Archived - Department of Finance Canada Launches Consultations on Federally Regulated Pension Plans

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

June 3, 2016 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Canadians expect their government to ensure that the institutions managing their retirement savings are well regulated, stable and secure. This includes making sure that our federally regulated pension plans are able to build on their strengths and adapt to a changing world.

Canadian pension funds are now among the world’s most trusted and active institutional investors. As these funds have sought new investment opportunities in recent years, there has been an increase in holdings of corporate interests in which some pension plans play an active management role.

The Department of Finance Canada today announced the launch of consultations to assess the value of the 30 per cent rule—the rule that restricts federally regulated pension plans from holding more than 30 per cent of the voting shares of a company—in the prudent management of pension investments. The consultations will also seek views on the tax policy issues associated with the growth of active investments by pension plans.

Individuals or organizations interested in submitting their views are invited to review the consultation document in the link below. Submissions are requested on or before September 16, 2016.

Consultation Document

Related Product

Media Contact

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministère des Finances du Canada lance des consultations sur les régimes de pension sous réglementation fédérale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 3 juin 2016 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que leur gouvernement fasse en sorte que les institutions qui gèrent leur épargne-retraite soient bien réglementées, stables et sûres, notamment en veillant à ce que les régimes de pension sous réglementation fédérale puissent miser sur leurs forces et s’adapter à un monde en évolution.

Les caisses de retraite du Canada comptent aujourd’hui parmi les investisseurs institutionnels les plus actifs et les plus dignes de confiance au monde. Comme ces caisses de retraite ont recherché de nouvelles occasions de placement au cours des dernières années, on a assisté à une augmentation de la participation détenue dans des entreprises au sein desquelles certains régimes de pension jouent un rôle actif sur le plan de la gestion.

Le ministère des Finances du Canada a annoncé aujourd’hui le lancement de consultations visant à évaluer l’utilité de la règle des 30 pour 100 dans le contexte d’une gestion prudente des placements de retraite. Cette règle empêche les régimes de pension sous réglementation fédérale de détenir plus de 30 pour 100 des actions avec droit de vote d’une société. Les consultations visent également à recueillir des points de vue sur les questions de politique fiscale en lien avec la croissance des placements actifs effectués par les régimes de pension.

Les particuliers et les organisations qui souhaitent transmettre leurs opinions sont invités à examiner le document de consultation dont le lien se trouve ci-dessous. Les commentaires doivent être envoyés au plus tard le 16 septembre 2016.

Document de consultation

Produits connexe

Contact

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
613-369-4000

Restez branchés