Minister Morneau Announces Appointments to the Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors

June 13, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for Governor in Council appointments—one that will result in highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of Ms. Fiona L. Macdonald, Dr. Sandip K. Lalli and Dr. Gilles Patry to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. These appointments are for four years.

Ms. Macdonald serves as an Independent Director on the Board of GMP Capital, and is Chair of its Management Resources and Compensation Committee, as well as a member of its Audit Committee and Governance and Nominating Committee. She is also a Director at the BC Ferry Authority and the Chair of the BC Chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Dr. Lalli currently serves as the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Calgary Chamber of Commerce. She is a veteran business strategist and senior executive professional with multifaceted experience as both an independent entrepreneur and an executive in international corporations in the agriculture, financial markets, and oil and gas industries.

Dr. Patry is the Executive Director of the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities and the former President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canada Foundation for Innovation. Dr. Patry also served as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa.

Quote

"I wish to congratulate the candidates on their successful appointments to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. Their diverse backgrounds and extensive experience will be an asset to the Board, and I wish them great success in these new roles."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is the Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada's circulation coins.
  • The Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Associated Link

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Biographical Notes

Ms. Fiona L. Macdonald

Ms. Fiona L. Macdonald has had a successful career in professional services, building industry-leading consulting practices in Canada and the U.S. She is also a recognized expert in executive compensation.

She is an Independent Director on the Board of GMP Capital, and is Chair of the Management Resources and Compensation Committee, as well as member of both its Audit, and Governance and Nominating Committees. She is also a Director at the BC Ferry Authority.

She is the Chair of the BC Chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors and is an accredited director with the ICD.D designation.

With over 28 years in consulting, Ms. Macdonald has worked with hundreds of companies in a wide range of industries. She has extensive experience in boardrooms, and in negotiations. She also has experience as a corporate and commercial banker.

Ms. Macdonald holds a BA in International Relations and an MBA from the University of British Columbia, and is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Ms. Macdonald is currently based in Vancouver, BC.

Dr. Sandip K. Lalli, FCPA, ICD.D

Dr. Sandip Lalli is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Calgary Chamber of Commerce. Her global career has taken her from Alberta to Singapore and many other countries along the way.

She has been called upon to identify opportunities for growth and assess business risk. Known for her communication skills and visionary leadership, she has led in the face of adversity and seeming impossibility. International corporations have entrusted her with strategic planning and execution for some of their most important initiatives.

She has a firm belief that making a contribution to society is fundamental, and that the contribution she can make to society is rooted in a practical business sense: a belief that a contribution to a strong economy equates to a better quality of life for everyone.

For Cargill Incorporated—the largest global, privately held company providing food, agriculture, financial and industrial products and services to the world—she steered the financial management from High River, Alberta to operations in the United States, and advised colleagues in Brazil, Honduras, England, Switzerland, Belgium, the Netherlands, Russia, Singapore, India, Papua New Guinea and Mexico.

Dr. Lalli holds an Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D) designation, a Doctorate in Business Administration and a Master's degree, and is a Fellow Chartered Professional Accountant.

Dr. Gilles Patry

Dr. Gilles Patry is Executive Director of the U15 Group of Canadian Research Universities, a collective of Canada's leading research-intensive universities designed to foster the development and delivery of long-term, sustainable higher education and research policy, in Canada and around the world.

Dr. Patry holds a B.A.Sc. and M.A.Sc. in civil engineering from the University of Ottawa, and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Davis. 

From 2010 to 2017, he was President and CEO of the Canada Foundation for Innovation, an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure at universities, colleges and research hospitals. From 1993 to 2008, he successively served as Dean of Engineering, Vice-President (Academic), and President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa. He began his career in 1971 as an environmental engineering consultant, before becoming professor of civil engineering, a position he held for 15 years, first at École Polytechnique de Montréal and later at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario.

He has received honorary doctorates from the University of Waterloo, McMaster University, the University of Lyon and Western University.

Dr. Patry is a Member of the Order of Canada, a recipient of the Order of Ontario and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He was named Executive of the Year in 2004 by the Regroupement des gens d'affaires de la Capitale nationale. In 2009, he was named Chevalier de l'Ordre de la Pléiade by the Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie.

Stay Connected

Le ministre Morneau annonce des nominations au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Le 13 juin 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à suivre un processus ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite en ce qui concerne les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Ce processus de sélection a pour objet la nomination de candidates et de candidats hautement qualifiés afin de servir les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de Mme Fiona L. Macdonald, de Mme Sandip K. Lalli et de M. Gilles Patry au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Ces nominations sont assorties d'un mandat de quatre ans.

Mme Macdonald occupe le poste d'administratrice indépendante au conseil de la société GMP Capital, dont elle est présidente du comité des ressources de gestion et de la rémunération, en plus d'être membre du comité d'audit et du comité de la gouvernance d'entreprise et des mises en candidature. Elle assume également les fonctions d'administratrice à la BC Ferry Authority et de présidente de la section de la Colombie-Britannique de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Mme Lalli occupe actuellement le poste de présidente et chef de la direction de la Chambre de commerce de Calgary. Elle est une conseillère en stratégies commerciales chevronnée et une professionnelle de haute direction possédant une expérience diversifiée en tant qu'entrepreneure indépendante et membre de la haute direction de sociétés internationales des secteurs de l'agriculture, des marchés financiers, du pétrole et du gaz.

M. Patry est directeur général de l'U15, Regroupement des universités de recherche du Canada, et a été président-directeur général de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation. Il a aussi été recteur et vice-chancelier de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Citation

« Je tiens à féliciter les candidats pour leur nomination au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Les antécédents variés et la grande expérience de ces personnes constitueront des atouts pour le conseil, et je leur souhaite beaucoup de succès dans ces nouveaux rôles. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est la société d'État responsable de la production et de la distribution des pièces de monnaie de circulation canadiennes.
  • La Monnaie est reconnue comme l'un des établissements de monnayage les plus importants et les plus polyvalents au monde. Elle propose toute une gamme de produits spécialisés de grande qualité et des services connexes à l'échelle internationale.

Lien connexe

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Notices biographiques

Fiona L. Macdonald

Fiona L. Macdonald a connu une carrière réussie dans le domaine des services professionnels, développant des cabinets de consultation devenus chefs de file de leur industrie au Canada et aux États-Unis. Elle est également une experte reconnue de la rémunération des cadres.

Mme Macdonald est membre indépendante du conseil d'administration de la société GMP Capital, dont elle est présidente du comité des ressources de gestion et de la rémunération, ainsi que membre du comité d'audit et du comité de la gouvernance d'entreprise et des mises en candidature. Elle siège également au conseil d'administration de la BC Ferry Authority.

Mme Macdonald assume également les fonctions de présidente de la section de la Colombie-Britannique de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et est directrice accréditée ayant le titre IAS.A de l'Institut.

Dans son parcours de plus de 28 ans dans le domaine de la consultation, Mme Macdonald a œuvré auprès de centaines d'entreprises d'un large éventail d'industries. Elle possède une vaste expérience des conseils d'administration et des négociations. Elle possède aussi de l'expérience dans le domaine des services bancaires commerciaux et d'affaires.

Mme Macdonald est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en relations internationales et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et est membre de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés.

Elle est actuellement établie à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Sandip K. Lalli, FCPA, IAS.A

Sandip Lalli est actuellement présidente et chef de la direction de la Chambre de commerce de Calgary. Sa carrière internationale l'a menée de l'Alberta à Singapour en passant par de nombreux autres pays.

Elle a été appelée à cerner des possibilités de croissance et à évaluer des risques opérationnels. Connue pour ses compétences en communication et son leadership visionnaire, elle a exercé ce leadership dans des situations d'adversité et d'impossibilité apparente. Des sociétés internationales lui ont confié la planification stratégique et l'exécution de certaines de leurs initiatives les plus importantes.

Mme Lalli croit fermement qu'il est essentiel d'apporter une contribution à la société, que la contribution qu'elle peut y apporter s'appuie sur un sens pratique des affaires, et qu'une contribution à la vigueur de l'économie se traduit par une meilleure qualité de vie pour tous.  

Au service de Cargill Incorporated, la plus importante société privée au monde offrant des produits et services alimentaires, agricoles, financiers et industriels, elle a dirigé la gestion financière depuis High River, en Alberta, jusqu'aux opérations aux États-Unis, et elle a conseillé des collègues au Brésil, au Honduras, en Angleterre, en Suisse, en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas, en Russie, à Singapour, en Inde, en Papouasie–Nouvelle-Guinée et au Mexique.

Elle détient le titre IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés, un doctorat en administration des affaires ainsi qu'une maîtrise, et porte le titre de Fellow des Comptables professionnels agréés.

Gilles Patry

Gilles Patry est le directeur général de l'U15, Regroupement des universités de recherche du Canada, un regroupement de grandes universités du Canada axées sur la recherche qui a été conçu pour favoriser l'élaboration et la mise en place de politiques d'éducation supérieure et de recherche durables à long terme, au Canada comme dans le monde.

Il détient un baccalauréat ès sciences et une maîtrise en génie civil de l'Université d'Ottawa ainsi qu'un doctorat de l'Université de la Californie à Davis.

De 2010 à 2017, il a assumé les fonctions de président-directeur général de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation, une société indépendante créée par le gouvernement du Canada afin de financer l'infrastructure de recherche dans les universités, les collèges et les hôpitaux de recherche. De 1993 à 2008, il a successivement été doyen de la Faculté de génie, vice-recteur à l'enseignement puis recteur et vice-chancelier de l'Université d'Ottawa. Expert-conseil en génie environnemental au début de sa carrière en 1971, il a plus tard occupé des postes de professeur de génie civil pendant 15 ans, d'abord à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal puis à l'Université McMaster, à Hamilton, en Ontario.

Il a reçu des doctorats honorifiques des universités McMaster, Western, de Waterloo et de Lyon.

M. Patry est membre de l'Ordre du Canada, récipiendaire de l'Ordre de l'Ontario, et Fellow de l'Académie canadienne du génie. Le Regroupement des gens d'affaires de la Capitale nationale l'a nommé administrateur de l'année en 2004. En 2009, l'Assemblée parlementaire de la Francophonie lui a décerné le titre de Chevalier de l'Ordre de la Pléiade.

Restez branchés