Archived - Backgrounder - Mineral Exploration Tax Credit for Flow-Through Share Investors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Flow-through shares allow resource companies to renounce or “flow through” tax expenses associated with their Canadian exploration activities to investors, who can deduct the expenses in calculating their own taxable income. This facilitates the raising of equity to fund exploration by enabling companies to issue shares at a premium. The Mineral Exploration Tax Credit is an additional benefit, available to individuals who invest in mining flow-through shares, equal to 15 per cent of specified mineral exploration expenses incurred in Canada and renounced to flow-through share investors.

The Government proposes to extend eligibility for the Mineral Exploration Tax Credit for an additional year, to flow-through share agreements entered into on or before March 31, 2016. Under the existing “look-back” rule, funds raised in one calendar year with the benefit of the credit can be spent on eligible exploration up to the end of the following calendar year. Therefore, for example, funds raised with the credit during the first three months of 2016 can support eligible exploration until the end of 2017.

All mineral exploration, as well as new mining and related processing activities that could follow from successful exploration efforts, can be associated with a variety of environmental impacts to soil, water and air and, as a result, could have an impact on the goals of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.  All such activity, however, is subject to applicable federal and provincial environmental regulations, including project-specific environmental assessments where required.

It is estimated that the extension of the credit will result in a net reduction of federal revenues of $35 million over the 2015–16 to 2016–17 period. 

Cost of Extending the Mineral Exploration Tax Credit
($ millions)
  2015–16 2016–17 2017–18 2018–19 2019–20 Total
Extension of Mineral Exploration Tax Credit to March 31, 2016   45 (10)[1] - - - 35

[1] In the year a company issuing flow-through shares transfers eligible expenses to the shareholder, the individual shareholder is entitled to claim both a deduction for the expenses flowed through and the 15-per-cent Mineral Exploration Tax Credit. Once the credit is received upon the filing of the individual’s tax return in the following year, the deduction associated with the portion of the expense that was effectively "paid for" by the credit is reversed, resulting in an income inclusion for the individual in the following year.

Archivé - Document d'information - Crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière pour les détenteurs d’actions accréditives

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Les actions accréditives permettent aux sociétés du secteur des ressources naturelles de renoncer à des charges fiscales liées à leurs activités d’exploration minière canadiennes et de les transférer à des investisseurs, lesquels peuvent déduire ces charges dans le calcul de leur propre revenu imposable. Cette mesure aide ces sociétés à mobiliser des capitaux pour financer leurs activités d’exploration en leur permettant d’émettre leurs actions à un prix plus élevé. Le crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière, qui est offert aux particuliers qui investissent dans des actions accréditives minières, procure un avantage supplémentaire égal à 15 % des frais d’exploration minière déterminées ayant été engagées au Canada et transférées à des détenteurs d’actions accréditives.

Le gouvernement propose d’élargir l’admissibilité au crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière en le prolongeant d’une autre année, de manière à inclure les conventions visant des actions accréditives conclues au plus tard le 31 mars 2016. En vertu de la règle du retour en arrière en vigueur, les fonds mobilisésà l’aide du crédit au cours d’une année civile donnée peuvent être utilisés à l’égard des activités d’exploration admissibles jusqu’à la fin de l’année civile suivante. Par conséquent, les fonds mobilisésgrâce au crédit au cours du premier trimestre de 2016 peuvent, par exemple, être consacrés à des activités d’exploration admissibles jusqu’à la fin de 2017.

Toutes les activités d’exploration minière, de même que les nouvelles activités d’exploitation et de transformation connexes susceptibles de découler de travaux d’exploration fructueux, peuvent être associées à diverses répercussions environnementales sur les sols, l’eau et l’air et, par conséquent, pourraient avoir une incidence sur les objectifs de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Toutes ces activités sont toutefois assujetties à des exigences réglementaires fédérales et provinciales en matière d’environnement, y compris à des évaluations environnementales portant sur des projets précis, le cas échéant.

La prolongation du crédit devrait se traduire par une réduction nette des revenus fédéraux de 35 millions de dollars au cours de la période allant de 2015-2016 à 2016-2017.

Coût de la prolongation du crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière
(M$)
  2015–2016 2016–2017 2017–2018 2018–2019 2019–2020 Total
Prolongation du crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière jusqu’au 31 mars 2016 45 (10)[1] - - - 35

[1] Au cours de l’année pendant laquelle une société émettrice d’actions accréditives transfère des charges admissibles à l’actionnaire, ce dernier peut demander une déduction à l’égard des frais transférés ainsi que le crédit d’impôt pour exploration minière de 15 %. La déduction associée à la partie des  frais qui a été effectivement « payée » à l’aide du crédit est remboursée lorsque l’actionnaire produit sa déclaration de revenu et reçoit le crédit l’année suivante, ce qui se traduit par une somme à inclure dans les revenus du particulier l’année suivante.