Backgrounder – Relief for Canadian Businesses from Countermeasures on Certain U.S. Imports

In response to the unjustified imposition of the United States' tariffs on Canadian steel and aluminum, the Government of Canada applied reciprocal countermeasures on imports of steel, aluminum, and other products from the U.S., beginning on July 1, 2018.

The Government recognizes that Canadian countermeasures against U.S. imports can create challenges for Canadian manufacturers that rely on steel and aluminum imported from the U.S. This imported steel and aluminum is used in many of Canada's major industries, including energy, advanced manufacturing, construction, and automotive parts.

Process for Relief from Countermeasures

To mitigate the impact on manufacturers, the Government outlined on July 11, 2018, a framework that allows the Government to consider providing targeted relief from Canada's countermeasures in the following instances:

  1. Situations of short supply in the domestic market, either on a national or regional basis;
  2. Situations where there are contractual requirements, existing prior to May 31, 2018, for Canadian businesses to use U.S. steel or aluminum in their products or projects; and
  3. Other exceptional circumstances that could have severe adverse impacts on the Canadian economy.

A federal interdepartmental committee reviewed the requests received from Canadian companies for targeted relief from Canada's countermeasures and made recommendations to the Minister of Finance. Under section 115 of the Customs Tariff, the Minister of Finance has the authority to recommend to the Governor in Council that relief be provided in the form of remission of the countermeasures.

Scope of Application of the Remission Order

The Remission Order provides targeted relief from countermeasures for a number of steel and aluminum products determined to be in short supply in Canada. The federal interdepartmental committee consulted domestic steel and aluminum producers to assess supply conditions.

For certain products determined to be in situations of ongoing short supply and listed in Schedule 1 of the Remission Order, relief can be granted from surtaxes paid or payable under the United States Surtax Order (Steel and Aluminum) for an indefinite period (for products imported from the U.S. on or after July 1, 2018).

For certain products determined to be in situations of temporary short supply and listed in Schedule 2 of the Remission Order, relief can be granted from surtaxes paid or payable under the United States Surtax Order (Steel and Aluminum) for a time-limited period (for products imported from the U.S. from July 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018).

The list of goods included in Schedule 1 and Schedule 2 of the Remission Order can be found on the Department of Finance Canada website. Companies that have applied for and been granted relief can now import these goods without paying surtaxes. A portion of this relief will be temporary, offered until such time that Canadian producers are able to adequately meet domestic demand.

The federal interdepartmental committee is continuing its analysis of requests from Canadian companies, including those related to contractual obligations existing prior to May 31, 2018. In addition, requests for relief due to short supply conditions are assessed on an ongoing basis.

Document d'information – Allègement des contre-mesures s'appliquant à certaines importations des États-Unis pour les entreprises canadiennes

En réponse à l'imposition injustifiée de droits de douane par les États-Unis sur l'acier et l'aluminium canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada a appliqué des contre-mesures réciproques sur les importations d'acier, d'aluminium et d'autres produits en provenance des États-Unis à compter du 1er juillet 2018.

Le gouvernement reconnaît que les contre-mesures du Canada visant des importations des États-Unis peuvent créer des difficultés pour les fabricants canadiens qui dépendent de l'acier et de l'aluminium provenant des États-Unis. Ces produits d'acier et d'aluminium sont utilisés par bon nombre de grandes industries du Canada, notamment celles de l'énergie, de la fabrication de pointe, de la construction et des pièces de véhicules automobiles.

Processus d'allègement des contre-mesures

Dans le but d'atténuer les effets sur les fabricants, le gouvernement a présenté, le 11 juillet 2018, un cadre qui lui permet d'examiner un allègement ciblé des contre-mesures dans les circonstances suivantes :

  1. Les situations de pénurie sur le marché intérieur, à l'échelle nationale ou régionale.
  2. Les situations où il y a des exigences contractuelles antérieures au 31 mai 2018, en vertu desquelles les entreprises canadiennes doivent utiliser de l'acier ou de l'aluminium américain dans leurs produits ou projets.
  3. D'autres circonstances exceptionnelles qui pourraient avoir des effets défavorables graves sur l'économie canadienne.

Un comité interministériel fédéral a étudié les demandes d'allègement ciblé des contre-mesures reçues des entreprises canadiennes et a fait des recommandations au ministre des Finances. En vertu de l'article 115 du Tarif des douanes, le ministre des Finances peut recommander au gouverneur en conseil d'accorder des allègements sous forme de remises des contre-mesures.

Portée de l'application du décret de remise

Le décret de remise prévoit un allègement ciblé des contre-mesures applicables à divers produits d'acier et d'aluminium pour lesquels on a déterminé qu'il y avait pénurie au Canada. Le comité interministériel fédéral a consulté les producteurs nationaux d'acier et d'aluminium en vue d'évaluer les conditions d'approvisionnement.

Certains produits pour lesquels on a déterminé qu'il y avait une pénurie soutenue et qui figurent à l'annexe 1 du décret de remise peuvent faire l'objet d'un allègement des surtaxes payées ou à payer en vertu du Décret imposant une surtaxe aux États-Unis (acier et aluminium) pendant une période indéterminée relativement aux produits importés des États-Unis le 1er juillet 2018 ou après cette date.

Certains produits pour lesquels on a déterminé qu'il y avait une pénurie temporaire et qui figurent à l'annexe 2 du décret de remise peuvent faire l'objet d'un allègement des surtaxes payées ou à payer en vertu du Décret imposant une surtaxe aux États-Unis (acier et aluminium) pendant une période limitée relativement aux produits importés des États-Unis du 1er juillet 2018 au 31 décembre 2018.

La liste des produits figurant à l'annexe 1 et à l'annexe 2 du décret de remise est affichée sur le site Web du ministère des Finances du Canada. Les sociétés dont la demande d'allègement a été approuvée peuvent maintenant importer ces marchandises sans payer de surtaxe. Une partie de cet allègement sera offerte temporairement, soit jusqu'à ce que les producteurs canadiens puissent répondre adéquatement à la demande nationale.

Le comité interministériel fédéral poursuit son analyse des demandes d'entreprises canadiennes, y compris celles liées aux obligations contractuelles antérieures au 31 mai 2018. De plus, les demandes d'allègement découlant de situations de pénurie sont évaluées de façon continue.