Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Board of Directors

July 4, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians, through open, transparent and merit-based selection processes for all Governor-in-Council appointments.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of Linda Caty, Johanne Charbonneau, David Dominy and Wendy Millar to the Board of Directors of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC).

Linda Caty served as Vice President and General Secretary of National Bank of Canada for more than 17 years. In addition to her career as a senior executive, she has served on the boards of not-for-profit organizations such as the National Theatre School of Canada and the Centre des auteurs dramatiques.

Johanne Charbonneau served in leadership roles on several boards and has more than 35 years of experience in the financial services, regulatory, international development and media sectors. She was also Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of CBC/Radio-Canada, and Vice-President, Finance and CFO of CDIC.

David Dominy is currently Chief Executive Officer of Firma Foreign Exchange Corporation and has extensive experience in financial services, oil and gas services, production and transportation. Earlier in his career he worked at TD Bank in a variety of corporate, commercial and retail banking roles.

Wendy Millar currently serves on the University of Guelph's Board of Trustees, following a 33-year career with BMO Financial Group. Most recently she was BMO's Head, Retail and Business Banking Credit and Chief Risk Officer, Personal and Commercial Banking, after holding various other senior executive positions. She was previously on the Board of the Children's Aid Foundation, Interac, and MasterCard International Debit, as well as on a number of subsidiary and joint venture boards for BMO.

Quote

"The Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation plays an important role by insuring the savings of hard-working Canadians, and by collaborating with other federal agencies to ensure that Canada's financial system stays healthy. The four appointees announced today bring extensive private and public sector experience to their new roles, and together they will help further strengthen Canada's financial regulatory framework. I congratulate them on their appointments."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC), a federal Crown corporation, contributes to the stability of the Canadian financial system by providing deposit insurance against the loss of eligible deposits at member institutions.
  • The CDIC Board of Directors includes a Chairperson, five private sector directors who bring practical experience from the business world, and five public sector directors who provide knowledge of the financial, supervisory and regulatory environment in which CDIC operates. 
  • Budget 2018 amended the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Act to modernize and enhance the Canadian deposit insurance framework to ensure it continues to meet its objectives. These changes modernize the scope of deposit insurance coverage to better reflect products currently offered in the market, address the complexity of trust deposits, help protect depositors, improve understanding of insurance coverage, and ultimately better support financial sector stability in Canada. 

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


Biographical Notes

Linda Caty

Linda Caty is a lawyer and administrator who specializes in good governance, ethics, risk management and organizational development. She possesses 17 years of experience as Vice-President and Corporate Secretary for National Bank of Canada, has served as Corporate Secretary for BCE and Bell Canada, as well as for Meloche Monnex Inc., and has held a number of other key positions in organizations across various sectors in Canadian industry.

Since 2007, Ms. Caty has also dedicated herself to the École nationale de théatre du Canada, as a member of its Boards of Directors and Governors and as the Chair of its Strategic Planning Committee. She is a Director of the Ordre des technologues médicaux du Québec and has also served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Fondation du Centre des auteurs dramatiques from 2009 to 2013.

She holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Diploma in Corporate Law from the Université de Montréal, and is a member of the Quebec Bar.

Johanne Charbonneau

Johanne Charbonneau is a senior financial executive with more than 35 years of experience. Her career has spanned the private sector, government and Crown corporations. She was Vice-President and CFO of CBC/Radio-Canada from 2001 to 2009. She previously served as the Vice-President and CFO for the final six years of a 15-year tenure at CDIC. 

More recently, Ms. Charbonneau devoted her time and expertise to the growth and well-being of various organizations through Board governance. She is a former member of the Board of CS Alterna Bank (Chairs the Audit Committee) and its parent, Alterna Savings & Credit Union. 

She is the past Chair of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario (CPA Ontario) and is also on the Board of two other not-for-profits. Past Board engagements include the Co-operators Group and Central 1 Credit Union as well as the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre. 

She is an FCPA, FCGA and has an MBA. She recently obtained the C. Dir designation for Chartered Directors at McMaster University.

David Dominy

David Dominy joined Firma Foreign Exchange Corporation in June 2014 as CEO, bringing significant financial industry expertise and experience to the company. He spent 15 years in a variety of senior banking and investment banking roles with a Canadian chartered bank, as well as eight years as CEO of a private equity group in Western Canada. As CEO of a provincial regulatory body, he was directly involved in the implementation of new liquidity and capital standards for credit unions.

Mr. Dominy's extensive board career includes leadership roles on not-for-profit, private, public and Crown corporation boards. He is currently Chair of the Board and Chair Audit of Chandos Construction LP; Chair 3D Capital Inc., Director University of Winnipeg Foundation and an instructor in the Alberta School of Business' governance program for small and medium-sized enterprises.

He is an active contributor to a number of local charities, most recently as Chair of the Stollery Children's Hospital Foundation in Edmonton.

He holds a Masters of Management from the J.L. Kellogg School of Business in Chicago, a BA in mathematics from the University of Winnipeg, the Canadian Securities Course and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors of Canada.

Wendy Millar

Wendy Millar has held a number of executive leadership roles at BMO Financial Group across the Personal and Commercial business and the Enterprise Risk and Portfolio Management group. Her experience includes leading teams in retail and commercial product management and credit risk, in addition to managing BMO's high-risk consumer and commercial accounts.

She was previously on the Board of the Children's Aid Foundation, Interac, MasterCard International Debit and held various Board positions on several subsidiaries and strategic alliances for BMO. She has been twice recognized as one of Canada's Top 100 Powerful Women by Women's Executive Network.

Ms. Millar is a graduate of the University of Guelph's BA and MA Economics programs.

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada

Le 4 juillet 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à nommer des candidates et des candidats hautement qualifiés qui peuvent servir au mieux les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, au moyen de processus de sélection ouverts, transparents et fondés sur le mérite, pour toutes les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de Mme Linda Caty, de Mme Johanne Charbonneau, de M. David Dominy et de Mme Wendy Millar au conseil d'administration de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC).

Linda Caty a occupé le poste de vice-présidente et secrétaire corporatif de la Banque Nationale du Canada pendant plus de 17 ans. En plus de sa carrière de cadre supérieur, elle a siégé aux conseils d'administration d'organismes à but non lucratif comme l'École nationale de théâtre du Canada et le Centre des auteurs dramatiques.

Johanne Charbonneau a exercé des fonctions de leadership au sein de plusieurs conseils d'administration et compte plus de 35 années d'expérience dans les secteurs des services financiers, de la réglementation, du développement international et des médias. Elle a auparavant exercé les fonctions de vice-présidente et de chef de la direction financière de CBC/Radio-Canada et de vice-présidente des Finances et de directrice financière de la SADC.

David Dominy est le directeur général de Firma Corporation Cambiste. Il possède une vaste expérience dans les domaines des services financiers, des services pétroliers et gaziers, de la production et des transports. Plus tôt dans sa carrière, il a travaillé à la Banque TD, où il y a exercé diverses fonctions liées aux services bancaires commerciaux, aux entreprises et au public.

Wendy Millar siège actuellement au conseil d'administration de l'Université de Guelph, après une carrière de 33 ans chez BMO Groupe financier, dont elle a plus récemment été chef des Services de détail et d'entreprise et chef de la gestion globale des risques, au sein des Services bancaires aux particuliers et aux entreprises, après avoir occupé divers autres postes de haute direction. Elle a siégé aux conseils d'administration de la Fondation pour l'aide à l'enfance, d'Interac et de MasterCard International Debit, ainsi qu'à un bon nombre de conseils d'administration de filiales et de coentreprises de BMO.

Citation

« La Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada joue un rôle important en assurant l'épargne des Canadiens qui travaillent fort, et en collaborant avec d'autres organismes fédéraux pour maintenir la bonne santé du système financier du Canada. Les quatre personnes nommées aujourd'hui apportent une vaste expérience des secteurs public et privé à leurs nouvelles fonctions, et elles contribueront ensemble à renforcer davantage le cadre réglementaire financier du Canada. Je tiens à les féliciter pour leur nomination. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC), une société d'État fédérale, contribue à la stabilité du système financier canadien en fournissant de l'assurance contre la perte des sommes admissibles déposées auprès des institutions membres.
  • Le conseil d'administration de la SADC compte un président, cinq administrateurs possédant une expérience pratique du monde des affaires, et cinq administrateurs du secteur public qui offrent des connaissances de l'environnement financier, de surveillance et de réglementation dans laquelle évolue la SADC.
  • Dans le cadre du budget de 2018, la Loi sur la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada a été modifiée en vue de la modernisation et du renforcement du cadre de l'assurance-dépôts du Canada de manière à ce qu'il continue d'atteindre ses objectifs. Ces changements ont rajusté la portée de la couverture d'assurance-dépôts pour mieux tenir compte des produits actuellement sur le marché, réduire la complexité des dépôts en fiducie, aider à protéger les déposants et améliorer la compréhension de la couverture d'assurance, et en fin de compte, pour mieux appuyer la stabilité du secteur financier au Canada.

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


Notices biographiques

Linda Caty

Linda Caty est avocate et administratrice spécialisée dans la saine gouvernance, l'éthique, la gestion des risques et le développement organisationnel. Elle compte à son actif 17 années d'expérience en tant que vice-présidente et secrétaire corporatif de la Banque Nationale du Canada. Elle a aussi été secrétaire corporatif de BCE et Bell Canada ainsi que de Meloche Monnex Inc., et a occupé un bon nombre de postes clés dans des organisations de divers secteurs de l'industrie canadienne.

Depuis 2007, Mme Caty s'est aussi consacrée à l'École nationale de théâtre du Canada à titre de gouverneur, membre du conseil d'administration et présidente du comité de planification stratégique. Elle est administratrice de l'Ordre professionnel des technologistes médicaux du Québec, et elle a présidé le conseil d'administration de la Fondation du Centre des auteurs dramatiques de 2009 à 2013.

Elle est titulaire d'une licence en droit et d'un diplôme en droit des sociétés de l'Université de Montréal et membre du Barreau du Québec.

Johanne Charbonneau

Johanne Charbonneau est une haute dirigeante des finances ayant plus de 35 années d'expérience. Elle a travaillé dans les secteurs privé et public, et pour des sociétés d'État. Elle a été vice-présidente et chef de la direction financière de CBC/Radio-Canada de 2001 à 2009. Elle avait auparavant occupé les fonctions de vice-présidente et directrice financière pendant les 6 dernières années de son passage de 15 ans à la SADC.

Plus récemment, Mme Charbonneau a consacré son temps et son expertise à la croissance et au bien-être de diverses organisations par la gouvernance de conseils d'administration. Elle a été membre du conseil d'administration de la Banque Alterna (présidente du comité d'audit) et de sa société mère, la Caisse Alterna.

Ancienne présidente des Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario, elle siège actuellement au conseil d'administration de deux autres organismes à but non lucratif. Parmi les conseils d'administration au sein duquel elle a servi, figurent ceux du groupe Co-operators, de la Central 1 Credit Union ainsi que du Centre de santé mentale Royal Ottawa.

Mme Charbonneau détient les titres de FCPA et de FCGA ainsi qu'une maîtrise en administration des affaires. Elle a récemment obtenu le titre d'administratrice générale agréée de l'Université McMaster.

David Dominy

David Dominy s'est joint à Firma Corporation Cambiste en juin 2014 en tant que directeur général, où il y apporté une expertise et une expérience considérables de l'industrie financière. Il a exercé pendant 15 ans diverses fonctions de direction bancaires et de services bancaires d'investissement à une banque à charte canadienne, et 8 ans comme directeur général d'un groupe d'investissement en capital de l'Ouest canadien. En tant que directeur général d'un organisme de réglementation provincial, il a participé directement à la mise en œuvre de nouvelles normes en matière de liquidité et de capitaux pour les coopératives de crédit.

La longue carrière d'administrateur de M. Dominy comprend des postes de leadership au sein de conseils d'administration d'organismes à but non lucratif, privés et publics et de sociétés d'État. Il est actuellement président du conseil d'administration et du comité d'audit de Chandos Construction, président de 3D Capital Inc., administrateur de la Fondation de l'Université de Winnipeg et enseignant au programme de gouvernance de l'Alberta School of Business pour les petites et moyennes entreprises.

M. Dominy a activement travaillé pour un bon nombre d'organismes de bienfaisance locaux, dont récemment comme président de la Stollery Children's Hospital Foundation à Edmonton.

Il est titulaire d'une maîtrise en gestion de la J.L. Kellogg School of Business de Chicago et d'un baccalauréat en mathématiques de l'Université de Winnipeg, en plus d'avoir réussi le Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada et de détenir le titre IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés du Canada.

Wendy Millar

Wendy Millar a occupé plusieurs postes de haute direction chez BMO Groupe financier au sein du groupe des services personnels et commerciaux et du groupe de gestion des risques d'entreprise et des portefeuilles. Son expérience comprend la direction d'équipes de gestion de produits de détail et de produits commerciaux et de gestion des risques de crédit, en plus de gérer les comptes clients et commerciaux à risque élevé de BMO.

Elle a siégé aux conseils d'administration de la Fondation pour l'aide à l'enfance, d'Interac et de MasterCard International Debit et occupé divers postes aux conseils d'administration de plusieurs filiales et entreprises d'alliances stratégiques pour BMO. Elle a figuré à deux reprises sur la liste des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada, établie par le Réseau des femmes exécutives.

Mme Millar est titulaire d'un baccalauréat et d'une maîtrise en économie de l'Université de Guelph.

Restez branchés