Backgrounder: Canada's New Parental Sharing Benefit

The Government of Canada is committed to breaking down barriers to gender equality so that women and girls can participate in, and contribute to, Canada's growing economy—to the benefit of the middle class and everyone working hard to join it.

Budget 2018 proposes a new five-week Employment Insurance (EI) Parental Sharing Benefit that will be available as a "use it or lose it" benefit top-up when both parents agree to share parental leave. The new benefit will be available to eligible two-parent families, including adoptive and same-sex couples.

The new benefit proposes to provide greater flexibility—particularly for mothers—to return to work sooner, if they so choose. It would become available on March 17, 2019.

This type of benefit has been proven to encourage a more balanced sharing of child care responsibilities that goes well beyond the five‑week period. Quebec—as well as other countries that have implemented similar benefits—have found that they can play a significant role in who takes time off to provide caregiving. For example, Statistics Canada reported in 2016 that 80 per cent of new fathers in Quebec claimed or intended to claim parental benefits, in part because of leave that was specifically reserved for them. In the rest of Canada, which does not provide second parent leave, this same figure was only 12 per cent.

This benefit would increase the duration of EI parental leave by up to five weeks in cases where the second parent agrees to take a minimum of five weeks using the standard parental option of 55 per cent of earnings for 12 months. Alternatively, where families have opted for extended parental leave at 33 per cent of earnings for 18 months, the second parent would be able to take up to eight weeks of additional parental leave.

The maximum period that any one parent can take of parental leave is limited to 35 weeks under the standard option. To access the additional five weeks of benefits, any combination of sharing will be eligible. For example, this could include 20 weeks for one parent and 20 weeks for the other, or 35 weeks for one and five weeks for the other. Equivalent conditions will exist for parents who choose the extended parental leave option.

[Figure - Text version]

Women represented 44 per cent of all new EI claimants in 2015–16, and received 47 per cent of the total amount paid. Of parental benefits, women received 92 per cent of total benefits paid during this period.

Share of Total Employment Insurance Benefits Paid to Women, by Benefit Type, Canada, 2015–16
Share of Total Employment Insurance Benefits Paid  to Women, by Benefit Type, Canada, 2015–16
Source: Employment Insurance Monitoring and Assessment Report, 2015–16.

Document d'information : La nouvelle prestation parentale partagée du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à éliminer les obstacles à l'égalité des sexes de façon à ce que les femmes et les filles puissent participer à l'économie grandissante du Canada, et y contribuer – au bénéfice de la classe moyenne et de ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

Le budget de 2018 propose une nouvelle Prestation parentale partagée d'assurance‑emploi de cinq semaines qui sera offerte à titre de prestation complémentaire « à prendre ou à laisser » lorsque les deux parents conviennent de partager le congé parental. Cette nouvelle prestation sera offerte aux familles admissibles comptant deux parents, y compris les couples adoptifs ou de même sexe.

La nouvelle prestation proposée offrirait aussi une plus grande souplesse, surtout aux mères, leur permettant de retourner au travail plus tôt si elles choisissent de le faire. Elle serait offerte à compter du 17 mars 2019.

Il a été prouvé que ce type de prestation encourage un partage plus équilibré des responsabilités pour le soin des enfants qui s'étend bien au-delà de la période de cinq semaines de la prestation. Le Québec – en plus d'autres pays qui ont mis en œuvre des prestations semblables – a conclu qu'il peut jouer un rôle important pour déterminer qui prend un congé pour fournir des soins. Par exemple, Statistique Canada a indiqué, en 2016, que 80 % des nouveaux pères au Québec ont demandé des prestations parentales, ou avaient l'intention de le faire, en partie en raison du congé qui leur était spécifiquement accordé. Dans le reste du Canada, où un congé n'est pas accordé au deuxième parent, cette proportion n'était que de 12 %.

Cette prestation ferait augmenter la durée du congé parental de l'assurance-emploi de cinq semaines, au maximum, dans les cas où le deuxième parent accepte de prendre un congé d'au moins cinq semaines en vertu de l'option parentale standard de prestations sur 12 mois au taux de 55 % de la rémunération. Sinon, lorsque les familles optent pour le congé parental prolongé à 33 % de la rémunération pendant 18 mois, le deuxième parent pourrait prendre jusqu'à 8 semaines supplémentaires de congé parental.

Selon l'option ordinaire, la période maximale que l'un des parents peut prendre en congé parental est limitée à 35 semaines. Toute combinaison de partage sera admissible pour accéder aux cinq semaines supplémentaires de prestations. Par exemple, il pourrait s'agir de 20 semaines pour un parent et de 20 semaines pour l'autre, ou de 35 semaines pour un parent et de cinq semaines pour l'autre. Il existera des conditions équivalentes pour les parents qui choisissent l'option du congé parental prolongé.

[Figure - version texte]

Les femmes représentaient 44 % des nouveaux demandeurs d'assurance-emploi en 2015-2016, et elles ont reçu 47 % du montant total payé. En ce qui a trait aux prestations parentales, les femmes ont reçu 92 % des prestations totales payées au cours de cette période.

Part des prestations d'assurance-emploi versées aux femmes, par type de prestation, Canada, 2015-2016
Part des prestations d'assurance-emploi versées aux femmes, par type de  prestation, Canada, 2015-2016
Source : Rapport de contrôle et d'évaluation de l'assurance-emploi, 2015-2016