to be a person that carries on a greenhouse operation with a reasonable expectation of profit.

It is also proposed that diversion rules be included, in line with existing provisions of the GGPPA, to ensure that the fuel charge applies if natural gas or propane is used in a manner contrary to the intended relief.

This relief is proposed to generally apply as of April 2019 in all listed provinces and as of July 2019 in all listed territories, for the purpose of the fuel charge.

Power Plant Operators that Generate Electricity for Remote Communities

Full relief of the fuel charge is proposed to apply to light fuel oil (e.g., diesel) that is used exclusively to generate electricity for remote communities.

The relief is proposed to be provided upfront through the use of exemption certificates, similar to other exemption certificates under the GGPPA, such that the fuel charge does not apply to light fuel oil that is delivered by a registered distributor to a person that operates a remote power plant if that fuel is exclusively for use in the generation of electricity for distribution to the general public in remote communities.

  • A remote community will be defined to mean a geographic area that is neither serviced by an electrical distribution network that is under the jurisdiction of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation nor a natural gas distribution system.

It is also proposed that diversion rules be included, in line with existing provisions of the GGPPA, to ensure that the fuel charge applies if light fuel oil is used in a manner contrary to the intended relief.

This relief is proposed to generally apply as of April 2019 in all listed provinces and as of July 2019 in all listed territories, for the purpose of the fuel charge.

Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous peoples could benefit from a number of the proposed relief measures announced by the Government – the supplement for residents of rural and small communities, the fuel charge relief for aviation fuels in the territories, the fuel charge relief for diesel-fired generation of electricity for remote communities, the fuel charge relief for greenhouse operators, and other targeted support for affected sectors. More information is found in the backgrounder entitled Climate Action and Indigenous Peoples.

Have Your Say

Canadians are invited to provide comments on the proposed relief for greenhouse operators and power plant operators that generate electricity for remote communities.

Please send your comments to fin.tarification-pollution-pricing.fin@canada.ca by November 23, 2018. Written correspondence related to these consultations can also be mailed to:

Carbon Pollution Pricing
Department of Finance Canada
90 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G5

Document d'information : Allègements ciblés pour les agriculteurs, les pêcheurs et les résidents de communautés rurales et éloignées

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada a un plan pour bâtir un environnement plus propre et une économie plus forte pour aujourd'hui et pour l'avenir. Un élément clé de ce plan, la Loi sur la tarification de la pollution causée par les gaz à effet de serre (la Loi), qui a été promulguée le 21 juin 2018, établit une norme fédérale pancanadienne pour réduire la pollution par le carbone. La norme fédérale accorde aux provinces et aux territoires la souplesse nécessaire pour choisir un système qui à la fois satisfait à cette norme et répond le mieux à leurs besoins.

Les provinces et les territoires qui satisfont à la norme au moyen de leur propre système de tarification de la pollution par le carbone continueront de réduire cette pollution en appliquant leur propre système.

Pour les autres provinces et territoires, à compter de 2019, un système de filet de sécurité pour la tarification de la pollution par le carbone s'appliquera afin que toutes les administrations du Canada satisfassent à la norme fédérale.

Le système de filet de sécurité pour la tarification de la pollution par le carbone est composé de deux volets :

  • une redevance sur les combustibles fossiles (la « redevance sur les combustibles »), qui sera administrée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada, qui s'appliquera à compter d'avril 2019;
  • un système de tarification fondé sur le rendement, qui sera administré par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, qui s'appliquera à compter de janvier 2019.

La Loi a pour objectif de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre en faisant en sorte que la tarification de la pollution par le carbone s'applique de façon générale partout au Canada.

D'autre part, le gouvernement reconnaît que des groupes ou des secteurs particuliers ont besoin d'allègements ciblés de la redevance sur les combustibles – en particulier en raison du faible nombre de solutions de rechange à leur disposition pour composer avec la tarification de la pollution par le carbone.

Allègement pour les agriculteurs

Pour les agriculteurs, la Loi prévoit un allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles s'appliquant aux combustibles utilisés dans les tracteurs, les camions et d'autres machineries agricoles. L'allègement sera offert directement au moyen de certificats d'exemption, lorsque certaines conditions sont remplies. En particulier, la Loi prévoit qu'un distributeur inscrit peut généralement livrer, sans que la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique, de l'essence ou du mazout léger (p. ex., du carburant diesel) à un agriculteur dans une exploitation agricole si le combustible est destiné à être utilisé exclusivement dans l'opération d'une machinerie agricole admissible et que la totalité ou la presque totalité du combustible est destinée à être utilisée dans le cadre d'activités agricoles admissibles. Il n'est pas nécessaire que les agriculteurs soient inscrits pour obtenir cet allègement.

En vertu de la Loi, une machinerie agricole admissible s'entend d'un bien servant principalement à l'agriculture et qui est soit un camion de ferme ou un tracteur, soit un véhicule qui n'est pas immatriculé pour être opéré sur les voies publiques, soit une machine industrielle ou un moteur stationnaire ou portable.

La Loi inclut également des règles sur le détournement afin que la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique si l'essence ou le mazout léger est utilisé d'une façon contraire aux fins prévues de l'allègement.

Allègement pour les pêcheurs

La Loi prévoit également un allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles s'appliquant à l'essence et au mazout léger (p. ex., le carburant diesel) qui sont généralement livrés à un pêcheur, si le combustible est destiné à être utilisé exclusivement dans un navire de pêche admissible et que la totalité ou la presque totalité du combustible est destinée à être utilisée dans le cadre d'activités de pêche admissibles. L'allègement sera offert directement au moyen de certificats d'exemption, lorsque certaines conditions sont remplies. Parmi ces conditions, la province ou le territoire assujetti à la redevance sur les combustibles doit être visé par règlement aux fins de l'allègement. Il n'est pas nécessaire que les pêcheurs soient inscrits pour obtenir cet allègement.

La Loi inclut également des règles sur le détournement afin que la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique si l'essence ou le mazout léger est utilisé d'une façon contraire aux fins prévues de l'allègement.

Il n'existe actuellement aucune province visée par règlement. Il est proposé que tous les provinces et territoires assujettis à l'application de la redevance sur les combustibles soient visés par règlement aux fins de cet allègement.

Il est proposé que cet allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique à compter d'avril 2019.

Allègements ciblés supplémentaires en vertu de la Loi

En plus de l'allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles qui est déjà prévu par la Loi, le gouvernement propose que des allègements ciblés supplémentaires soient offerts à certains groupes ou secteurs, notamment :

  • les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés;
  • les utilisateurs de combustibles d'aviation dans les territoires;
  • les exploitants de serres;
  • les centrales qui produisent de l'électricité pour les collectivités éloignées;
  • les peuples autochtones.

Les sections suivantes présentent de plus amples renseignements sur les mesures d'allègement proposées.

Supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés

Dans le cas des provinces qui n'ont pas pris des mesures suffisantes pour se conformer à la norme fédérale de tarification de la pollution par le carbone – l'Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick, le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan –, le gouvernement propose d'offrir aux résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés un supplément aux paiements de base de l'Incitatif à agir pour le climat, en reconnaissance de leurs besoins énergétiques plus élevés et de leur plus faible accès à des options de transport de rechange. Ce supplément augmenterait de 10 % le montant que recevraient les habitants de ces régions. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, voir les documents d'information ci-joints concernant le versement du produit du système de tarification directement aux provinces.

Utilisateurs de combustibles d'aviation dans les territoires

En règle générale, la redevance sur les combustibles prévue par la Loi s'appliquera à l'essence d'aviation et au carburéacteur qui sont utilisés dans les vols à l'intérieur d'une administration (c.-à-d. entre deux lieux à l'intérieur d'une même province ou d'un même territoire), mais pas dans les vols entre administrations (p. ex., les vols entre des provinces ou territoires différents du Canada ou les vols internationaux).

Dans le cadre du Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques, le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé à collaborer avec les territoires afin de répondre à leurs circonstances particulières, notamment le coût élevé de la vie, les défis liés à la sécurité alimentaire et les économies territoriales émergentes.

En conséquence, le gouvernement propose d'appliquer la redevance sur les combustibles à un taux de 0 $ par litre pour l'essence d'aviation et le carburéacteur dans les territoires assujettis (le Yukon et le Nunavut), comme on le mentionne dans le document d'information intitulé Taux de redevance sur les combustibles dans les provinces et les territoires assujettis. Cette application sera conforme au traitement des combustibles d'aviation en vertu du système proposé pour la tarification de la pollution par le carbone dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ainsi, même si la tarification de la pollution par le carbone s'appliquera de façon générale au Canada, elle prendra en compte la forte dépendance sur le transport aérien dans les territoires.

Les transporteurs aériens dans les territoires assujettis continueront d'être assujettis à la Loi (p. ex., aux exigences en matière de déclaration et de production de documents), au besoin, mais en fin de compte, la redevance sur les combustibles ne sera pas payée pour les vols dans les territoires.

Le taux proposé de 0 $ par litre entrera en vigueur en juillet 2019 (date de mise en œuvre de la redevance sur les combustibles dans les territoires assujettis) et s'appliquera pour toutes les années.

Exploitants de serres

Un allègement partiel (de 80 %) de la redevance sur les combustibles est proposé relativement au gaz naturel et au propane qui sont utilisés exclusivement dans l'exploitation d'une serre commerciale destinée à la culture de plantes, y compris les légumes, les fruits, les plantes à massifs, les fleurs coupées, les plantes ornementales, les semis d'arbres et les plantes médicinales. Il est également proposé que l'allègement soit assujetti à la condition que la totalité ou la presque totalité des bâtiments de serre serve à la culture de plantes.

Il est proposé d'offrir l'allègement directement au moyen de certificats d'exemption, semblables aux autres certificats d'exemption prévus par la Loi, de sorte que seulement 20 % de la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique au gaz naturel et au propane qu'un distributeur inscrit livre à un exploitant de serre admissible si le combustible sert exclusivement au chauffage ou à la production de dioxyde de carbone destiné à l'exploitation d'une serre commerciale.

  • Il est proposé qu'un exploitant de serre admissible s'entende d'une personne qui exploite une serre dans une attente raisonnable de profit.

Il est aussi proposé d'inclure des règles de détournement, conformément aux dispositions existantes de la Loi, afin que la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique si le gaz naturel ou le propane est utilisé d'une façon contraire aux fins prévues de l'allègement.

Il est proposé que cet allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique de façon générale à compter d'avril 2019 dans toutes les provinces assujetties et à compter de juillet 2019 dans tous les territoires assujettis.

Exploitants de centrales qui produisent de l'électricité pour les collectivités éloignées

Il est proposé d'appliquer un allègement complet de la redevance sur les combustibles pour le mazout léger (p. ex., le carburant diesel) servant exclusivement à produire de l'électricité pour les collectivités éloignées.

Il est proposé d'offrir l'allègement directement au moyen de certificats d'exemption, semblables aux autres certificats d'exemption prévus par la Loi, de sorte que la redevance sur les combustibles ne s'applique pas au mazout léger livré par un distributeur inscrit à une personne qui exploite une centrale d'électricité en région éloignée si ce combustible est destiné exclusivement à la production d'électricité pour distribution au grand public dans des collectivités éloignées.

  • Une collectivité éloignée s'entend d'une région géographique qui n'est desservie ni par un réseau de distribution électrique du ressort de la « North American Electric Reliability Corporation » ni par un réseau de distribution du gaz naturel.

Il est aussi proposé d'inclure des règles de détournement, conformes aux dispositions existantes de la Loi, afin que la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique si le mazout léger est utilisé d'une façon contraire aux fins prévues de l'allègement.

Il est proposé que cet allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles s'applique de façon générale à compter d'avril 2019 dans toutes les provinces assujetties et à compter de juillet 2019 dans tous les territoires assujettis.

Peuples autochtones

Les peuples autochtones pourraient bénéficier d'un bon nombre des mesures d'allègement annoncées par le gouvernement : le supplément pour les résidents des régions rurales et des petites communautés, l'allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles pour les combustibles d'aviation dans les territoires, l'allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles pour la production d'électricité au diesel pour les collectivités éloignées, l'allègement de la redevance sur les combustibles pour les exploitants de serres, et d'autres soutiens ciblés à l'intention de secteurs touchés. De plus amples renseignements se trouvent dans le document d'information intitulé Action pour le climat et peuples autochtones.

À vous la parole

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens sont invités à fournir leurs observations sur l'allègement proposé visant les exploitants de serres et les exploitants de centrales qui produisent de l'électricité pour les collectivités éloignées.

Veuillez acheminer vos commentaires à l'adresse fin.tarification-pollution-pricing.fin@canada.ca d'ici le 23 novembre 2018. La correspondance par écrit liée à ces consultations peut également être envoyée par la poste à l'adresse suivante :

Tarification de la pollution par le carbone
Ministère des Finances Canada
90, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G5