Backgrounder: A More Secure Canadian Housing Market

Mortgage Insurance

The Bank Act requires federally regulated lenders to obtain mortgage default insurance (“mortgage insurance”) for homebuyers who make a down payment of less than 20 per cent of the property purchase price. The homebuyer pays the premium for this insurance, which protects the lender against mortgage loan losses if the homebuyer defaults.

By reducing risk to lenders, mortgage insurance enables consumers to purchase homes with a down payment as low as 5 per cent of the property value and at lower mortgage interest rates that are comparable to those received by homebuyers with higher down payments.

Mortgage insurance is provided by Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC), a federal Crown corporation, and two private insurers, Genworth Financial Mortgage Insurance Company Canada and Canada Guaranty Mortgage Insurance Company.

The Government backs 100 per cent of the mortgage insurance obligations of CMHC, in the event that it is unable to make insurance payouts to lenders. In order for private mortgage insurers to compete with CMHC, the Government backs private mortgage insurers’ obligations to lenders (in the event that a private insurer is unable to make insurance payouts to lenders), subject to a deductible charged to the lender equal to 10 per cent of the original principal amount of the loan.

The Government guarantee of mortgage insurance is intended to support access to homeownership for creditworthy buyers and promote stability in the housing market, financial system and economy. As part of its role to promote stability, and to protect taxpayers from potential mortgage loan losses, the Government sets the eligibility rules for new government-backed insured mortgages.

Between 2008 and 2012, four rounds of changes were made to the eligibility rules, aimed at encouraging insured borrowers to build and retain housing equity and take on mortgage debt that they are able to service over the economic cycle.

New Measure

Today, the Government announced a change to the eligibility rules for new government-backed insured mortgages, affecting new purchases of insured properties priced above $500,000. Effective February 15, 2016, the minimum down payment for new insured mortgages will be increased from 5 per cent to 10 per cent for the portion of the house price above $500,000.

This measure will maintain the current 5 per cent minimum down payment for the first $500,000 of the house price, while requiring a 10 per cent minimum down payment for the portion of the house price in excess of $500,000. Therefore, the minimum down payment will increase only gradually with the price of a house, varying from 5 per cent for homes priced at or below $500,000 to 7.5 per cent just below $1 million (see table below). Properties priced at $1 million and higher will continue to require a minimum down payment of 20 per cent.

For example, a person buying a $600,000 property would be required to pay a down payment of 5 per cent on the first $500,000 and 10 per cent on the remaining $100,000, resulting in a total minimum down payment of $35,000, or 5.8 per cent of the total purchase price.

Minimum Down Payment by Home Purchase Price: Existing and New Eligibility Rules
Home Purchase Price Existing Eligibility Rules Eligibility Rules Effective February 15, 2016


Minimum Down Payment Percentage Minimum Down Payment Amount Minimum Down Payment Percentage Minimum Down Payment Amount
$500,000 and below 5.0 % up to $25,000 5.0 % up to $25,000
$600,000 5.0 % $30,000 5.8 % $35,000
$700,000 5.0 % $35,000 6.4 % $45,000
$800,000 5.0 % $40,000 6.9 % $55,000
$900,000 5.0 % $45,000 7.2 % $65,000
$999,999 5.0 % $50,000 7.5 % $75,000
$1,000,000 and above 20.0 % $200,000 and up 20.0 % $200,000 and up

The announced measure will take effect on February 15, 2016 and apply to new mortgage loans where a mortgage insurance application is received on February 15, 2016 or later. Homeowners with an existing insured mortgage or those renewing existing insured mortgages will not be affected by this policy change as mortgage insurance is good for the life of any existing insured mortgage.

Document d’information : Un marché canadien du logement plus sûr

Assurance hypothécaire

La Loi sur les banques exige que les prêteurs sous réglementation fédérale obtiennent une assurance-prêt hypothécaire (« assurance hypothécaire ») pour les acheteurs d’habitations qui versent une mise de fonds de moins de 20 % du prix d’achat de la propriété. L’acheteur paie la prime de cette assurance qui protège le prêteur en cas de défaut de paiement.

En réduisant le risque pour les prêteurs, l’assurance hypothécaire permet aux consommateurs d’acheter une habitation avec une mise de fonds d’aussi peu que 5 % de la valeur de la propriété et à des taux d’intérêt hypothécaires plus bas, comparables à ceux qu’obtiennent les acheteurs qui effectuent des mises de fonds plus élevées.

L’assurance hypothécaire est offerte par la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement (SCHL), une société d’État fédérale, et par deux assureurs privés, la Compagnie d’assurance d’hypothèques Genworth Canada et la Société d’assurance hypothécaire Canada Guaranty.

Le gouvernement garantit à 100 % les obligations d’assurance hypothécaire de la SCHL dans l’éventualité que celle-ci ne soit pas en mesure d’effectuer les paiements d’assurance aux prêteurs. Afin que les assureurs de prêts hypothécaires du secteur privé puissent livrer concurrence à la SCHL, le gouvernement garantit leurs obligations envers les prêteurs (dans l’éventualité qu’un assureur privé soit incapable de les dédommager), sous réserve d’une franchise à la charge du prêteur correspondant à 10 % du montant du principal initial.

La garantie d’assurance hypothécaire offerte par le gouvernement a pour but d’appuyer l’accès à la propriété résidentielle pour les acheteurs bien cotés et de favoriser la stabilité du marché du logement, du système financier et de l’économie. Dans le cadre de son rôle pour favoriser la stabilité et pour protéger les contribuables contre des pertes éventuelles sur les prêts hypothécaires, le gouvernement fixe les règles d’admissibilité aux nouveaux prêts hypothécaires assurés garantis par le gouvernement.

Entre 2008 et 2012, quatre séries de changements ont été apportées aux règles d’admissibilité afin d’encourager les emprunteurs assurés à constituer et à conserver un avoir propre résidentiel et à prendre à leur charge des dettes hypothécaires qu’ils sont en mesure de rembourser aux différents stades du cycle économique.

Nouvelle mesure

Aujourd’hui, le gouvernement a annoncé un changement aux règles d’admissibilité aux nouveaux prêts hypothécaires assurés garantis par le gouvernement qui touchera les nouveaux achats de propriétés assurées dont le prix est supérieur à 500 000 $. À compter du 15 février 2016, la mise de fonds minimale pour les nouveaux prêts hypothécaires assurés passera de 5 % à 10 % pour la partie du prix d’une habitation qui dépasse 500 000 $.

En vertu de cette mesure, la mise de fonds minimale de 5 % sera maintenue pour la première tranche de 500 000 $ du prix d’une habitation, alors qu’une mise de fonds minimale de 10 % serait exigée pour la partie du prix de l’habitation qui dépasse 500 000 $. Par conséquent, le taux de la mise de fonds minimale n’augmentera que graduellement selon le prix de l’habitation et variera de 5 %, pour les logements dont le prix est de 500 000 $ ou moins, à 7,5 %, tout juste en dessous du seuil de 1 million de dollars (voir le tableau ci-dessous). Les propriétés dont le prix est de 1 million de dollars ou plus continueront d’être assujetties à une exigence de mise de fonds minimale de 20 %.

Par exemple, une personne qui achète une propriété de 600 000 $ devra verser une mise de fonds de 5 % sur les premiers 500 000 $ et de 10 % sur le solde de 100 000 $, soit une mise de fonds minimale totale de 35 000 $, ou 5,8 % du prix d’achat total.

Mise de fonds minimale et prix d'achat d'une habitation, selon les règles d'admissibilité actuelles et nouvelles
Prix d’achat de l’habitation Règles d’admissibilité actuelles Règles d’admissibilité en vigueur à compter du 15 février 2016


Pourcentage de la mise de fonds minimale Montant de la mise de fonds minimale Pourcentage de la mise de fonds minimale Montant de la mise de fonds minimale
500 000 $ ou moins 5,0 % Jusqu’à 25 000 $ 5,0 % Jusqu’à 25 000 $
600 000 $ 5,0 % 30 000 $ 5,8 % 35 000 $
700 000 $ 5,0 % 35 000 $ 6,4 % 45 000 $
800 000 $ 5,0 % 40 000 $ 6,9 % 55 000 $
900 000 $ 5,0 % 45 000 $ 7,2 % 65 000 $
999 999 $ 5,0 % 50 000 $ 7,5 % 75 000 $
1 000 000 $ ou plus 20,0 % 200 000 $ ou plus 20,0 % 200 000 $ ou plus

La mesure annoncée entrera en vigueur le 15 février 2016 et s'appliquera aux nouveaux prêts hypothécaires pour lesquels une demande d'assurance hypothécaire sera reçue le 15 février 2016 ou après cette date. Les propriétaires qui ont un prêt hypothécaire existant et ceux qui renouvellent un prêt hypothécaire assuré existant ne seront pas touchés par ce changement, puisque l'assurance hypothécaire est valide pendant toute la durée du contrat hypothécaire auquel elle s'applique.