Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to the Bank of Canada Board of Directors

June 28, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians, through open, transparent and merit-based selection processes for all Governor-in-Council appointments.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of Debora Bielecki, Stephanie Bowman, Robert Campbell, Mariette Mulaire and Anne Whelan to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

Minister Morneau also announced the reappointments of Claire Kennedy and Greg Stewart.

These appointments are for terms of various lengths of up to three years. Biographical information of the newly appointed and reappointed Board members can be found below.

Quote

“The experience and backgrounds of the new appointees announced today will make them fine additions to the Bank’s Board of Directors. I wish them the best as they take on these new and important roles, and offer my thanks to returning members of the Board for their continued service and hard work.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada is a Crown corporation and Canada’s central bank. It is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low and stable, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank’s general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors’ respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Biographical Notes

Debora Bielecki is a partner and business consultant with Bielecki & Associates Inc. and former global executive at Hewlett Packard Worldwide. She is the co-chair for Springboard Enterprises Canada empowering women-led businesses, a board advisor for Women Get on Board, a member of the West Deane Restoration Effort, and an advisor to many early stage companies.

Stephanie Bowman, FCPA, FCA, is a financial services corporate executive, management consultant and board member with over 25 years of experience leading large transformation projects in Canada, the U.S. and internationally. She recently completed a 9-year tenure at Scotiabank where she was most recently the Senior Vice President, Structural Cost Transformation. She is also a Fellow of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario‎.

Dr. Robert Campbell was the President and Vice-Chancellor of Mount Allison University from 2006 until June 2018. He has served on the boards of a number of professional organizations, including the Association of Atlantic Universities, the Atlantic Institute of Market Studies, Rothesay-Netherwood School, the Educational Computing Network (chair), and Atlantic University Sports. He was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2016.

Mariette Mulaire is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the World Trade Centre Winnipeg, and serves as member of the board of the World Trade Centers Association. Previously she was the President and Chief Executive Officer of l’Agence nationale et internationale du Manitoba, the Executive Director for the Economic Development Council for Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities, and held positions with the Department of Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Department of Canadian Heritage. She was also Co-chair of the Canada Games 2017 held in Winnipeg.

Anne Whelan is an entrepreneur, as well as principal shareholder and Chief Executive Officer of Seafair Capital, a growth-focused company with investments in community and behavioural health, wellness and safety. She is currently a board director with the Business Development Bank of Canada, CSA Group, board chair of Newfoundland Power, and regional vice chair for Atlantic Provinces Economic Council.

Claire Kennedy was first appointed to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada in December 2012, and is recognized as one of Canada’s leading tax lawyers. She is Managing Partner, Clients & Industries at Bennett Jones LLP, where she advises domestic and international clients on tax matters relating to acquisitions, financings, reorganizations, restructurings and the establishment of private equity and debt funds.

Greg Stewart was first appointed to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada in October 2014, and has more than 26 years of experience with Farm Credit Canada (FCC). From 2007 until June 2014, he was FCC’s President and Chief Executive Officer. Prior to this, he served as Chief Operating Officer, Senior Vice-President of National Lending Operations, Vice-President of Western Operations and Agri-business, and Vice-President of Risk Management.

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce des nominations au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada

Le 28 juin 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à nommer des candidates et des candidats hautement qualifiés pouvant servir au mieux les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens par l’entremise d’un processus de sélection ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite pour toutes les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Debora Bielecki, de Mme Stephanie Bowman, de M. Robert Campbell, de Mme Mariette Mulaire et de Mme Anne Whelan au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada.

Le ministre Morneau a aussi annoncé le renouvellement des mandats de Mme Claire Kennedy et de M. Greg Stewart.

Ces nominations sont assorties de mandats de diverses durées allant jusqu’à trois ans. Des notices biographiques des nouveaux membres du conseil et de ceux dont le mandat a été renouvelé se trouvent ci-dessous.

Citation

« En raison de leur expérience et de leurs antécédents, les nouveaux membres dont la nomination est annoncée aujourd’hui seront d’un grand apport pour le conseil d’administration de la Banque. Je leur souhaite beaucoup de succès dans ces rôles nouveaux et importants. Je remercie aussi les membres dont le mandat a été renouvelé pour leur service continu et leur travail acharné. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Banque du Canada, une société d’État, est la banque centrale du pays. Elle est responsable de la politique monétaire et des billets de banque du Canada, en plus de s’employer à préserver la valeur de la monnaie en maintenant l’inflation à un niveau bas et stable. Elle s’acquitte également de responsabilités liées au système financier et à la gestion financière du pays.
  • Le conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada assure la surveillance de la gestion et de l’administration de la banque centrale. Il examine les politiques générales de la Banque touchant les questions autres que la politique monétaire, renseigne la Banque sur la situation économique des diverses régions que représentent les administrateurs et nomme les titulaires des postes de gouverneur et de premier sous-gouverneur.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca

613-286-4285

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca

613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Notices biographiques

Debora Bielecki est associée et experte-conseil en affaires chez Bielecki and Associates Inc. et ancienne membre de la haute direction internationale de Hewlett Packard Worldwide. Elle est coprésidente de Springboard Enterprises Canada, qui donne des moyens d’agir aux entreprises dirigées par des femmes, membre du conseil consultatif de Women Get on Board, membre de l’équipe du projet de restauration du parc West Deane et conseillère auprès de nombreuses entreprises en démarrage.

Stephanie Bowman, FCPA, FCA, est cadre d’entreprise de services financiers, experte-conseil en gestion et membre de conseils d’administration. Elle possède plus de 25 ans d’expérience de la direction de projets transformateurs importants au Canada, aux États-Unis et à l’échelle internationale. Après neuf ans de service, elle a récemment quitté la Banque Scotia, où elle occupait il y a peu encore le poste de vice-présidente principale, Transformation des coûts structurels. Elle est également fellow des Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario.

Robert Campbell a été président et vice-chancelier de l’Université Mount Allison de 2006 à juin 2018. Il a siégé aux conseils d’administration de nombreuses organisations professionnelles, dont l’Association des universités de l’Atlantique, l’Atlantic Institute for Market Studies, l’école Rothesay-Netherwood, le Réseau informatique éducatif (en tant que président) et Sport universitaire de l’Atlantique. Il a été nommé membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2016.

Mariette Mulaire est présidente-directrice générale du World Trade Centre Winnipeg et membre du conseil d’administration de la World Trade Centers Association. Elle a occupé auparavant les postes de présidente et chef de la direction de l’Agence nationale et internationale du Manitoba et de directrice générale du Conseil de développement économique des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba. Elle a aussi occupé des postes au ministère de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest du Canada et au ministère du Patrimoine canadien. De plus, elle a coprésidé les Jeux du Canada de 2017 tenus à Winnipeg.

L’entrepreneure Anne Whelan est actionnaire principale et première dirigeante de Seafair Capital, une société axée sur la croissance qui investit dans la santé communautaire et comportementale, le bien-être et la sécurité. Elle est actuellement membre du conseil d’administration de la Banque de développement du Canada, du Groupe CSA et de Newfoundland Power, de même que vice-présidente régionale du Conseil économique des provinces de l’Atlantique.

Claire Kennedy, reconnue comme l’une des avocates-fiscalistes de premier plan au Canada, a été nommée au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada en décembre 2012. Elle est associée directrice, Clients et industries, chez Bennett Jones s.r.l., où elle conseille des clients nationaux et internationaux sur des questions de fiscalité liées aux acquisitions, aux financements, aux réorganisations, aux restructurations et à la création de fonds de capital-investissement et de fonds de titres de créance.

Greg Stewart, nommé au conseil d’administration de la Banque du Canada en octobre 2014, possède plus de 26 ans d’expérience à Financement agricole Canada (FAC). De 2007 à juin 2014, il était président-directeur général de FAC. Auparavant, il avait occupé les fonctions de chef des opérations, de vice-président principal des opérations nationales de prêt, de vice-président des opérations de l’Ouest et de l’agroentreprise et de vice-président de la gestion du risque.

Restez branchés