Archived - Canada Posts Budgetary Deficit of $1 Billion in 2015–16

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 7, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Department of Finance Canada today released the Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada for 2015–16. The Government posted a budgetary deficit of $1.0 billion for the fiscal year that ended on March 31, 2016.

Quick Facts

  • Revenues totalled $295.5 billion in 2015–16, $13.1 billion more than 2014–15, representing an increase of 4.6 per cent, largely reflecting growth in income tax revenues and other taxes and duties.
  • Expenses totalled $296.4 billion in 2015–16, $16.0 billion more than 2014–15, an increase of 5.7 per cent, reflecting increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government and direct program expenses.
  • Personal income tax revenues increased by $9.2 billion, or 6.7 per cent, reflecting gains in personal income and tax planning by high-income individuals to recognize income in the 2015 tax year before the new 33 per cent tax rate came into effect in 2016.
  • As reported by the International Monetary Fund, Canada’s total government net debt-to-GDP (gross domestic product) ratio, which includes the net debt of the federal, provincial/territorial and local governments, as well as the net assets held in the Canada Pension Plan and Québec Pension Plan, stood at 26.7 per cent in 2015.
  • Canada continues to have the lowest total government net debt-to-GDP ratio among the Group of Seven (G7) countries, at less than half the G7 average.
  • For the 18th consecutive year, the Government has received an unmodified audit opinion from the Auditor General of Canada on the consolidated financial statements.

Related Products

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-769-7187

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le Canada affiche un déficit budgétaire de 1,0 milliard de dollars pour 2015-2016

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 7 octobre 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministère des Finances du Canada a rendu public aujourd’hui le Rapport financier annuel du gouvernement du Canada de 2015-2016. Le gouvernement a affiché un déficit budgétaire de 1,0 milliard de dollars pour l’exercice qui s’est terminé le 31 mars 2016.

Les faits en bref

  • Les revenus ont totalisé 295,5 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016, soit une augmentation de 13,1 milliards (4,6 %) par rapport à 2014-2015, en raison surtout de la hausse des rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu et des autres taxes et droits.
  • Les charges ont totalisé 296,4 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016, soit une augmentation de 16,0 milliards (5,7 %) par rapport à 2014-2015, sous l’effet de la hausse des principaux paiements de transfert aux particuliers, des principaux paiements de transfert à d’autres paliers de gouvernement et des charges de programmes directes.
  • Les rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers ont augmenté de 9,2 milliards de dollars (6,7 %), sous l’effet de la hausse du revenu des particuliers et de la planification fiscale pratiquée par des particuliers ayant un revenu élevé, ce qui a permis de comptabiliser un revenu dans l’année d’imposition 2015 avant que le nouveau taux d’imposition de 33 % entre en vigueur en 2016.
  • Comme l’a signalé le Fonds monétaire international (FMI), le ratio de la dette nette au PIB (produit intérieur brut) de l’ensemble des administrations publiques du Canada, qui inclut la dette nette des administrations fédérale, provinciales, territoriales et municipales ainsi que les actifs nets détenus dans le Régime de pensions du Canada et le Régime de rentes du Québec, s’établissait à 26,7 % en 2015.
  • Le Canada continue d’enregistrer le plus faible ratio de la dette nette au PIB de l’ensemble des administrations publiques parmi les pays du Groupe des Sept (G7), et ce résultat représente moins de la moitié de la moyenne du G7.
  • Pour la 18e année consécutive, le gouvernement a reçu une opinion non modifiée du vérificateur général du Canada sur ses états financiers consolidés.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-769-7187

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés