Canadian Business Growth Fund to Help Canadian Companies Create Jobs

June 19, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Canada’s economic success rests not only on the hard work of Canadians, but also on the ability of Canadian businesses to access the capital they need to grow, create jobs, and compete in the global marketplace.

Finance Minister Bill Morneau and Minister of Small Business and Tourism and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons Bardish Chagger today praised the Canadian Business Growth Fund for its commitment to help small- and medium-sized enterprises in Canada grow, create more good, well-paying jobs, and compete internationally.

Canada’s leading banks and other key financial institutions have joined forces through the Fund, jointly committing up to $1 billion over 10 years to support the growth of Canada’s promising small- and medium-sized enterprises.

In addition to making this long-term capital available to high-growth companies, the Fund will provide recipient companies with guidance, mentorship and access to investors’ networks, so that the next generation of Canadian entrepreneurs and innovators can grow their businesses, create good, well-paying jobs for Canadians, and lead the way in the new economy.

Quotes

"I applaud the efforts of Canadian financial institutions to work together to help Canadian companies grow, and to help build an innovative and diversified economy that will create jobs and deliver long-term economic growth for our country. With access to more growth capital, Canadian businesses will have more opportunities to succeed, to grow, and to become true global leaders."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

"Thanks to this first commitment from the Canadian Business Growth Fund, promising small and mid-sized firms can now access funds to grow their businesses and reach global markets. This important announcement is a big step forward in providing Canada’s next generation of entrepreneurs and innovators with much needed capital to become global leaders, creating good, middle class jobs for Canadians."

- Bardish Chagger, Minister of Small Business and Tourism and Leader of the Government in the House of Commons

Quick Facts

  • The Canadian Business Growth Fund will invest as much as $1 billion over 10 years to support Canada’s high-growth small- and medium-sized enterprises. It will serve to fill a capital need by offering minority equity investments in ambitious Canadian companies.
  • The Fund aims to fill a gap between the small-scale financing options generally available to entrepreneurs and smaller firms, and the range of sources available to larger, more established companies. A typical investment amount in each company that benefits from the Fund is expected to range between $3 million and $20 million.
  • The Fund will apply commercial decision-making and discipline to investments, and will provide advice, mentorship and access to talent pools to help firms realize their full potential.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le Fonds de croissance de sociétés canadiennes aidera les entreprises canadiennes à créer des emplois

Le 19 juin 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

La réussite économique du Canada repose non seulement sur le travail assidu des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, mais aussi sur l’accès des entreprises du pays aux capitaux dont elles ont besoin pour croître, créer des emplois et être concurrentielles sur les marchés mondiaux.

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, et la ministre de la Petite Entreprise et du Tourisme et leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, Bardish Chagger, ont aujourd’hui fait l’éloge du Fonds de croissance de sociétés canadiennes pour son engagement à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes au Canada à croître, à créer davantage de bons emplois bien rémunérés et à être concurrentielles à l’échelle internationale.

Les principales banques et d’autres institutions financières clés du pays ont uni leurs efforts dans le cadre du Fonds, s’engageant à verser jusqu’à 1 milliard de dollars sur dix ans pour appuyer la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes prometteuses.

En plus d’offrir ces capitaux à long terme aux sociétés à forte croissance, le Fonds offrira des conseils aux entreprises retenues, un mentorat et un accès aux réseaux d’investisseurs. Ainsi, la nouvelle génération d’entrepreneurs et d’innovateurs canadiens pourra assurer la croissance de ses entreprises, créer de bons emplois bien rémunérés pour les Canadiens et montrer la voie dans la nouvelle économie.

Citations

« Je salue les efforts de collaboration déployés par les institutions financières canadiennes afin d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à croître, et à aider à bâtir une économie diversifiée et innovatrice qui créera des emplois et assurera une croissance économique durable dans notre pays. En ayant accès à davantage de capital de croissance, les entreprises canadiennes auront de plus nombreuses occasions de réussir, de prendre de l’expansion et de devenir de véritables chefs de file mondiaux. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

« Grâce à ce premier engagement du Fonds de croissance de sociétés canadiennes, de petites et moyennes entreprises prometteuses ont maintenant accès à des fonds qui leur permettraient de prendre de l’expansion et de percer sur les marchés mondiaux. Cette annonce importante représente un grand pas en avant pour offrir à la prochaine génération d’entrepreneurs et d’innovateurs du Canada les capitaux dont ils ont tant besoin pour devenir des chefs de file mondiaux et créer de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne canadienne. »

- Bardish Chagger, ministre de la Petite Entreprise et du Tourisme et leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes

Les faits en bref

  • Le Fonds de croissance de sociétés canadiennes investira jusqu’à 1 milliard de dollars sur dix ans pour appuyer les petites et moyennes entreprises à forte croissance du Canada. Le Fonds comblera un besoin de financement en proposant des participations minoritaires au capital d’entreprises canadiennes ambitieuses.
  • Le Fonds vise à remédier à une lacune dans le segment du marché se situant entre les options de financement à petite échelle généralement disponibles aux entrepreneurs et petites entreprises, d’une part, et l’éventail de sources de fonds disponibles aux plus grandes entreprises mieux établies, d’autre part. L’investissement type dans chaque entreprise bénéficiant du Fonds devrait se situer entre 3 millions et 20 millions de dollars.
  • Le Fonds appliquera la prise de décisions et la discipline commerciales en ce qui concerne ses investissements, et il fournira des conseils, un mentorat et un accès à des bassins d’employés talentueux afin d’aider les entreprises à réaliser leur plein potentiel.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés