Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to the Bank of Canada Board of Directors

June 28, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians, through open, transparent and merit-based selection processes for all Governor-in-Council appointments.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of Debora Bielecki, Stephanie Bowman, Robert Campbell, Mariette Mulaire and Anne Whelan to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada.

Minister Morneau also announced the reappointments of Claire Kennedy and Greg Stewart.

These appointments are for terms of various lengths of up to three years. Biographical information of the newly appointed and reappointed Board members can be found below.


“The experience and backgrounds of the new appointees announced today will make them fine additions to the Bank’s Board of Directors. I wish them the best as they take on these new and important roles, and offer my thanks to returning members of the Board for their continued service and hard work.”

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Bank of Canada is a Crown corporation and Canada’s central bank. It is responsible for Canada’s monetary policy and bank notes, works to preserve the value of money by keeping inflation low and stable, and also has responsibilities relating to the financial system and funds management.
  • The Bank of Canada’s Board of Directors provides general oversight of the management and administration of the central bank. It reviews the Bank’s general policies, on matters other than monetary policy, keeps the Bank informed about prevailing economic conditions in Directors’ respective regions, and appoints the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230

Biographical Notes

Debora Bielecki is a partner and business consultant with Bielecki & Associates Inc. and former global executive at Hewlett Packard Worldwide. She is the co-chair for Springboard Enterprises Canada empowering women-led businesses, a board advisor for Women Get on Board, a member of the West Deane Restoration Effort, and an advisor to many early stage companies.

Stephanie Bowman, FCPA, FCA, is a financial services corporate executive, management consultant and board member with over 25 years of experience leading large transformation projects in Canada, the U.S. and internationally. She recently completed a 9-year tenure at Scotiabank where she was most recently the Senior Vice President, Structural Cost Transformation. She is also a Fellow of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario‎.

Dr. Robert Campbell was the President and Vice-Chancellor of Mount Allison University from 2006 until June 2018. He has served on the boards of a number of professional organizations, including the Association of Atlantic Universities, the Atlantic Institute of Market Studies, Rothesay-Netherwood School, the Educational Computing Network (chair), and Atlantic University Sports. He was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2016.

Mariette Mulaire is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the World Trade Centre Winnipeg, and serves as member of the board of the World Trade Centers Association. Previously she was the President and Chief Executive Officer of l’Agence nationale et internationale du Manitoba, the Executive Director for the Economic Development Council for Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities, and held positions with the Department of Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Department of Canadian Heritage. She was also Co-chair of the Canada Games 2017 held in Winnipeg.

Anne Whelan is an entrepreneur, as well as principal shareholder and Chief Executive Officer of Seafair Capital, a growth-focused company with investments in community and behavioural health, wellness and safety. She is currently a board director with the Business Development Bank of Canada, CSA Group, board chair of Newfoundland Power, and regional vice chair for Atlantic Provinces Economic Council.

Claire Kennedy was first appointed to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada in December 2012, and is recognized as one of Canada’s leading tax lawyers. She is Managing Partner, Clients & Industries at Bennett Jones LLP, where she advises domestic and international clients on tax matters relating to acquisitions, financings, reorganizations, restructurings and the establishment of private equity and debt funds.

Greg Stewart was first appointed to the Board of Directors of the Bank of Canada in October 2014, and has more than 26 years of experience with Farm Credit Canada (FCC). From 2007 until June 2014, he was FCC’s President and Chief Executive Officer. Prior to this, he served as Chief Operating Officer, Senior Vice-President of National Lending Operations, Vice-President of Western Operations and Agri-business, and Vice-President of Risk Management.

Stay Connected