Government of Canada Adopts Regulations to Support a Sound and Resilient Financial System

April 18, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to building greater confidence in Canada's strong and well-functioning financial sector. An economy that works for the middle class and those working hard to join it relies on trust and confidence in our financial institutions.

Today, the Government published regulations in Part II of the Canada Gazette that implement key features of the Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime, introduced in 2016 for Canada's domestic systemically important banks. The regime provides authorities with an additional tool to deal with the unlikely failure of a major bank, in a manner that preserves financial stability while protecting the interests of taxpayers.

The regulations identify which types of debt instruments will be subject to the regime. The bail-in regulations do not apply to deposits—including chequing accounts, savings accounts and term deposits such as Guaranteed Investment Certificates—which will continue to benefit from the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation deposit insurance framework. 

The regime is consistent with international standards and fulfills the Budget 2016 commitment to introduce a bail-in regime.

Related Product

Associated Links

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Le gouvernement du Canada adopte un règlement visant à appuyer la solidité et la résilience du système financier

Le 18 avril 2018 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à renforcer la confiance à l'égard de la solidité et du bon fonctionnement du secteur financier canadien. Une économie qui fonctionne pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie dépend de la confiance dans ses institutions financières.

Le gouvernement a publié aujourd'hui dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada des règlements mettant en œuvre les principales caractéristiques du régime de recapitalisation interne des banques, mis sur pied en 2016 et destiné aux banques d'importance systémique nationale du Canada. Le régime offre aux autorités un outil supplémentaire pour composer avec l'improbable éventualité de la défaillance d'une grande banque, d'une façon qui assure la sécurité du système financier tout en protégeant les intérêts des contribuables.

Les règlements sur la recapitalisation interne indiquent les types d'instruments de dette qui seront assujettis au régime. Le régime ne vise pas les dépôts, notamment les comptes de chèques, les comptes d'épargne et les dépôts à terme comme les certificats de placement garantis, qui continueront d'être couverts par le cadre d'assurance-dépôts de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada. 

Le régime respecte les normes internationales et l'engagement du gouvernement, pris dans le budget de 2016, à mettre en œuvre un régime de recapitalisation interne.

Produit connexe

Liens connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés