Backgrounder: Regulations to Implement the Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime

The Canadian financial system is one of the safest and soundest in the world. Canadian banks were able to maintain their access to debt and equity markets through the 2008 global financial crisis while banks from many other nations were not. Canadian banks continue to benefit from an effective and modern regulatory and supervisory regime.

The 2008 financial crisis highlighted the fact that some banks are "systemically important"—so important to the functioning of either the global financial system or to a domestic economy that their failure would impose unacceptable costs on the economy and financial system and, potentially, taxpayers. A central goal of the global financial reform agenda has been to ensure taxpayers are not on the hook to cover future losses by banks.

In response, Canada designated six "domestic systemically important banks" (D-SIBs):

  • Bank of Montreal
  • Bank of Nova Scotia
  • Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce
  • National Bank of Canada
  • Royal Bank of Canada
  • Toronto-Dominion Bank

In line with international standards, Canada has put into place measures to reduce the likelihood of failure for these banks and measures to reduce the potential impact of any failure on taxpayers.

The Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime

The Government maintains a broad suite of tools to manage a failing bank, whether systemically important or not. The new Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime is intended to complement these by giving authorities an additional tool for use in the unlikely, extreme scenario of a D-SIB's failure.

The regime is consistent with international standards developed by the international Financial Stability Board and endorsed by the G20 in response to the global financial crisis. Many other jurisdictions have already taken similar steps to enhance their bank resolution toolkits, including the United States and all European Union member states. As in other jurisdictions, the Canadian regime will also require systemically important banks to maintain sufficient total loss absorbing capacity (TLAC)—which is the capital plus debt convertible into equity under the recapitalization regime—in line with internationally established TLAC standards.

Canada's Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime will allow authorities to quickly convert some of a failing bank's debt into common shares in order to recapitalize the bank and help restore it to viability. This gives authorities an additional tool to deal with the unlikely failure of a major bank in a way that allows the bank to remain open and operating, while preserving financial stability and protecting the interests of taxpayers. This regime also gives bank creditors and shareholders additional incentives to monitor banks' risks.

The Bail-In Regulations

The legislative framework for the bail-in regime received Royal Assent in June 2016. Draft regulations were pre-published for public consultation in the Canada Gazette, Part Iin June 2017. The final regulations published today in the Canada Gazette, Part II, along with guidance being released by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions on TLAC, represent key final steps in implementing the bail-in regime.

The regulations set out key features of the regime, including that the rules would only apply to debt issued by D-SIBs that is unsecured, tradable, transferable, and has an original term to maturity of at least 400 days. Such debt is held predominantly by foreign and domestic institutional investors, such as asset and fund managers, typically as a small portion of these investors' overall portfolios.

The bail-in regulations do not apply to deposits, including chequing accounts, savings accounts and term deposits such as Guaranteed Investment Certificates, which will continue to benefit from the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation deposit insurance framework. As such, deposits are not convertible under the regime.    

In addition to the scope of liabilities that would be subject to the regime, the regulations set out:

  • the process and considerations that will be followed when carrying out a conversion;
  • the disclosure requirements applicable to bank-issued instruments subject to conversion; and
  • the process to compensate investors who are made worse off as a result of a conversion and accompanying resolution actions, relative to liquidation of the bank.

Document d'information : Règlements de mise en œuvre du régime de recapitalisation interne des banques

Le système financier canadien est l'un des plus sûrs et des plus solides au monde. Les banques canadiennes ont été en mesure de conserver leur accès aux marchés des titres d'emprunt et des actions tout au long de la crise financière mondiale de 2008 alors que ce n'était pas le cas pour des banques de nombreux autres pays. Les banques canadiennes continuent de profiter d'un régime de réglementation et de surveillance efficace et moderne.

La crise financière de 2008 a mis en évidence le fait que certaines banques ont une « importance systémique » – elles jouent un rôle si important dans le fonctionnement du système financier mondial ou de l'économie nationale que leur défaillance imposerait des coûts inacceptables pour l'économie et le système financier et, possiblement, pour les contribuables. Un objectif clé du programme de réforme financière mondiale a été de s'assurer que les contribuables ne seront pas tenus de couvrir les pertes futures des banques.

En réaction à cette situation, le Canada a désigné six « banques d'importance systémique nationale » (BISN) :

  • Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce;
  • Banque de Montréal;
  • Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • Banque Nationale du Canada;
  • Banque Royale du Canada;
  • Banque Toronto-Dominion.

Conformément aux normes internationales, le Canada a mis en place des mesures visant à réduire le risque de défaillance de ces banques, ainsi que des mesures visant à réduire l'incidence possible de toute défaillance sur les contribuables.

Régime de recapitalisation interne des banques

Le gouvernement maintient un vaste ensemble d'outils servant à gérer une banque en difficulté, qu'elle soit d'importance systémique ou non. Le nouveau régime de recapitalisation interne vise à compléter cet ensemble d'outils en donnant aux autorités un outil supplémentaire qu'elles pourront utiliser dans le scénario peu probable et extrême de la défaillance d'une BISN.

Le régime est conforme aux normes internationales élaborées par le Conseil de stabilité financière international et approuvées par le G20 en réaction à la crise financière mondiale. De nombreuses autres administrations ont déjà pris des mesures similaires afin d'optimiser leur trousse d'outils en matière de résolution bancaire, y compris les États-Unis et tous les États membres de l'Union européenne. Comme c'est le cas dans les autres administrations, le régime canadien exigera aussi que les banques d'importance systémique maintiennent une capacité totale d'absorption des pertes (CTAP) suffisante – c'est-à-dire les fonds propres plus les créances pouvant être converties en capitaux propres dans le cadre du régime de recapitalisation –, conformément aux normes de CTAP établies à l'échelle internationale.

Le régime de recapitalisation interne des banques du Canada permettra aux autorités de convertir rapidement une partie de la dette d'une banque en situation de défaillance en actions ordinaires afin de recapitaliser la banque et de l'aider à rétablir sa viabilité. La conversion offre aux autorités un outil supplémentaire pour composer avec l'improbable éventualité de la défaillance d'une grande banque d'une façon qui permet à la banque de poursuivre ses opérations, tout en assurant la stabilité du système financier et en protégeant les intérêts des contribuables. Ce régime donne aussi des incitatifs additionnels aux créanciers et aux actionnaires d'une banque afin qu'ils surveillent les risques auxquels celle-ci fait face.

Règlements sur la recapitalisation interne

Le cadre législatif du régime de recapitalisation interne a reçu la sanction royale le 22 juin 2016. En juin 2017, une ébauche des règlements connexes a fait l'objet d'une publication préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada aux fins de consultation publique. La version définitive des règlements publiée aujourd'hui dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada, de même que le document d'orientation connexe diffusé par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières sur la CTAP, constituent des étapes finales importantes de la mise en œuvre du régime de recapitalisation interne.

Les règlements énoncent les principales caractéristiques du régime, y compris les règles qui s'appliqueraient uniquement aux titres de créance émis par les BISN qui sont non garantis, négociables et transférables, et dont le terme à courir initial est d'au moins 400 jours. De tels titres sont principalement détenus par des investisseurs institutionnels étrangers et canadiens, y compris des gestionnaires d'actifs et de fonds, et représentent généralement une faible partie de l'ensemble de leur portefeuille.

Les règlements sur la recapitalisation interne ne visent pas les dépôts, notamment les comptes de chèques, les comptes d'épargne et les dépôts à terme comme les certificats de placement garantis, qui continueront d'être couverts par le cadre d'assurance-dépôts de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada. Ainsi, les dépôts ne pourront pas être convertis en vertu du régime.

En plus de la portée des éléments du passif qui seraient assujettis au régime, les règlements énoncent ce qui suit :

  • le processus et les considérations applicables au moment d'exécuter une conversion;
  • les exigences liées à la divulgation applicables aux instruments émis par les banques qui sont assujettis à la conversion;
  • le processus pour indemniser les investisseurs qui sont désavantagés par la conversion et les mesures de résolution liées à la liquidation de la banque.