Figure - Text version - EI Parental Sharing Benefit

Employment Insurance parental benefits allows parents to take the time they need to care for their children.

To support equal parenting and the flexibility for earlier returns to work, the Government introduces a new Employment Parental Sharing Benefit which will be available when both parents agree to share parental leave.

Currently, under the standard parental benefit option of 35 weeks paid at 55 per cent of average weekly earnings:

  • Either parent may take up to 35 weeks;
  • The other parent may take the remainder of the 35 total weeks available;
  • Parents can share the 35 total weeks in various combinations. For example, one parent could choose to access 20 weeks, and the other 15 weeks; or one parent could choose to access 10 weeks, and the other 25 weeks.  
  • If a couple decides that one parent takes 35 weeks, there are no week available to the other parent.

In comparison, with the new Employment Insurance Parental Sharing Benefit:

  • Either parent may take up to 35 weeks;
  • The other parent may take the remainder of the 40 total weeks available;
  • Parents can share the 40 total weeks in various combinations. For example, parents could choose to split the parental benefits equally and each access 20 weeks; or one parent could choose to access 15 weeks, and the other 25 weeks. 
  • A minimum of 5 weeks is available for each parent.

Equivalent rules would apply to Employment Insurance extended parental benefits with 61 weeks as the limit for one parent, and up to 69 weeks available in total (paid at 33% of average weekly earnings).

Figure - Version texte - Prestation de partage parental de l’assurance-emploi

Les prestations parentales de l’assurance emploi permettent aux parents de prendre le congé dont ils ont besoin pour prendre soin de leurs enfants.

Pour appuyer le partage égal du rôle parental et la liberté de retourner au travail plus tôt, le gouvernement instaure une nouvelle prestation pour le partage parental qui pourra être utilisée lorsque les deux parents conviennent de partager le congé parental.

À l’heure actuelle, l’option de la prestation parentale ordinaire correspond à 35 semaines au taux de 55 % de la rémunération moyenne par semaine :

  • L’un ou l’autre des parents peut prendre jusqu’à 35 semaines;
  • L’autre parent peut prendre ce qui reste du total de 35 semaines;
  • Les parents peuvent se partager le total de 35 semaines selon diverses combinaisons. Par exemple, l’un des parents peut choisir de prendre 20 semaines et l’autre, 15 semaines; ou l’un des parents peut choisir de prendre 10 semaines et l’autre, 25 semaines. 
  • Si un couple décide que l’un des parents prend le total des 35 semaines, il n’en reste pas pour l’autre parent.

En comparaison, avec la nouvelle Prestation pour le partage parental de l’assurance-emploi :

  • L’un ou l’autre des parents peut prendre jusqu’à 35 semaines;
  • L’autre parent peut prendre ce qui reste du total de 40 semaines;
  • Les parents peuvent se partager les 40 semaines selon diverses combinaisons. Par exemple, les deux parents peuvent se partager la prestation également et prendre 20 semaines chacun, ou l’un des parents peut choisir de prendre 15 semaines et l’autre, les 25 semaines qui restent. 
  • Un minimum de 5 semaines est offert pour chaque parent.

Des règles équivalentes s’appliqueraient aux prestations parentales prolongées d’assurance-emploi, avec une limite de 61 semaines pour un parent et jusqu’à 69 semaines disponibles au total (payées à 33 % de la rémunération hebdomadaire moyenne).