Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to the Bank of Canada Board of Directors

September 14, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians, through open, transparent and merit-based selection processes for all Governor-in-Council appointments.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of Paul Haggis, Raymond Ivany and Monique Mercier to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

Biographical information on the newly appointed Board members can be found below.

Quote

"The wealth of experience and diverse backgrounds that these new appointees bring to the Bank's Board of Directors will serve the Bank – and all Canadians – well. I wish them all the best in their new roles and responsibilities, and offer my thanks on behalf of Canadians for their commitment to the country."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada is a Crown corporation and Canada's central bank. It is responsible for Canada's monetary policy and bank notes, works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low, stable and predictable, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Bank of Canada's Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank's general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors' respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


Biographical Notes

Paul Haggis is currently Chairman of the Alberta Enterprise Corporation, Chair of the Audit Committee of Advantage Energy of Calgary, Director of Sunshine Village Corporation, and advisory board member and limited partner in CAI Firehorn Fund and Balfour Pacific. Since 2017, he has overseen the restructuring of Home Capital Group as Audit Chair and as an independent member of the Board of Directors. He recently retired as Governance Chair and Special Committee member of Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust. Prior appointments include UBC Investment Management Trust, Investment Committee Chair at Insurance Corporation of British Columbia, and Chair of Canadian Pacific following the proxy vote led by Pershing Square in 2012. Prior to his governance appointments Mr. Haggis was CEO of Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS), a founding Director and Interim CEO of the Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSPIB) and CEO of The Alberta Treasury Branches (ATB Financial). He was commissioned into the Canadian Armed Forces (Air Res) in 1971.

Raymond Ivany served as President and Vice-Chancellor of Acadia University in Wolfville, N.S. from 2009 to 2017. He is currently a private consultant and is a Director of Nova Scotia Power Inc. and Nova Scotia Business Inc. In 2012, he was asked by the Premier of Nova Scotia to chair an economic commission that resulted in a landmark report: Now or Never: An Urgent Call to Action for Nova Scotians. His previous responsibilities also include President and Chief Executive Officer of Nova Scotia Community College, Chair of the Workers' Compensation Board of Nova Scotia and Executive Vice President of the University College of Cape Breton. Over his career, he has advised numerous governments and served as a member of the National Roundtable on the Environment and Economy, Nova Scotia Fiscal Management Task Force, Canadian Council on Learning, Ontario Investing in Students Task Force, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, Federal Task Force on the Northern Cod Fishery and as a Special Advisor to the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA). Mr. Ivany has received numerous honours including being named to Maclean's Honour Roll of Ten Canadians Who Made a Difference (2004), Atlantic Business Magazine's Top 50 CEO Hall of Fame (2011) and, in 2017, he was named to the Order of Nova Scotia.

Monique Mercier is Executive Vice-President and Chief Governance Officer of TELUS Corporation, and had responsibilities for corporate affairs, including regulatory, media, real estate, sustainability and legal matters. She also served as Chief Legal, Governance and Human Resources Officer at Emergis. Her experience as Board Director includes Chair of the Corporate Governance Committee at Innergex Renewable Energy Inc., Chair of the Compensation Committee at Stornoway Diamond Corporation, and member of the Audit and Compensation Committees of the Société Générale de Financement du Québec. Mrs. Mercier also serves on the Boards of not-for-profits including the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, the Cancer Research Society, the TELUS Vancouver Community Board and the Legal Leaders for Diversity Trust. She is a graduate of the Université de Montréal Law School and obtained a master's degree in politics from Oxford University on a Commonwealth Scholarship.


Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada

Le 14 septembre 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à nommer des candidates et des candidats hautement qualifiés pouvant servir au mieux les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens par l'entremise d'un processus de sélection ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite pour toutes les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de M. Paul Haggis, de M. Raymond Ivany et de Mme Monique Mercier au conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada.

Des notices biographiques des nouveaux membres du conseil se trouvent ci-dessous.

Citation

« Grâce à leur grande expérience et à leurs antécédents variés, les nouveaux membres seront d'un grand apport pour le conseil d'administration de la Banque et pour l'ensemble de la population canadienne. Je leur souhaite beaucoup de succès dans l'exercice de ces nouveaux rôles et responsabilités, et je leur adresse mes remerciements, au nom des Canadiens, pour leur engagement à l'égard du pays. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Banque du Canada, une société d'État, est la banque centrale du pays. Elle est responsable de la politique monétaire et des billets de banque du Canada et s'emploie à préserver la valeur de la monnaie en maintenant l'inflation à un niveau bas, stable et prévisible. Elle s'acquitte également de responsabilités liées au système financier et à la gestion financière du pays.
  • Le conseil d'administration de la Banque du Canada assure la surveillance de la gestion et de l'administration de la banque centrale. Il examine les politiques générales de la Banque touchant les questions autres que la politique monétaire, renseigne la Banque sur la situation économique des diverses régions que représentent les administrateurs et nomme les titulaires des postes de gouverneur et de premier sous-gouverneur.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Pierre-Olivier Herbert
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
pierre-olivier.herbert@canada.ca
613-369-5696

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


Notices biographiques

Paul Haggis est actuellement président du conseil d'administration de l'Alberta Enterprise Corporation, président du comité d'audit d'Advantage Energy de Calgary, administrateur de la Sunshine Village Corporation et membre du conseil consultatif et associé commanditaire au CAI Firehorn Fund et à Balfour Pacific. Depuis 2017, il a encadré la restructuration du Home Capital Group en qualité de président du comité d'audit et de membre indépendant du conseil d'administration. Il a récemment pris sa retraite des fonctions de président, Gouvernance, et de membre du comité spécial de la Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust. Les nominations antérieures de M. Haggis comprennent des postes à la UBC Investment Management Trust, à l'Insurance Corporation of British Columbia (présidence du comité d'investissement) et au Canadien Pacifique (présidence du conseil d'administration, à la suite du vote par procuration dirigé par Pershing Square en 2012). Avant d'être nommé à des postes d'administrateur, M. Haggis a été premier dirigeant du Régime de retraite des employés municipaux de l'Ontario (OMERS), administrateur fondateur et chef de la direction par intérim de l'Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public (Investissements PSP), ainsi que chef de la direction d'Alberta Treasury Branches (ATB Financial). Il s'est joint aux Forces armées canadiennes (Réserve aérienne) en 1971.

Raymond Ivany a occupé les fonctions de président et de vice-chancelier de l'Université Acadia à Wolfville, en Nouvelle-Écosse, entre 2009 et 2017. Il est actuellement expert-conseil privé et membre des conseils d'administration de Nova Scotia Power Inc. et de Nova Scotia Business Inc. En 2012, le premier ministre de la Nouvelle-Écosse lui a demandé de présider une commission économique qui a été à l'origine d'un important rapport intitulé Now or Never: An Urgent Call to Action for Nova Scotians. Les fonctions antérieures de M. Ivany comprennent celles de président et chef de la direction du Collège communautaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de président de la Workers' Compensation Board de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de vice-président administratif du Collège universitaire du Cap-Breton. Au cours de sa carrière, M. Ivany a conseillé de nombreux gouvernements et a été membre de la Table ronde nationale sur l'environnement et l'économie, du groupe de travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse sur la gestion budgétaire, du Conseil canadien sur l'apprentissage, du Groupe d'étude sur l'investissement au service des étudiantes et des étudiants de l'Ontario, du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et du groupe de travail fédéral sur la pêche à la morue du Nord. Il a également été conseiller spécial auprès de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique. M. Ivany a reçu de nombreux honneurs; entre autres, le magazine Maclean's l'a inscrit à son tableau d'honneur des dix Canadiens qui ont changé les choses (Honour Roll of Ten Canadians Who Made a Difference) en 2004, la revue Atlantic Business Magazine l'a intronisé dans son temple de la renommée des 50 chefs de la direction les plus importants en 2011, et il a été admis à l'Ordre de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Monique Mercier est vice-présidente à la direction et chef des services de la gouvernance à la TELUS Corporation. Elle a aussi exercé des responsabilités liées aux affaires de la société, dont la réglementation, les relations avec les médias, les biens immobiliers, la durabilité et les affaires juridiques. Mme Mercier a aussi été chef des services juridiques, de la gouvernance et des ressources humaines chez Emergis. Son expérience au sein de conseils d'administration comprend la présidence du comité de gouvernance d'entreprise à Innergex Renewable Energy Inc., la présidence du comité de la rémunération à la Stornoway Diamond Corporation et des postes de membre des comités d'audit et de rémunération de la Société générale de financement du Québec. Mme Mercier siège aussi aux conseils d'organismes à but non lucratif, dont l'Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver, la Société de recherche sur le cancer, la TELUS Vancouver Community Board et la fiducie des Dirigeants juridiques pour la diversité. Elle est diplômée de la faculté de droit de l'Université de Montréal et a obtenu une maîtrise en science politique de l'université Oxford alors qu'elle était boursière du Commonwealth.


Restez branchés