Archived - Ensuring Financial Stability in Canada

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada’s financial system is widely considered one of the most resilient and well regulated in the world.

The Minister of Finance has broad responsibility for all matters relating to the financial sector. The Minister has authority for federal financial sector legislation, including the governing legislation for each of the federal financial sector oversight agencies.

The Minister is responsible for financial stability, supported by federal agencies which have clear and distinct mandates that contribute to financial stability:

  • The Bank of Canada provides liquidity to the financial system; oversees payment, clearing and settlement systems; develops and implements monetary policy; and carries out regular system-wide assessments of vulnerabilities and risks to financial system stability. The primary objective of monetary policy is the achievement of the inflation-control target.
  • The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions undertakes prudential regulation and supervision of federally regulated financial institutions.
  • The Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation is the federal deposit insurer and resolution authority for federally regulated deposit-taking institutions.

The Minister of Finance has the authority to impose minimum underwriting, or risk-taking, standards for government-backed insured mortgages which serve to control risks in the government-backed insured housing finance sector, and support financial and macroeconomic stability.

The Senior Advisory Committee (SAC), chaired by the Deputy Minister of Finance and including representatives from the above federal agencies as members, supports the provision of advice to the Minister of Finance on vulnerabilities and risks related to financial stability, and approaches to respond.  SAC promotes collaboration and information sharing, and serves as a forum to coordinate actions among the agencies so that they reinforce one another to address identified financial stability risks.

Archivé - Assurer la stabilité financière au Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le système financier du Canada est largement reconnu comme l’un des plus résilients et des mieux réglementés au monde.

Le ministre des Finances a la responsabilité générale de toutes les affaires liées au secteur financier. Il détient les pouvoirs relatifs à la législation fédérale régissant le secteur financier, y compris la législation qui s’applique à chacun des organismes fédéraux de surveillance du secteur.

Le ministre est responsable de la stabilité financière; il est appuyé à ce chapitre par des organismes fédéraux qui exercent chacun un mandat clair et distinct qui contribue à la stabilité financière :

  • La Banque du Canada fournit des liquidités au système financier; elle surveille les systèmes de paiements, de compensation et de règlement; elle élabore et met en œuvre la politique monétaire; et elle mène régulièrement des évaluations des vulnérabilités et risques systémiques liés à la stabilité du système financier. L’atteinte de la cible de maîtrise de l’inflation est l’objectif premier de la politique monétaire.
  • Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières est chargé de la réglementation et de la surveillance prudentielles des institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale.
  • La Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada est l’assureur fédéral des dépôts et l’autorité de règlement des institutions de dépôt sous réglementation fédérale.

Le ministre des Finances a le pouvoir d’imposer des normes minimales de souscription, c’est-à-dire de prise de risques, s’appliquant aux prêts hypothécaires assurés garantis par le gouvernement. Ces normes servent à contrôler les risques dans le secteur du financement du logement assuré bénéficiant de la garantie du gouvernement, et à appuyer la stabilité financière et macroéconomique.

Le Comité consultatif supérieur (CCS) présidé par le sous-ministre des Finances, qui compte des représentants des organismes fédéraux susmentionnés siégeant à titre de membres, appuie la prestation de conseils au ministre des Finances quant aux vulnérabilités et aux risques liés à la stabilité financière, ainsi qu’aux approches à appliquer pour y répondre. Le CCS fait la promotion de la collaboration et de l’échange de renseignements; de plus, il sert de forum de coordination des activités des organismes de façon à ce qu’elles se renforcent mutuellement pour contrer les risques pour la stabilité financière relevés.