Backgrounder: Details of Agreement for the Completion of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project

Agreement in Principle Reached to Restart Construction in 2018 and Ensure Completion of the Trans Mountain Expansion

The Trans Mountain Expansion Project will create thousands of good, middle-class jobs, including in Indigenous communities; will enable more Canadian resources to reach international markets; and thanks to Canada's world-class Oceans Protection Plan, is a project that can be built while protecting Canada's coasts and waterways.

To ensure its timely completion, the Government of Canada has reached an agreement with Kinder Morgan to immediately restart construction on the Trans Mountain Expansion Project. The Government of Canada will guarantee financing for the 2018 summer construction season, through a loan guarantee from Export Development Canada. This guarantee will ensure that construction work on the project is restarted without delay.

In addition, the Government of Canada has reached an agreement with Kinder Morgan to purchase the company's Trans Mountain Expansion Project and related pipeline and terminal assets for $4.5 billion. The transaction is expected to close in August 2018.  

This investment represents a fair price for Canadians and for shareholders of the company, and will allow the project to proceed under the ownership of a Crown corporation. The core assets required to build the Trans Mountain Expansion Project have significant commercial value, and this transaction represents a sound investment opportunity.

It is not, however, the intention of the Government of Canada to be a long-term owner of this project.  At the appropriate time, Canada will work with investors to transfer the project and related assets to a new owner or owners, in a way that ensures the project's construction and operation will proceed in a manner that protects the public interest.  Many investors have already expressed interest in the project, including Indigenous groups, Canadian pension funds and others. 

Any purchaser of the project would be covered by a federal indemnity protecting them against any financial loss posed by politically motivated unnecessary delays, in line with the indemnity offered to Kinder Morgan by the Government on May 16, 2018.

The Government of Alberta will also contribute to get the project built. Alberta's contribution would act as an emergency fund and would only come into play if required due to unforeseen circumstances. The amount of Alberta's contribution could range from zero to a maximum of $2 billion. In return, Alberta will receive value commensurate to their contribution, through equity or profit sharing.

Existing profit sharing or other agreements established between Kinder Morgan and Indigenous groups would be maintained under these transactions.

Background

The Trans Mountain Expansion Project was originally proposed as a way to deliver more Canadian oil resources to international markets. Twinning the existing Trans Mountain oil pipeline and expanding the Westridge Marine Terminal would increase the capacity of North America's only pipeline with access to the West Coast, and allow producers to receive a better price for their products. The original Trans Mountain Pipeline was built in 1953 and continues to operate safely today.

On November 29, 2016, the Government of Canada granted approval for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project. Earlier, on May 19, 2016, following a 29-month review, the National Energy Board concluded that the project is in the Canadian public interest and recommended the federal Governor in Council approve the expansion, which it did. In addition, the British Columbia Environmental Assessment Office issued an environmental assessment certificate, allowing the Trans Mountain Expansion Project to proceed.

Kinder Morgan Inc., owner of the Trans Mountain Pipeline and the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, had been advancing the pipeline project, on a commercial basis, for several years. The company had worked diligently to obtain all the necessary approvals and permits required to proceed with the project and has done so in full accordance with Canadian law. 

However, unnecessary and politically motivated delays created a level of uncertainty around the project's future, so much so that Kinder Morgan felt unable to proceed as planned, and in April 2018 decided to suspend all non-essential spending on the project.

Given the significant benefits that the project's completion would offer to all Canadians, and to secure its timely completion, the Government of Canada agreed to purchase Kinder Morgan Inc.'s Trans Mountain Expansion Project and related pipeline and terminal assets. The project will be built in a timely and commercially viable manner.

The Government of Canada is confident that, with this agreement, it is upholding the trust Canadians have placed in the Government to both grow the economy and protect the environment.  This project is made possible because of Canada's world-leading Oceans Protection Plan, extensive and ongoing consultations with Indigenous communities, strengthened environmental standards, and a rigorous approvals process.

Guarantee of 2018 Construction Season

To ensure the project continues to move forward, the Government of Canada has agreed to provide funding for the 2018 construction season through loan guarantees.

It is expected that the funding will support a variety of activities required to construct the project, including the work to acquire needed permits, finalize aspects of design, complete construction contracts, and clear land as needed.

Indemnity

Canada would provide the new project proponent with an offer to support the Trans Mountain Expansion Project (the Expansion), whereby Canada would:

  • Indemnify the proponent for additional costs caused by the discriminatory and unjustified actions of a province or municipality in an attempt to delay or obstruct the Expansion.
  • Indemnify the proponent for future costs and a reasonable return if the proponent abandons the Expansion in the future because of either:
    • a final adverse judicial decision is made in respect of the federal jurisdiction over the Expansion that would have a catastrophic impact on the Expansion; or
    • despite commercially reasonable efforts, the proponent cannot complete the Expansion by a predetermined date.
  • If either of these two events occur, Canada has the option to re-purchase the Expansion and the existing pipelines prior to the proponent abandoning the Expansion.

In addition to the financial support, Canada would provide full cooperation and support to the new proponent, including taking steps to deal with unreasonable provincial and municipal permit delays.

The indemnity would be conditional on the proponent committing to use commercially reasonable efforts to complete the project by a predetermined date.

Document d'information : Détails de l'entente en vue de l'achèvement du projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

Une entente de principe est conclue afin de relancer les travaux de construction en 2018 et d'assurer l'achèvement de l'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain

Le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain créera des milliers de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne, y compris dans les communautés autochtones. Il permettra aussi d'acheminer une plus grande quantité de ressources canadiennes aux marchés internationaux. Et grâce au Plan de protection des océans de calibre mondial du Canada, ce projet pourra être réalisé tout en protégeant les côtes et les cours d'eau du pays.

Pour assurer la réalisation du projet en temps opportun, le gouvernement du Canada a conclu une entente avec Kinder Morgan afin de relancer immédiatement les travaux de construction du projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain (« le projet »). Le gouvernement du Canada garantira le financement du projet pendant la saison de construction de l'été 2018 à l'aide d'une garantie de prêt d'Exportation et développement Canada. Cette garantie fera en sorte que les travaux de construction du projet pourront être relancés sans tarder.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada a conclu une entente avec Kinder Morgan pour acheter son projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain et les actifs connexes liés aux pipelines et au terminal contre la somme de 4,5 milliards de dollars. La clôture de cette opération est prévue en août 2018.

Cet investissement comporte un prix équitable pour les Canadiens et les actionnaires de l'entreprise et permettra au projet de continuer à titre de propriété d'une société d'État. Les actifs de base requis pour construire le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain ont une valeur commerciale importante, et cette opération représente une bonne possibilité d'investissement.

Le gouvernement du Canada n'a toutefois pas l'intention d'être le propriétaire à long terme de ce projet. Au moment opportun, le Canada collaborera avec des investisseurs en vue de transférer le projet, et les biens connexes, à un ou à de nouveaux propriétaires de manière à assurer sa réalisation et son exploitation d'une façon qui protège l'intérêt public. Bon nombre d'investisseurs ont déjà exprimé un intérêt pour le projet, comme des groupes autochtones et des régimes de retraite canadiens. 

Tout acheteur du projet aura droit à une indemnité fédérale qui le protégera contre toute perte financière découlant de retards inutiles attribuables à des actes politiques, laquelle indemnité serait conforme à l'indemnité offerte à Kinder Morgan par le gouvernement le 16 mai 2018.

Le gouvernement de l'Alberta contribuera aussi à la réalisation du projet. La contribution de l'Alberta servirait de fonds d'urgence et n'entrerait en jeu qu'en cas de circonstances imprévues. Le montant de cette contribution pourrait aller de zéro à 2 milliards de dollars. En contrepartie, l'Alberta recevra une valeur qui est comparable à sa contribution, sous forme de participation au capital ou de partage des bénéfices.

Les ententes de partage de bénéfices et toute autre entente conclue entre Kinder Morgan et les groupes autochtones resteraient en vigueur aux termes de ces opérations.

Contexte

Au départ, le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain a été proposé comme moyen d'acheminer plus de ressources pétrolières canadiennes aux marchés internationaux. Le doublement du pipeline existant de Trans Mountain et l'expansion du terminal maritime Westridge augmenteraient la capacité du seul pipeline nord-américain accédant à la côte ouest, en plus de permettre aux producteurs d'obtenir de meilleurs prix pour leurs produits. Le pipeline original de Trans Mountain a été construit en 1953 et fonctionne toujours de façon sécuritaire.

Le 29 novembre 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a approuvé le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain. Précédemment, le 19 mai 2016, à la suite d'un examen de 29 mois, l'Office national de l'énergie avait conclu que le projet était dans l'intérêt public du Canada et recommandé que le gouverneur en conseil fédéral l'approuve, ce qui a été fait. De plus, l'Environmental Assessment Office (bureau des évaluations environnementales) de la Colombie-Britannique a délivré un certificat d'évaluation environnementale permettant de procéder au projet.

Kinder Morgan Inc., propriétaire du pipeline Trans Mountain et du projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, faisait avancer le projet, sur une base commerciale, depuis plusieurs années. L'entreprise a travaillé avec diligence afin d'obtenir toutes les approbations et tous les permis nécessaires, ce qu'elle a fait en toute conformité avec la loi canadienne.

Cependant, des retards inutiles attribuables à des motifs politiques ont occasionné un certain degré d'incertitude quant à l'avenir du projet, à un point tel que Kinder Morgan s'est estimée incapable de procéder comme prévu et a décidé, en avril 2018, de suspendre toutes les dépenses non essentielles consacrées au projet.

Vu les avantages considérables de l'achèvement du projet pour tous les Canadiens, et afin d'assurer un achèvement en temps opportun, le gouvernement du Canada a accepté d'acheter de Kinder Morgan le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain et les actifs connexes liés aux pipelines et au terminal. Le projet sera réalisé en temps opportun et d'une manière viable sur le plan commercial.

Le gouvernement du Canada est persuadé que, grâce à cette entente, il maintient la confiance que les Canadiens lui ont accordée pour assurer la croissance de l'économie et protéger l'environnement. Le projet est rendu possible par le Plan de protection des océans de calibre mondial du Canada, les consultations vastes et continues menées auprès des communautés autochtones, les normes environnementales qui ont été renforcées et un processus d'approbation rigoureux.

Garantie pour la saison de construction de 2018

Pour s'assurer que le projet continue de progresser, le gouvernement du Canada a accepté d'accorder un financement pour la saison de construction de 2018 sous forme de garanties de prêt.

On s'attend à ce que ces fonds soutiennent diverses activités nécessaires à la réalisation du projet, notamment les activités à faire pour obtenir les permis nécessaires, mettre au point les aspects de la conception, mener à bien les contrats de construction et défricher les terres, au besoin.

Indemnisation

Le Canada offrirait au nouveau promoteur du projet de soutenir le projet d'agrandissement du réseau de Trans Mountain, comme suit :

  • Il indemniserait le promoteur pour les coûts supplémentaires occasionnés par des mesures discriminatoires et injustifiées d'une province ou d'une municipalité tentant de retarder ou d'entraver le projet.
  • Il indemniserait le promoteur pour les coûts futurs et pour l'obtention d'un rendement raisonnable si le promoteur abandonnait le projet dans l'avenir pour l'une des raisons suivantes :
    • une décision judiciaire finale défavorable qui serait rendue à propos de la compétence fédérale à l'égard du projet et qui aurait une incidence catastrophique sur le projet;
    • malgré des efforts commercialement raisonnables, le promoteur serait incapable d'achever le projet avant une date déterminée au préalable.
  • Dans l'éventualité où l'un de ces deux scénarios se produirait, le Canada aurait l'option de racheter les actifs du projet et les pipelines existants avant que le promoteur abandonne le projet.

En plus de l'aide financière, le Canada offrirait sa pleine collaboration et son soutien complet au nouveau promoteur. Cela pourrait comprendre la prise de mesures contre les retards déraisonnables de délivrance de permis de nature provinciale ou municipale.

L'indemnité serait soumise à la condition selon laquelle le promoteur s'engagerait à déployer des efforts raisonnables sur le plan commercial pour achever le projet au plus tard à une date fixée au préalable.