Parliamentary Secretary Takes Middle Class Message to Val-d'Or, Quebec

March 31, 2016 – Val-d'Or, Quebec – Department of Finance

François-Philippe Champagne, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance, today met with the mayor, local business leaders and media in Val-d’Or, Quebec, to speak about the Government of Canada’s 2016 budget, Growing the Middle Class.

The Parliamentary Secretary discussed the Government’s new approach to revitalizing the Canadian economy so that it works better for the middle class and those working hard to join it.

As one of its first actions, the Government introduced a tax cut for about 9 million Canadians, and raised taxes for the wealthiest to help pay for it. Budget 2016 builds on this support for the middle class with a new Canada Child Benefit, which will put more money in the pockets of 9 out of 10 Canadian families, and lift hundreds of thousands of children out of poverty.

The Parliamentary Secretary highlighted these and other Budget 2016 measures such as the Government’s plan to make Canada a global innovation leader, and to create opportunities for the country’s entrepreneurs to grow their businesses and expand to global markets. Budget 2016 commits up to $500 million over five years, starting in 2016–17, for a new program to extend and enhance broadband service in rural and remote communities.

The Parliamentary Secretary also spoke about the Government’s historic plan to invest more than $120 billion in infrastructure over the next 10 years—investments that will create a more modern and cleaner economy, a more inclusive society, and a country better positioned to compete globally.

Through Budget 2016, Quebec will benefit from a $1 billion increase in major federal transfers, totalling $21.4 billion in 2016–17. Communities across Quebec will also receive significant funds for infrastructure, including public transit. Middle class families are already benefiting from a tax cut, and can look forward to the new, tax-free Canada Child Benefit in July. Budget 2016 also commits funds for Quebec homeowners who have had serious and costly structural problems due to pyrrhotite in their homes’ foundations.

The Minister noted that important community investments in Quebec will be made in close consultation with municipalities, the province, and other stakeholders such as local businesses.  

Quote

Growing the Middle Class is about revitalizing the economy and providing support for Canadian families and communities right across the country, including here in Quebec. It is about renewing the optimism that comes with knowing that, together, we can build a more innovative and clean economy, and create thriving communities in which our children can grow and prosper.”

- François-Philippe Champagne, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • Quebec will receive a $1 billion increase in major federal transfers, totalling $21.4 billion in 2016–17.
  • Quebecers will benefit from Budget 2016 through:
    • $2.3 billion more in child benefits during the 2016–17 to 2017–18 period;
    • $7.5 million over the 2015–16 to 2017–18 period due to an increase in the Northern Residents Deduction;
    • $15.3 million over the 2015–16 to 2017–18 period through the new Teacher and Early Childhood Educator School Supply Tax Credit;
    • $280 million in federal tax relief over the 2015–16 to 2017–18 period through the restoration of the Labour-Sponsored Venture Capital Corporations Tax Credit; and
    • $924 million to upgrade and improve public transit systems in Quebec.
  • Budget 2016 also commits funds for Quebec homeowners who have had serious and costly structural problems due to pyrrhotite in their homes’ foundations.
  • The budget commits $17 million to upgrade four drinking water treatment and distribution systems in Sherbrooke.
  • Budget 2016 will provide the National Optics Institute—headquartered in Quebec City—with $50 million over five years, starting in 2016–17, to support the Institute’s work with Canadian businesses.

Related Product

Media Contacts

Annie Donolo
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5697

Jack Aubry
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le secrétaire parlementaire présente son message à propos de la classe moyenne à Val-d’Or, au Québec

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 31 mars 2016 – Val-d'Or (Québec) – Ministère des Finances

Le secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances, François-Philippe Champagne, a rencontré aujourd’hui le maire, des chefs d’entreprises locales et les médias de Val-d’Or, au Québec, pour parler du budget de 2016 du gouvernement du Canada, intitulé Assurer la croissance de la classe moyenne.

Le secrétaire parlementaire a discuté de la nouvelle approche adoptée par le gouvernement pour revitaliser l’économie canadienne afin qu’elle fonctionne mieux pour la classe moyenne et ceux qui travaillent fort pour en faire partie.

L’une des premières mesures du gouvernement a été d’instaurer une baisse d’impôt pour environ 9 millions de Canadiennes et de Canadiens, en augmentant les impôts des plus riches pour aider à la financer. Le budget de 2016 ajoute à ce soutien accordé à la classe moyenne en instaurant la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants, grâce à laquelle neuf familles canadiennes sur dix recevront plus d’argent, ce qui permettra de sortir des centaines de milliers d’enfants de la pauvreté.

Le secrétaire parlementaire a souligné ces mesures ainsi que d’autres éléments du budget de 2016, dont le plan du gouvernement en vue de faire du Canada un chef de file mondial de l’innovation et de créer des possibilités afin que les entrepreneurs du pays puissent développer leurs entreprises et élargir leurs activités aux marchés mondiaux. Le budget de 2016 consacre jusqu’à 500 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2016-2017, à un nouveau programme visant à étendre et à améliorer les services Internet à large bande dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées.

Le secrétaire parlementaire a également parlé du plan historique du gouvernement visant à investir plus de 120 milliards de dollars dans l’infrastructure au cours des 10 prochaines années. Ces investissements se traduiront par une économie plus moderne et plus propre, une société plus inclusive et un pays mieux placé pour soutenir la concurrence mondiale.

Par l’entremise du budget de 2016, le Québec bénéficiera d’une augmentation de 1 milliard de dollars des principaux transferts fédéraux qui lui sont destinés, lesquels totaliseront 21,4 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Des collectivités de l’ensemble du Québec recevront aussi un important financement pour l’infrastructure, y compris le transport en commun. Les familles de la classe moyenne bénéficient déjà d’une baisse d’impôt, et elles recevront la nouvelle Allocation canadienne pour enfants libre d’impôt en juillet. Le budget de 2016 prévoit également des fonds pour les propriétaires d’habitations du Québec qui ont connu de graves problèmes structurels coûteux en raison de la présence de la pyrrhotite dans leurs fondations.

Le ministre a souligné par ailleurs que les investissements importants dans des collectivités du Québec seront effectués en étroite collaboration avec les municipalités, la province et des intervenants comme les entreprises locales. 

Citation

« Assurer la croissance de la classe moyenne,c’est revitaliser l’économie et fournir un soutien aux familles et aux collectivités canadiennes d’un bout à l’autre du pays, y compris ici, au Québec. Cette approche vise à renouveler l’optimisme qui accompagne l’assurance que, ensemble, nous pouvons bâtir une économie plus innovatrice et plus propre, et créer des collectivités dynamiques où nos enfants pourront grandir et prospérer. »

- François-Philippe Champagne, secrétaire parlementaire du ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • Le Québec recevra 1 milliard de dollars de plus en principaux transferts fédéraux, soit 21,4 milliards au total en 2016-2017.
  • Les Québécois bénéficieront du budget de 2016 grâce aux montants suivants :
    • 2,3 milliards de dollars supplémentaires en prestations pour enfants au cours de la période de 2016-2017 à 2017-2018;
    • 7,5 millions de dollars de 2015-2016 à 2017-2018 découlant de la majoration de la déduction pour les habitants de régions éloignées;
    • 15,3 millions de dollars de 2015-2016 à 2017-2018, sous la forme d’un crédit d’impôt pour fournitures scolaires des enseignants et éducateurs de la petite enfance;
    • 280 millions de dollars en allègements fiscaux fédéraux découlant du rétablissement du crédit d’impôt relatif à une société à capital de risque de travailleurs, pendant la période de 2015-2016 à 2017-2018;
    • 924 millions de dollars pour rénover et améliorer les réseaux de transport en commun au Québec.
  • Le budget de 2016 réserve aussi des fonds pour les propriétaires d’habitations du Québec qui ont connu de graves problèmes structurels coûteux en raison de la présence de la pyrrhotite dans leurs fondations.
  • Le budget de 2016 prévoit 17 millions de dollars pour mettre à niveau quatre systèmes de traitement et de distribution d’eau potable à Sherbrooke.
  • Le budget de 2016 procurera 50 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, à compter de 2016-2017, à l’Institut national d’optique, dont le siège social est à Québec, afin de soutenir ses travaux auprès des entreprises canadiennes.

Produit connexe

Contacts

Annie Donolo
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5697

Jack Aubry
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés