Backgrounder on Simplified Measures to Address Income Sprinkling

Introduction

As the Government of Canada reduces taxes on small businesses, it is ensuring that the benefits of these lower tax rates are shared fairly, and support owners who invest in their business, create jobs, strengthen the middle class and grow the economy.

In July 2017, the Government released a consultation paper with proposals to address unfair tax planning strategies using private corporations. The proposals addressing income sprinkling included draft legislation released for comment. In October, the Government made several announcements with respect to the proposals, including that the Government will not move forward with measures that would limit access to the Lifetime Capital Gains Exemption or with measures relating to the conversion of income into capital gains.

Based on feedback from Canadians during the consultation period, the Government is simplifying and better targeting its proposal to limit the ability of owners of private corporations to lower their personal income taxes by sprinkling their income to family members who do not contribute to the business.

Family members who make a meaningful contribution to the business will not be affected by the new measures.

Summary of Income Sprinkling Rule Changes

Specifically, these tax changes (which are proposed to be effective for the 2018 and subsequent taxation years) will clarify the process for determining whether a family member is significantly involved in a business, and thus is excluded from potentially being taxed at the highest marginal tax rate (known as the tax on split income or TOSI).

The changes include clear, "bright-line" tests – or off ramps – to automatically exclude individual members of a business owner's family who fall into any of the following categories:

  • The business owner's spouse, provided that the owner meaningfully contributed to the business and is aged 65 or over. In recognition of the special challenges associated with planning for retirement and managing retirement income, the new approach to income sprinkling will be better aligned with the existing pension income splitting rules. This also reflects the fact that a business can play an important part in supporting its owner in retirement.
  • Adults aged 18 or over who have made a substantial labour contribution (generally an average of at least 20 hours per week) to the business during the year, or during any five previous years. For businesses with seasonal operations, such as may be the case with farms and fisheries, the labour contribution requirement will be applied for the part of the year in which the business operates.
  • Adults aged 25 or over who own 10 per cent or more of a corporation that earns less than 90 per cent of its income from the provision of services and is not a professional corporation.
  • Individuals who receive capital gains from qualified small business corporation shares and qualified farm or fishing property, if they would not be subject to the highest marginal tax rate on the gains under existing rules.

Individuals aged 25 or over who do not meet any of the exclusions described above would be subject to a reasonableness test to determine how much income, if any, would be subject to the highest marginal tax rate. In certain cases, adults aged 18 to 24 who have contributed to a family business with their own capital will be able to use the reasonableness test on the related income.

For additional clarity, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) has released guidance with respect to these measures. The CRA's guidance will seek to help businesses and family members understand the operation of the measures and, in doing so, effectively reduce their compliance burden in relation to these new rules. Taxpayers with questions regarding its guidance can contact the CRA.

Impact of New Changes

The vast majority of private corporations will not be impacted by these proposals. In fact, the simplified measures have further reduced the number of businesses potentially affected from 50,000 corporations – about 3 per cent of Canadian-controlled private corporations – to fewer than 45,000. More significantly, the proposals provide greater certainty that the revised rules will not apply to individuals who make a meaningful contribution to a business.

Owners of private corporations will have until the end of 2018 to adjust to the new exclusion for non-service businesses.

Next Steps

The revised income sprinkling measures are proposed to be effective for the 2018 and subsequent taxation years. The measures will be legislated as part of the Budget process.

The Government will also move forward with measures to limit tax deferral opportunities related to passive investments, and details of that plan will be included in Budget 2018. When introduced, the passive investment measures will apply only on a go-forward basis.

Other Actions to Ensure Fairness and Support Small Business

As the economy grows, the Government will ensure the middle class shares in the benefits of this growth, by keeping taxes low on middle class Canadians, including small businesses and family-run businesses.

In addition to these changes to the income sprinkling measures, the Government is taking a range of actions to ensure fairness and support small business, including:

  • Lowering the federal small business tax rate from 11 per cent in 2015 (to 10 per cent effective January 1, 2018, and to nine per cent effective January 1, 2019), knowing that a continued tax advantage for Canadian businesses – including the lowest small business tax rate in the G7 – will help them to create more jobs and grow the economy.
  • Moving forward with measures to limit the tax deferral opportunities related to passive investments, while providing business owners with more flexibility to build a cushion of savings for business purposes – for example, to deal with a possible downturn or finance a future expansion – as well as to deal with personal circumstances, such as parental leave, sick days or retirement.
  • Intergenerational transfers. During the consultation period, the Government heard from business owners, including many farmers and fishers, about the challenges with intergenerational transfers of businesses. The Government will work with family businesses, including farming and fishing businesses, to make it more efficient, or less difficult, to hand down their businesses to the next generation.

Gender-Based Analysis

Gender considerations previously communicated with respect to the proposed income sprinkling measures are not affected by these revised draft legislative proposals. Data show that men represent over 70 per cent of higher-income earners initiating income sprinkling strategies, and women represent about 68 per cent of recipients of sprinkled dividends (and 58 per cent of recipients of income derived from trusts and partnerships). While this income is of benefit for recipients, it also creates incentives that reduce female participation in the workforce. Increased participation of women in the workforce is a source of economic opportunity for individuals and is a major driver of overall economic growth.

Examples

Example 1

Frances worked for her parents' manufacturing business on a full-time basis throughout the year in which she turned 22 to the year in which she turned 28. Frances then stepped back from being involved in the business for three years. Frances received dividend income from her parents' manufacturing business during the years she worked for the business, as well as the three years when she did not participate in the business.

The highest marginal tax rate would not apply in respect of any of the dividends Frances receives. With respect to the dividends received by Frances in the years she was working full-time, the highest marginal tax rate would not apply, on the basis that she was actively engaged in the business on a regular, continuous and substantial basis in the year that the dividend was received (she would also satisfy the "bright-line" test of working an average of 20 hours per week). With respect to the dividends received by Frances in the years after she stepped back from the business, the highest marginal tax rate would not apply as the business would be an "excluded business" on the basis that she was actively engaged in the business on a regular, continuous and substantial basis for at least five prior years.

Example 2

Jeff and Charles are spouses. Jeff is a doctor practicing family medicine through a professional corporation on a full-time basis. Charles is not a doctor. He runs Jeff's medical clinic and he works four days a week for eight hours a day, taking six weeks of vacation per year (including all of July). The rest of the time, Charles runs a part-time consulting business. Both Jeff and Charles own shares in the professional corporation. Each year, the professional corporation pays Jeff and Charles salaries. The retained earnings in the professional corporation are then paid out as dividends to Jeff and Charles on a 50/50 basis.

Both Jeff and Charles would be considered to be actively engaged on a regular, continuous and substantial basis in the business carried on by the professional corporation. Jeff and Charles would have certainty that they satisfy this condition because they both satisfy the 20-hour deeming rule. Therefore, the highest marginal tax rate would not apply to Jeff or Charles' dividend income.

Document d'information sur les mesures simplifiées relatives à la répartition du revenu

Introduction

À mesure que le gouvernement du Canada abaisse les impôts des petites entreprises, il veille à ce que les avantages de ces taux d'imposition plus faibles soient partagés de manière équitable et qu'ils appuient les propriétaires qui investissent dans leur entreprise, créent des emplois, renforcent la classe moyenne et font croître l'économie.

En juillet 2017, le gouvernement a publié un document de consultation contenant des propositions visant des stratégies de planification fiscale injustes au moyen de sociétés privées. Les propositions relatives à la répartition du revenu comprenaient une ébauche de propositions législatives publiée aux fins de consultation. En octobre dernier, le gouvernement a fait plusieurs annonces concernant les propositions, notamment celle qu'il n'adopterait pas de mesures limitant l'admissibilité à l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital ou de mesures se rapportant à la conversion du revenu en gains en capital.

S'appuyant sur les commentaires reçus des Canadiennes et des Canadiens pendant la période de consultation, le gouvernement a élaboré une proposition simplifiée et mieux ciblée visant à restreindre la capacité des propriétaires de sociétés privées à réduire leur impôt sur le revenu des particuliers en distribuant une partie de leur revenu à des membres de leur famille qui n'apportent aucune contribution à l'entreprise.

Les membres de la famille qui apportent une contribution importante à l'entreprise ne seront pas touchés par les nouvelles mesures.

Résumé des changements aux règles sur la répartition du revenu

Plus précisément, ces modifications fiscales proposées (qui doivent s'appliquer à compter de l'année d'imposition 2018) préciseront la méthode permettant de déterminer si un membre de la famille participe de façon importante à une entreprise et n'est donc pas assujetti au taux d'imposition marginal le plus élevé (par l'application de ce qu'on appelle l'impôt sur le revenu fractionné [IRF]).

Les modifications comprennent des critères de ligne de démarcation nette selon lesquels les membres de la famille du propriétaire de l'entreprise sont automatiquement exclus de l'application de l'IRF s'ils font partie de l'une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :

  • Le conjoint du propriétaire de l'entreprise, à condition que le propriétaire ait apporté une contribution importante à l'entreprise et qu'il soit âgé de 65 ans ou plus. En reconnaissance des défis particuliers associés à la planification de la retraite et à la gestion du revenu de retraite, la nouvelle approche en matière de répartition du revenu s'harmonise mieux avec la règle actuelle sur le fractionnement du revenu de pension. Cette mesure prend en compte le fait qu'une entreprise peut remplir un rôle important de soutien à son propriétaire à la retraite.
  • Les adultes âgés de 18 ans ou plus qui ont apporté une contribution importante de main-d'œuvre (généralement d'au moins 20 heures par semaine en moyenne) à l'entreprise pendant l'année, ou au cours de cinq années antérieures. Dans le cas des entreprises dont les activités sont saisonnières, comme certaines entreprises agricoles ou de pêche, l'exigence relative à la contribution en matière de main-d'œuvre s'appliquera à la partie de l'année où l'entreprise est en activité.  
  • Les adultes âgés de 25 ans ou plus qui détiennent au moins 10 % d'une société qui tire moins de 90 % de son revenu de la prestation de services et qui n'est pas une société professionnelle.
  • Les particuliers qui tirent des gains en capital d'actions admissibles de petite entreprise ou de biens agricoles ou de pêche admissibles, s'ils ne sont pas assujettis au taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé sur ces gains selon les règles existantes. 

Les particuliers âgés de 25 ans ou plus qui ne satisfont à aucune des conditions d'exclusion décrites ci-dessus seraient assujettis au critère du caractère raisonnable afin de déterminer la part du revenu, le cas échéant, à laquelle s'appliquerait le taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé. Dans certains cas, les adultes âgés de 18 à 24 ans qui ont contribué à une entreprise familiale par l'apport de leur propre capital pourront se prévaloir du critère du caractère raisonnable relativement au revenu connexe.

L'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) a publié des lignes directrices qui donnent davantage de précisions sur ces mesures. Ces lignes directrices visent à aider les entreprises et les membres de la famille à comprendre les modalités de ces mesures, pour réduire effectivement le fardeau d'observation des nouvelles règles. Les contribuables qui ont d'autres questions au sujet des lignes directrices peuvent communiquer avec l'ARC.

Incidence des nouveaux changements

La grande majorité des sociétés privées ne seront pas touchées par ces propositions. En fait, la simplification des mesures a encore réduit le nombre d'entreprises qui pourraient être touchées, le faisant passer de 50 000 – soit environ 3 % des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien – à moins de 45 000. Qui plus est, ces propositions offrent davantage de certitude que les règles révisées ne s'appliqueront pas aux particuliers qui apportent une contribution importante à une entreprise.

Les propriétaires de sociétés privées auront jusqu'à la fin de 2018 pour s'adapter à la nouvelle exclusion des entreprises autres que les entreprises de service.

Prochaines étapes

Il est proposé que les mesures révisées relatives à la répartition du revenu s'appliquent à compter de l'année d'imposition 2018. Les mesures seront inscrites dans la loi dans le cadre du processus budgétaire.

Le gouvernement prendra également des mesures pour limiter les possibilités de report d'impôt liées aux placements passifs, dont les détails seront présentés dans le budget de 2018. Ces mesures relatives aux placements passifs ne s'appliqueront que de façon prospective lorsqu'elles seront instaurées.

Autres mesures pour assurer l'équité et soutenir les petites entreprises

Au fil de la croissance de l'économie, le gouvernement veillera à ce que la classe moyenne du Canada obtienne une part des avantages de cette croissance, en maintenant de faibles impôts pour la classe moyenne, y compris les petites entreprises et les entreprises familiales.

En plus de ces changements aux mesures relatives à la répartition du revenu, le gouvernement prend une série de mesures pour assurer l'équité et soutenir les petites entreprises, notamment :

  • Réduire le taux d'imposition des petites entreprises pour le faire passer de 11 % en 2015 à 10 % le 1er janvier 2018 et à 9 % le 1er janvier 2019, sachant que l'avantage fiscal dont continueront de bénéficier les entreprises canadiennes – notamment le plus bas taux d'imposition des petites entreprises du G7 – les aidera à créer plus d'emplois et à faire croître l'économie.
  • Instaurer des mesures pour limiter les possibilités de report d'impôt découlant des placements passifs, tout en offrant aux propriétaires d'entreprises une plus grande marge de manœuvre pour se constituer une réserve d'épargne à des fins commerciales – par exemple, pour pouvoir composer avec un ralentissement éventuel des activités ou financer une expansion – et pour gérer des situations personnelles telles qu'un congé parental, un congé de maladie ou un départ à la retraite.
  • Transferts entre générations. Au cours de la période de consultation, le gouvernement a entendu les points de vue de propriétaires d'entreprises, dont de nombreux agriculteurs et pêcheurs, au sujet de difficultés liées aux transferts intergénérationnels d'entreprises. Le gouvernement collaborera avec les entreprises familiales, notamment les entreprises agricoles et de pêche, afin de rendre les transferts d'entreprises à la prochaine génération plus efficients ou moins difficiles.

Analyse comparative entre les sexes

Les facteurs liés au sexe communiqués antérieurement en ce qui a trait aux mesures proposées relatives à la répartition du revenu ne sont pas touchés par cette ébauche révisée de propositions législatives. Les données indiquent que les hommes représentent plus de 70 % des particuliers à revenu élevé qui sont à l'origine des stratégies de répartition du revenu, et que les femmes représentent environ 68 % des bénéficiaires des dividendes répartis (et 58 % des bénéficiaires du revenu provenant d'une fiducie ou d'une société de personnes). Bien que ce revenu soit avantageux pour les bénéficiaires, il crée également des incitatifs à une participation réduite des femmes au marché du travail. La participation accrue des femmes au marché du travail constitue une source de possibilités économiques pour les particuliers et un facteur important de croissance économique en général.

Exemples

Exemple 1

Frances a travaillé pour l'entreprise de fabrication de ses parents à temps plein tout au long de l'année au cours de laquelle elle a atteint l'âge de 22 ans et jusqu'à l'année où elle a atteint l'âge de 28 ans. Elle a ensuite cessé de participer à l'entreprise pendant trois ans. Frances a reçu un revenu de dividendes de l'entreprise de fabrication de ses parents au cours des années où elle a travaillé pour l'entreprise, ainsi que pendant les trois années où elle n'y a pas participé.

Les dividendes que Frances a reçus ne seraient pas assujettis au taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé. En ce qui a trait aux dividendes reçus dans les années où elle travaillait à temps plein, le taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé ne s'appliquerait pas puisque Frances participait activement à l'entreprise de façon régulière, continue et importante pendant ces années (elle devra également satisfaire au critère de la ligne de démarcation nette, soit d'une moyenne de 20 heures de travail par semaine). En ce qui a trait aux dividendes que Frances a reçus au cours des années où elle n'a pas participé à l'entreprise, le taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé ne s'appliquerait pas puisque l'entreprise serait une « entreprise exclue », car elle y a participé activement de façon régulière, continue et importante pendant au moins cinq années antérieures.

Exemple 2

Jeff et Charles sont des conjoints. Jeff est un médecin qui pratique la médecine familiale à temps plein par l'intermédiaire d'une société professionnelle. Charles n'est pas médecin. Il dirige la clinique de Jeff et il y travaille quatre jours par semaines pendant huit heures par jour, et prend six semaines de congé annuel (incluant tout le mois de juillet). Le reste du temps, Charles exploite une entreprise d'expert-conseil à temps partiel. Jeff et Charles détiennent tous les deux une participation dans la société professionnelle. Chaque année, la société professionnelle verse un salaire à Jeff et à Charles. Les bénéfices non répartis de la société professionnelle sont ensuite versés à Jeff et à Charles à parts égales sous forme de dividendes.

Jeff et Charles seraient considérés tous les deux comme des particuliers participant activement de façon régulière, continue et importante à l'entreprise exploitée par la société professionnelle. Ils auraient la certitude qu'ils satisfont à cette condition du fait qu'ils satisfont tous les deux à la présomption de 20 heures. Par conséquent, le revenu de dividendes de Jeff ou de Charles ne serait pas assujetti au taux marginal d'imposition le plus élevé.