International Monetary Fund Recognizes Canada's Success in Delivering Growth That Works for Everyone

June 4, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today welcomed the Concluding Statement of the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) annual Article IV Mission to Canada, which found that the Government's plan to invest to strengthen and grow the middle class has resulted in economic growth that is working for all Canadians.

In examining the Government's pro-growth policies, the IMF confirmed the soundness of the Government's economic approach and the strength of Canada's economy, which had the highest growth rate among G7 countries last year. The IMF also confirmed that the measures the Government has introduced to address housing-related vulnerabilities have had their intended effect.

The IMF also reviewed developments in a number of other areas, including monetary and tax policy, as well as the evolution of Canada's housing market. The Government continues to monitor these issues closely to ensure that its actions continue to support growth and contribute to a strong middle class.

Quote

"Our government's approach of investing in people and in the economy is yielding positive results, which are being recognized around the world. I want to thank the IMF for their recognition of Canada's sound economic approach and I look forward to continuing our good work together in building a global economy that works for everyone."

- Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • Since early 2016, the Canadian economy created more than 600,000 jobs, most of them full-time.
  • Canada's unemployment rate is at its lowest level in 40 years.
  • Since 2016, Canada has led the G7 in economic growth.
  • Canada's federal debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio remains firmly on a downward track and the deficit-to-GDP ratio is projected to reach 0.5 per cent in 2022–23.
  • Canada's total government net debt-to-GDP ratio is the lowest among G7 countries.

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Daniel Lauzon
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le Fonds monétaire international reconnaît que le Canada réussit à générer une croissance économique qui profite à tout le monde

Le 4 juin 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a accueilli favorablement aujourd'hui la publication de la déclaration finale de la mission de consultation annuelle au titre de l'article IV réalisée au Canada par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI). Cette déclaration indique que le plan du gouvernement pour renforcer et faire croître la classe moyenne a entraîné une croissance économique qui profite à l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Dans le cadre de son examen des politiques du gouvernement visant à favoriser la croissance, le FMI a confirmé la solidité de l'approche économique du gouvernement et la vigueur de l'économie canadienne, qui a enregistré l'an dernier le taux de croissance le plus élevé parmi les pays du G7. Le FMI a aussi confirmé que les mesures instaurées par le gouvernement en réaction aux vulnérabilités liées au marché du logement avaient eu l'effet prévu.

Le FMI a par ailleurs examiné l'évolution de la situation dans plusieurs autres domaines, notamment les politiques monétaire et fiscale et le marché national du logement. Le gouvernement continue de surveiller ces facteurs de près afin de s'assurer que les mesures qu'il prend continuent d'appuyer la croissance, tout en contribuant à la vigueur de la classe moyenne.

Citation

« Notre démarche qui consiste à investir dans la population et l'économie donne des résultats positifs qui sont constatés partout dans le monde. Je remercie le FMI d'avoir reconnu l'approche solide adoptée par le Canada en matière d'économie, et j'ai hâte de poursuivre notre bon travail pour bâtir une économie mondiale qui profite à tout le monde. »

- Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • Depuis le début de 2016, l'économie canadienne a créé plus de 600 000 emplois, dont la plupart sont des postes à temps plein.
  • Le taux de chômage du Canada se situe à son niveau le plus bas depuis 40 ans.
  • Depuis 2016, le Canada est en tête du G7 au chapitre de la croissance économique.
  • Le ratio de la dette fédérale au produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada poursuit fermement sa trajectoire à la baisse; il devrait reculer à 0,5 % en 2022-2023.
  • Le ratio de la dette nette au PIB de l'ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada est le plus faible des pays du G7.

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Daniel Lauzon
Directeur des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
daniel.lauzon3@canada.ca
613-286-4285

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés