Department of Finance Launches Consultations on Official Development Assistance Contributions

November 9, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is strengthening Canada's place in the world through an approach to international assistance that reflects Canadians' interests and values. This includes ensuring that Canada's international assistance is focused on addressing the needs of the world's poorest and most vulnerable people.

Today, the Department of Finance launched its 2018 consultations, which seek Canadians' views on its contributions to the World Bank Group's International Development Association, the Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative, and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank.

The Department would also like to hear from Canadians about how it can contribute to enhanced reporting of international assistance, as the Government committed to do in Budget 2018. Additional information about this consultation can be found in the consultation document.

Canadians are invited to submit their input by emailing APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca by December 21, 2018.

Quick Facts

  • Official Development Assistance plays a critical role in helping the poorest and most vulnerable, promoting gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, supporting fragile states, and helping to build a more inclusive, peaceful and prosperous world.
  • In 2017-18, the Department of Finance contributed $536.37 million out of the Government's total contribution of $5.37 billion for Official Development Assistance.
  • The Official Development Assistance Accountability Act came into force in 2008. Consulting on disbursements is a statutory requirement of the Act. Every two years, the Department of Finance is required to consult Canadians on its Official Development Assistance contributions.

Related Product

Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le ministère des Finances lance des consultations sur ses versements relatifs à l'aide publique au développement

Le 9 novembre 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'emploie à accroître la place qu'occupe le pays dans le monde grâce à une approche en matière d'aide internationale qui reflète les intérêts et les valeurs des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Il s'assure notamment que l'aide internationale consentie par le Canada est axée sur les besoins des personnes les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables du monde.

Aujourd'hui, le ministère des Finances a lancé ses consultations de 2018 pour recueillir les commentaires des Canadiens sur ses contributions à l'Association internationale de développement du Groupe de la Banque mondiale, à l'Initiative d'allègement de la dette multilatérale et à la Banque asiatique d'investissement dans les infrastructures.

Le Ministère souhaite également connaître les points de vue des Canadiens sur la façon dont il peut d'améliorer la communication de renseignements sur l'aide internationale qu'il accorde, comme le gouvernement s'est engagé à le faire dans le budget de 2018. De plus amples renseignements sur ces consultations figurent dans le document de consultation ci-joint.

Les Canadiens sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires par courriel d'ici le 21 décembre 2018, à l'adresse APD-consultation-ODA@fin.gc.ca.

Les faits en bref

  • L'aide publique au développement joue un rôle déterminant pour venir en aide aux populations les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, promouvoir l'égalité des sexes et l'autonomisation des femmes et des filles, soutenir les États fragiles et bâtir un monde plus inclusif, plus paisible et plus prospère.
  • En 2017-2018, le ministère des Finances a versé 536,37 millions de dollars d'aide publique au développement, alors que le montant total consenti par le gouvernement à ce chapitre s'est chiffré à 5,37 milliards.
  • La Loi sur la responsabilité en matière d'aide au développement officielle, entrée en vigueur en 2008, exige la tenue de consultations sur les versements relatifs à l'aide publique au développement effectués par le gouvernement. Le ministère des Finances doit consulter les Canadiens tous les deux ans au sujet de sa contribution.

Produit connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés