Archived - Canada's Finance Ministers Reach Agreement on Cannabis Taxation

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

December 11, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Finance Minister Bill Morneau today issued the following statement:

“Canada’s Finance Ministers built on their strong record of working together, and endorsed an agreement in principle to coordinate the taxation of cannabis across the country. The agreement supports our twin goals of keeping cannabis out of the hands of youth, and profits from its sale out of the hands of criminals as we work to legalize and strictly regulate access to cannabis.  

“Ministers agree to ensure, for two years, that the combined rate of all federal, provincial and territorial cannabis-specific taxes will not exceed the higher of $1 per gram, or 10 per cent of a producer’s selling price. This tax room will be shared on the following basis: 75 per cent to provincial and territorial governments; 25 per cent to the federal government. Provinces and territories will work with municipalities according to shared responsibilities towards legalization. The federal portion of cannabis excise tax revenue will be capped at $100 million annually. Any federal revenue in excess of $100 million will flow to the provinces and territories. Finance Ministers will review the implementation of the agreement at their December 2018 meeting to ensure broad objectives are being met.

“I thank my provincial and territorial colleagues for their ongoing collaboration in getting results for Canadians and our municipal partners for lending their voice to this important discussion. I also want to thank my colleague Bill Blair, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada and to the Minister of Health, for his leadership, advocacy and tireless efforts to keep our kids safe and put criminals out of business.”

Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Archivé - Les ministres des Finances du Canada concluent une entente sur la taxation du cannabis

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 11 décembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a publié aujourd’hui la déclaration suivante :

« Les ministres des Finances du Canada se sont appuyés sur leur solide bilan en matière de collaboration en approuvant une entente de principe visant à coordonner la taxation du cannabis dans l’ensemble du pays. Cette entente appuie notre double objectif de garder le cannabis hors de la portée des jeunes et d’empêcher les criminels d’en tirer profit, alors que nous nous employons à légaliser et à réglementer strictement l’accès au cannabis. 

« Les ministres conviennent de s’assurer que, pendant deux ans, le taux combiné de toutes les taxes fédérales, provinciales et territoriales particulières sur le cannabis ne dépassera pas le plus élevé de 1 dollar par gramme et de 10 % du prix de vente du producteur.  Cette marge fiscale sera répartie de la façon suivante : 75 % aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux; 25 % au gouvernement fédéral. Les provinces et les territoires travailleront avec les municipalités, conformément à leurs responsabilités partagées à l’égard de la légalisation. La partie fédérale des recettes de la taxe d’accise sur le cannabis sera plafonnée à 100 millions de dollars par année. Les recettes fédérales allant au‑delà des 100 millions de dollars seront versées aux provinces et aux territoires. Les ministres de Finances examineront la mise en œuvre de l’entente au cours de leur réunion de décembre 2018 pour s’assurer que les objectifs généraux sont respectés.

« Je remercie mes collègues provinciaux et territoriaux pour leur collaboration continue afin d’obtenir des résultats pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, ainsi que nos partenaires municipaux pour avoir participé à cette importante discussion. Je tiens également à remercier mon collègue Bill Blair, secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada et de la ministre de la Santé, pour son leadership, sa promotion de la cause et ses efforts inlassables pour protéger nos enfants et forcer les criminels à fermer boutique. »

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés