Government of Canada Celebrates Viola Desmond, First Canadian Woman Featured on Bank Note

December 12, 2016 – Halifax, Nova Scotia – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada knows that our economy and country are stronger because of our diversity and because of the contributions from fearless, inspiring Canadians such as Viola Desmond—the remarkable woman who will be featured on the $10 bank note in 2018.

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister Celina Caesar-Chavannes, on behalf of Finance Minister Bill Morneau, highlighted today at the Black Cultural Centre for Nova Scotia the selection of Ms. Desmond, an icon of the human rights and freedoms movement in Canada.

Ms. Desmond was selected from a short list of five iconic Canadian women by Minister Morneau following a rigorous process in which an independent Advisory Council reviewed 26,300 submissions from across Canada.

Ms. Desmond was a successful Nova Scotia businesswoman who in 1946 was jailed, convicted and fined for refusing to leave a whites-only area of a movie theatre in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia. Her court case was the first known legal challenge against racial segregation brought forward by a Black woman in Canada. Today, the Government of Canada celebrates this extraordinary Nova Scotian in her home province.

Viola's sister, Wanda Robson, joined the celebration to speak about her sister.

Quote

"Viola Desmond will remind current and future generations that big change can start with moments of dignity and bravery when confronted with injustice. There were hundreds of extraordinary women who could have been on the new $10 bank note, but the choice of Viola Desmond will serve to remind us that Canada is a diverse country where everyone is deserving of equality and respect, and where we recognize and celebrate those who stand up to injustice."

- Celina Caesar-Chavannes, Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
(speaking on behalf of Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance)

Related Products

Media may contact:

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement du Canada rend hommage à Viola Desmond, la première Canadienne dont le portrait figurera sur un billet de banque

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 12 décembre 2016 – Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada sait que notre économie et notre pays sont plus forts grâce à notre diversité et aux contributions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens intrépides et inspirants tels que Viola Desmond, la femme remarquable qui figurera sur le billet de banque de 10 dollars en 2018.

Au nom du ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, la secrétaire parlementaire du premier ministre, Celina Caesar-Chavannes, a souligné aujourd'hui, au Black Cultural Centre for Nova Scotia, la sélection de Mme Desmond, une personnalité emblématique du mouvement des droits de la personne et des libertés au Canada.

Mme Desmond a été choisie parmi une liste restreinte de cinq Canadiennes emblématiques par le ministre Morneau à la suite d'un processus rigoureux au cours duquel un conseil consultatif indépendant a passé en revue 26 300 présentations provenant de partout au Canada.

Mme Desmond était une femme d'affaires accomplie de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui, en 1946, a été emprisonnée, condamnée et mise à l'amende pour avoir refusé de quitter une aire réservée aux Blancs dans un cinéma de New Glasgow, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Sa cause est la première contestation connue de la ségrégation raciale à avoir été présentée devant les tribunaux par une Noire au Canada. Aujourd'hui, le gouvernement du Canada rend hommage à cette remarquable Néo-Écossaise dans sa propre province.

La sœur de Viola, Wanda Robson, a participé aux célébrations pour parler de sa sœur.

Citation

« Viola Desmond rappellera aux générations actuelles et futures que des moments de dignité et de courage face à l'injustice peuvent être à l'origine de grands changements. Des centaines de femmes extraordinaires auraient pu figurer sur le nouveau billet de banque de 10 dollars, mais le choix de Mme Desmond nous rappellera que le Canada est un pays diversifié où tout le monde mérité d'être traité avec égalité et respect, et où nous reconnaissons et saluons ceux qui se dressent contre l'injustice. »

- Celina Caesar-Chavannes, secrétaire parlementaire du premier ministre
(au nom de Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances)

Produits connexes

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à :

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
annie.donolo@canada.ca
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca

Restez branchés