Backgrounder: Tax Fairness for the Middle Class and Opportunity for All Canadians

Canadians deserve to feel confident that their hard work will be rewarded with greater opportunities and a fair chance at success. A fair tax system forms the foundation for a stronger middle class and a growing economy, instills confidence in Canadians and helps to create opportunities for everyone.

Small businesses are a key driver of Canada's economy, accounting for 70 per cent of all private sector jobs. Low and competitive tax rates allow Canadian businesses to invest in their success, and create more good, well-paying jobs.

The Government is supporting hard-working small business owners by reducing the small business tax rate to 10 per cent, effective January 1, 2018, and to 9 per cent, effective January 1, 2019. By 2019, the combined federal-provincial-territorial average income tax rate for small business will be 12.6 per cent—the lowest in the G7 and the fourth lowest among members of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

At the same time, the Government is taking steps to ensure that Canada's internationally competitive corporate tax rates are being used to support jobs and growth—by encouraging investment in things like machinery, equipment and skills training—rather than to create unfair tax advantages for the wealthy at the expense of others. Before the Government began taking action, someone earning $300,000 with a spouse and two adult children could, in some circumstances, use a Canadian-controlled private corporation (CCPC) and the small business tax rate to get tax savings that amount to roughly what the average Canadian earns in a year.

In July 2017, the Government engaged Canadians in an open discussion on proposals to address tax planning strategies using private corporations. In October 2017, the Minister of Finance took this feedback into account in announcing changes to the Government's proposed approach to address these strategies. Specifically, the Government announced that:

  • It would cut taxes for small businesses, providing them with up to $7,500 in federal tax savings per year. For the average small business, this will leave an additional $1,600 per year for small business entrepreneurs and innovators to reinvest in new equipment, in growth and job creation.
  • It would move forward with simplified proposals to limit income sprinkling, while making sure that family members who make a meaningful contribution to the business are not affected. Detailed legislative proposals to address income sprinkling were subsequently released on December 13, 2017, giving owners of private corporations until the end of 2018 to adjust to the proposed exclusion for significant shareholdings. ‎
  • It would move forward in Budget 2018 with measures to limit the tax deferral opportunities related to passive investments, while providing business owners with flexibility to build a cushion of savings for business purposes and deal with personal circumstances, such as for maternity leave, sick days or retirement. 
  • It would not move forward with parts of the July 2017 proposals due to concerns that they could have unintended consequences, particularly relating to the ability of farmers and fishers to hand down their business to the next generation.

Budget 2018 Actions to Ensure the Fair Treatment of Passive Investment Income

Currently, it is estimated that $300 billion1 in passive investments is being held by private corporations that are actively engaged in a business. About 80 per cent of this wealth is concentrated in 2 per cent of CCPCs. The Government is taking action to limit tax deferral benefits related to passive investment, while recognizing the role of savings within the business to provide a financial cushion to the business and to entrepreneurs. More than 97 per cent of private corporations will not be affected by the changes proposed in Budget 2018.

The passive investment tax changes proposed in Budget 2018 strike a balance between the need to ensure fairness and the need to support business investment and growth—without introducing undue complexity.

The small business tax rate is designed to help businesses get the capital they need in order to grow and focus on their day-to-day operations, not to provide tax advantages for the wealthiest to accumulate large, personal savings within a corporation. Known as passive investments, these portfolios of assets (such as stocks, bonds or real estate) are held within a private corporation and generate an income not related to the active business. Owners of private corporations can gain a tax advantage when they accumulate a large amount of wealth with income taxed at the small business rate, rather than the personal rate. Some of these savings are intended primarily for personal use.

Through Budget 2018, the Government proposes two measures that will improve the fairness of the tax system, while still enabling entrepreneurs to save within their business.

The first measure proposes to limit the ability of private corporations with significant passive savings to benefit from the preferential small business rate. The current small business deduction limit allows for up to $500,000 of business income from an active business to be subject to the lower small business tax rate. Access to the lower tax rate is phased out on a straight-line basis for associated CCPCs with between $10 million and $15 million of aggregate taxable capital employed in Canada.

Budget 2018 proposes to introduce an additional eligibility mechanism for the small business deduction, based on the corporation's passive investment income. This will be simpler and more targeted than proposals originally outlined in the July 2017 consultation.

Under the proposal, if a corporation and its associated corporations earn more than $50,000 of passive investment income in a given year (equivalent to $1 million in passive investment assets, assuming a 5-per-cent rate of return), the amount of a corporation's active income eligible for the small business tax rate would be gradually reduced. The small business deduction limit would be fully phased out once passive income reaches $150,000 per year (equivalent to $3 million in passive investment assets, assuming a 5-per-cent rate of return). For the limited number of corporations earning that level of passive income or more, their businesses' active income would be taxed at the general corporate income tax rate. With this proposal, the Government is slowly withdrawing access to the small business tax rate if a business is accumulating large sums of passive investments.

For those earning less than $50,000 of passive income each year, there would be no change in tax treatment under this first measure. Moreover, the tax applicable to investment income remains unchanged—refundable taxes and dividend tax rates will remain the same, unlike the July 2017 proposal.

In addition, capital gains from the sale of assets used in the business or from the sale of shares of connected corporations, where these corporations are engaged in an active business and certain conditions are met, will not be taken into account for purposes of this measure.

For instance:

  • A private corporation with passive investment assets of less than $1 million at a 5-per-cent rate of return would be unaffected by the proposal, and could continue to earn up to $500,000 in active business income at the small business tax rate.
  • A private corporation with passive investment assets of $1.4 million at a 5-per-cent rate of return could earn up to $400,000 in business income per year without being affected by the proposal.
  • A private corporation with passive investment assets of $2 million at a 5-per-cent rate of return could earn up to $250,000 in business income per year without being affected by the proposal.
  • A private corporation with passive investment assets of $2.5 million at a 5-per-cent rate of return could earn up to $125,000 in business income per year without being affected by the proposal.
  • A private corporation with passive investment assets of $3 million or more at a 5-per-cent rate of return would pay the general corporate tax rate on business income earned.

The second measure will correct an existing flaw in the tax system. It will apply to corporations paying tax at the general rate, which are typically larger corporations. Under current rules, corporations can trigger a refund of taxes paid on investment income, regardless of the source of the dividend (i.e., whether coming from investment income, or lower-taxed active business income). This allows larger corporations to gain an unintended tax advantage since they can choose to pay out dividends from their active business income (which qualify for a higher Dividend Tax Credit) and still benefit from a refund of taxes paid on investment income. The proposed measure will not increase the overall tax burden on investment income, but will place limits on the timing and conditions to receive a refund.

With these two proposals, less than 3 per cent of private corporations will be affected. It is estimated that more than 90 per cent of the tax impact from the two measures will be borne by households in the top 1 per cent (i.e., the wealthiest). In contrast, the reduction in the small business tax rate will be available to all small CCPCs.

These proposed measures will enhance the fairness of the tax system in a manner that is more targeted and simpler than the approaches proposed in the Government's July 2017 consultation paper, while ensuring Canada's low small business taxes continue to help companies grow and create jobs. They will take effect on a go-forward basis, applying to taxation years that begin after 2018.

Impact of Proposed Budget 2018 Passive Investment Changes

Less than 3 per cent of corporations will be affected. 90 per cent of the tax impact will be borne by households in the top 1 per cent (i.e. the wealthiest).

In contrast, the benefits of the reduction in the small business tax rate will be available to all small businesses. As a result, small businesses will be able to keep up to $7,500 more of their profits.

Those affected by the two proposals put forward in Budget 2018 earn on average $175,000 of passive investment income annually, which for most will represent only one of many sources of income. Passive income of $175,000 would represent passive assets of about $3.5 million (assuming a 5-per-cent rate of return).

By keeping taxes low for small businesses and ensuring that everyone pays their fair share of tax, the Government's actions are helping to create greater opportunities, including jobs, for all Canadians, and delivering on its fundamental promise: that hard work will be rewarded, and that every Canadian can have a real and fair chance at success.


Distribution of CCPCs and their Share of Taxable Passive Investment Income (2015)
Categorized by Magnitude of Passive Investment Assets

Distribution of CCPCs and their Share of Taxable Passive Investment Income (2015)
Note: No data is available on the value of passive investments held in private corporations. The asset values used to produce the chart were imputed from passive investment income amounts reported by private corporations for tax purposes, using a hypothetical rate of return of 5 per cent. The amounts include capital gains, portfolio dividends and other investment income, such as interest.

1 No data is available on the value of passive assets held in private corporations. The $300 billion estimate is imputed from passive income reported by CCPCs for tax purposes, using a hypothetical rate of return of 5 per cent. The amounts include capital gains, portfolio dividends and other investment income, such as interest.

Document d'information : Équité fiscale pour la classe moyenne et possibilités de réussir pour tous les Canadiens

Les Canadiens méritent d'être assurés que leur travail acharné sera récompensé par de meilleurs débouchés et des chances égales de réussir. Un système fiscal équitable jette les bases du renforcement de la classe moyenne et de la croissance économique, inspire confiance aux Canadiens et aide à créer des occasions de réussir pour tous.

Les petites entreprises sont l'un des principaux moteurs de l'économie canadienne : elles représentent 70 % des emplois du secteur privé. Grâce à des taux d'imposition faibles et compétitifs, les entreprises canadiennes peuvent investir dans leur réussite et créer plus de bons emplois bien rémunérés.

Le gouvernement appuie les propriétaires de petites entreprises qui travaillent fort en abaissant le taux d'imposition des petites entreprises à 10 % à compter du 1er janvier 2018 et à 9 % à compter du 1er janvier 2019. D'ici 2019, le taux d'imposition fédéral, provincial et territorial combiné pour les petites entreprises sera de 12,6 % – le plus faible parmi les pays du G7 et le quatrième plus faible parmi les pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques.

Parallèlement, le gouvernement prend des mesures afin que les taux d'imposition des sociétés concurrentiels du Canada servent à appuyer l'emploi et la croissance – en encourageant l'investissement dans la machinerie, l'équipement et la formation axée sur les compétences, par exemple – au lieu de créer des avantages fiscaux inéquitables pour les plus riches, aux dépens des autres. Avant la prise de mesures par le gouvernement, un particulier qui gagnait 300 000 $ par an (et qui avait un conjoint et deux enfants adultes) pouvait, dans certaines circonstances, se servir d'une société privée sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) pour avoir droit au taux d'imposition des petites entreprises de manière à épargner en impôt l'équivalent de ce que gagne le Canadien moyen par année.

En juillet 2017, le gouvernement a invité les Canadiens à une discussion franche sur certaines propositions visant des stratégies de planification fiscale au moyen de sociétés privées. En octobre 2017, après avoir tenu compte des commentaires recueillis, le ministre des Finances a annoncé des changements à l'approche proposée par le gouvernement en réponse à ces stratégies. Le gouvernement a plus particulièrement annoncé les mesures suivantes :

  • L'abaissement de l'impôt fédéral des petites entreprises, leur permettant ainsi d'économiser jusqu'à 7 500 $ par année. Cela permettra à la petite entreprise moyenne de dégager 1 600 $ de plus par année; les entrepreneurs et innovateurs pourront ainsi réinvestir dans du nouvel équipement, dans la croissance et dans la création d'emplois. 
  • La présentation de propositions simplifiées pour limiter la répartition du revenu tout en veillant à ce que les membres de la famille qui apportent une contribution importante à l'entreprise ne soient pas touchés. Des propositions législatives détaillées concernant la répartition du revenu ont par la suite été publiées le 13 décembre 2017. Elles donneraient aux propriétaires de sociétés privées jusqu'à la fin de 2018 pour s'adapter aux règles d'exclusion proposées pour des possessions d'actions importantes. ‎
  • La présentation, dans le budget de 2018, des mesures pour limiter les possibilités de report d'impôt lié aux placements passifs, tout en accordant aux propriétaires d'entreprise une plus grande latitude pour se constituer une réserve d'épargne à des fins commerciales et afin de gérer des situations personnelles, comme un congé de maternité, un congé de maladie ou un départ à la retraite. 
  • Ne pas adopter certains éléments des propositions de juillet 2017 en raison des préoccupations exprimées quant à leurs conséquences inattendues possibles, en particulier sur la capacité des agriculteurs et des pêcheurs à transférer leur entreprise à la prochaine génération. 

Mesures prévues dans le budget de 2018 pour assurer le traitement équitable du revenu de placement passif

À l'heure actuelle, on estime que les sociétés privées qui exploitent une entreprise activement détiennent plus de 300 milliards de dollars1 de placements passifs. Environ 80 % de ces placements se retrouvent au sein de 2 % des SPCC. Alors qu'il prend des mesures pour limiter les avantages du report d'impôt lié aux placements passifs, le gouvernement reconnaît que l'épargne accumulée dans une société peut offrir une marge de manœuvre financière aux entreprises et aux entrepreneurs. Plus de 97 % des sociétés privées ne seront pas touchées par les changements proposés dans le budget de 2018. 

Les changements aux règles fiscales liées aux placements passifs proposées dans le budget de 2018 établissent un équilibre entre la nécessité d'assurer l'équité et celle d'appuyer l'investissement et la croissance des entreprises, sans que cela soit trop complexe.

Le taux d'imposition des petites entreprises vise à aider les entreprises à dégager les capitaux nécessaires à leur croissance et à leurs activités quotidiennes, et non pas à offrir des avantages fiscaux aux plus riches pour qu'ils puissent accumuler une épargne personnelle considérable au sein d'une société. Les portefeuilles d'actifs en question (qui comprennent notamment des actions, des obligations ou des biens immobiliers), qu'on appelle des placements passifs, détenus au sein de sociétés privées génèrent un revenu qui n'est pas lié aux activités de l'entreprise exploitée activement. Les propriétaires de sociétés privées peuvent obtenir un avantage fiscal lorsqu'ils accumulent une grande quantité d'avoirs auxquels s'applique le taux d'imposition du revenu accordé aux petites entreprises plutôt que les taux d'imposition des particuliers. Une partie de cette épargne sert principalement à des fins personnelles.

Dans le budget de 2018, le gouvernement propose deux mesures qui permettront d'accroître l'équité du régime fiscal tout en permettant aux entrepreneurs d'épargner au sein de leur entreprise.

La première mesure consiste à limiter la capacité des sociétés privées détenant une épargne passive importante de bénéficier du taux d'imposition préférentiel pour les petites entreprises. Le plafond d'affaires actuel de la déduction pour petites entreprises fait en sorte que le revenu tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement donnant droit au taux d'imposition des petites entreprises doit être tout au plus de 500 000 $. L'admissibilité de ce revenu au taux d'imposition inférieur est réduite progressivement selon la méthode linéaire dans le cas des SPCC associées dont la valeur du capital imposable utilisé au Canada se situe entre 10 millions et 15 millions de dollars.

Le budget de 2018 propose un mécanisme supplémentaire relatif à l'admissibilité à la déduction pour petites entreprises en fonction du revenu de placement passif de la société. Ce mécanisme est plus simple et plus ciblé que les propositions initiales présentées lors des consultations de juillet 2017.

Cette proposition prévoit que si une société et ses sociétés associées gagnent plus de 50 000 $ de revenus de placements passifs au cours d'une année donnée (l'équivalent de 1 million de dollars de placements passifs, en supposant un taux de rendement de 5 %), la partie du revenu actif de la société qui serait admissible au taux d'imposition des petites entreprises baisserait graduellement. Le plafond d'affaires de la déduction pour petites entreprises tomberait à zéro lorsque le revenu passif atteindrait 150 000 $ par année (l'équivalent de 3 millions de dollars de placements passifs, en supposant un taux de rendement de 5 %). Les rares sociétés gagnant autant de revenu passif verraient leur revenu tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement imposé au taux général de l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés. Aux termes de cette proposition, le gouvernement réduit lentement l'admissibilité au taux d'imposition des petites entreprises pour les sociétés qui accumulent d'importants placements passifs.

Les SPCC qui gagnent moins de 50 000 $ de revenu passif par année ne verraient aucun changement à leur traitement fiscal en vertu de cette première mesure. De plus, l'impôt applicable au revenu de placement demeure le même : les taux d'impôt remboursable et d'impôt sur les dividendes resteront les mêmes, contrairement à ce qui était proposé en juillet 2017.

Aux fins de cette mesure, on ne prendra pas en compte les gains en capital découlant de la vente d'actifs utilisés dans l'entreprise ou de la vente d'actions de sociétés associées, lorsque ces sociétés exploitent une entreprise activement et que certaines autres conditions sont remplies.

À titre d'exemples :

  • Une société privée détenant des placements passifs se chiffrant à moins de 1 million de dollars et générant un taux de rendement de 5 % ne serait pas touchée par la proposition; elle pourrait tirer jusqu'à 500 000 $ de revenus d'une entreprise exploitée activement tout en bénéficiant du taux d'imposition accordé aux petites entreprises.
  • Une société privée détenant des placements passifs se chiffrant à 1,4 million de dollars et générant un taux de rendement de 5 % pourrait gagner jusqu'à 400 000 $ en revenu d'entreprise par année sans être touchée par la proposition.
  • Une société privée détenant des placements passifs se chiffrant à 2 millions de dollars et générant un taux de rendement de 5 % pourrait gagner jusqu'à 250 000 $ en revenu d'entreprise par année sans être touchée par la proposition.
  • Une société privée détenant des placements passifs se chiffrant à 2,5 millions de dollars et générant un taux de rendement de 5 % pourrait gagner jusqu'à 125 000 $ en revenu d'entreprise par année sans être touchée par la proposition.
  • Dans le cas d'une société privée détenant des placements passifs se chiffrant à 3 millions de dollars ou plus et générant un taux de rendement de 5 %, le revenu d'entreprise serait assujetti au taux général de l'impôt sur le revenu des sociétés.

La seconde mesure permettra de corriger une lacune actuelle du régime fiscal. Elle s'appliquera aux sociétés assujetties au taux général de l'impôt, c'est-à-dire les sociétés de plus grande taille en général. En vertu des règles actuelles, les sociétés peuvent obtenir un remboursement de l'impôt payé sur leur revenu de placement, quelle que soit la source du dividende versé (c.-à-d. qu'il provienne d'un revenu de placement, ou encore du revenu tiré d'une entreprise exploitée activement assujetti à un taux d'imposition inférieur). Les règles actuelles permettent à des sociétés de plus grande taille d'obtenir un avantage fiscal non voulu, puisqu'elles peuvent choisir de verser des dividendes à même leur revenu d'entreprise (les dividendes sont ainsi admissibles à un crédit d'impôt pour dividendes à taux plus élevé) tout en bénéficiant d'un remboursement de l'impôt payé sur leur revenu de placement. La mesure proposée n'occasionnera pas une hausse de l'impôt global sur les revenus de placements, mais elle imposera des restrictions quant aux délais et aux conditions à respecter pour recevoir un remboursement.

Ces deux propositions auront une incidence sur moins de 3 % des sociétés privées. De plus, on estime que 90 % de l'incidence fiscale de ces deux mesures sera assumée par le 1 % des ménages le plus riche. En revanche, toutes les petites SPCC pourront se prévaloir de la réduction du taux d'imposition des petites entreprises.

Les mesures proposées permettront d'accroître l'équité du régime fiscal d'une façon plus simple et plus ciblée que les propositions présentées dans le document de consultation de juillet 2017 du gouvernement, tout en faisant en sorte que le faible taux d'imposition des petites entreprises du Canada continuera à aider les entreprises à croître et à créer des emplois. Les mesures entreront en vigueur sur une base prospective, c'est-à-dire qu'elles s'appliqueront aux années d'imposition commençant après 2018.

Incidence des changements proposés dans le budget de 2018 concernant les placements passifs

Moins de 3 % des sociétés seront touchées. De plus, 90 % de l'incidence fiscale des mesures sera assumée par le 1 % des ménages le plus riche.

En revanche, les avantages de la réduction du taux d'imposition des petites entreprises seront offerts à toutes les petites entreprises. Par conséquent, elles pourront conserver jusqu'à 7 500 $ additionnels de leurs bénéfices.

Ceux qui sont touchés par les deux propositions du budget de 2018 gagnent en moyenne 175 000 $ de revenu de placement passif par année, ce qui, dans la plupart des cas, ne représente qu'une seule de leurs nombreuses sources de revenus. Un revenu passif de 175 000 $ correspond à des placements passifs d'environ 3,5 millions de dollars (en supposant un taux de rendement de 5 %).

En offrant un faible taux d'imposition aux petites entreprises et en s'assurant que tout le monde paie sa juste part d'impôt, le gouvernement crée plus de possibilités de réussite, notamment des emplois, pour tous les Canadiens, et il donne suite à sa promesse fondamentale selon laquelle le travail acharné sera récompensé et chaque Canadien pourra profiter de chances réelles et égales de réussir.


Répartition des SPCC et de leur revenu de placement passif imposable (2015)
Catégorisées selon l'ampleur de leurs placements passifs

Répartition des SPCC et de leur revenu de placement passif imposable (2015)
Nota – Aucune donnée n'est disponible relativement à la valeur des placements passifs détenus dans des sociétés privées. Les valeurs illustrées dans le graphique reposent sur les montants de revenu de placement passif déclarés par les sociétés privées aux fins de l'impôt, en appliquant un taux de rendement hypothétique de 5 %. Ces montants comprennent les gains en capital, les dividendes de portefeuilles et les autres revenus de placement, comme les intérêts.

1 Aucune donnée n'est disponible sur la valeur des placements passifs détenus dans des sociétés privées. L'estimation de 300 milliards de dollars repose sur des montants de revenus de placements passifs déclarés par les SPCC aux fins de l'impôt, auxquels est appliqué un taux de rendement hypothétique de 5 %. Ces montants comprennent les gains en capital, les dividendes de portefeuilles et les autres revenus de placement, comme les intérêts.