Archived - Minister Oliver Concludes Participation at the G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

September 5, 2015 – Ankara, Turkey – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today concluded his participation at the G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting, held from September 4 to 5, 2015, in Ankara, Turkey.

Quick Facts

  • The G-20 is the premier forum for international economic cooperation, with members accounting for 85% of global output and two-thirds of the world's population.
  • A key focus of the G-20 has been to foster strong, sustainable and balanced global growth through collective actions.
  • At the Ankara meeting, Canada encouraged other G-20 members to implement the growth strategies put forward at the 2014 Brisbane Summit. These strategies, if fully implemented, are expected to lift the G-20's collective gross domestic product by 2.1% by 2018.

Quotes

“At the G-20 meeting in Ankara, Turkey, I met with my finance minister counterparts and central bank governors to take stock of the global economic situation, including slow growth, especially in developing countries and increased volatility in financial markets. We considered a variety of monetary, fiscal and structural policies to enhance job creation, growth and stability.”

“As co-chair of the G-20 working group responsible for global growth strategies, I emphasized the importance of individual and coordinated action. I also pointed out Canada's strong economic foundation and low-taxes and balanced-budget approach as a model for other G-20 countries.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Link

Communiqué: G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting, 4-5 September 2015, Ankara, Turkey [PDF 325 KB]

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver conclut sa participation à la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 5 septembre 2015 – Ankara, Turquie – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a conclu aujourd’hui sa participation à la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 tenue les 4 et 5 septembre 2015 à Ankara, en Turquie.

Faits saillants

  • Le G-20 est la principale tribune de coopération économique internationale; ses pays membres génèrent 85 % de la production mondiale et regroupent les deux tiers de la population de la planète.
  • Le G-20 s’est attaché à favoriser une croissance mondiale forte, durable et équilibrée par une prise de mesures collective.
  • À la réunion d’Ankara, le Canada a incité les autres membres du G-20 à mettre en application les stratégies de croissance présentées au Sommet de Brisbane de 2014. On estime que la mise en œuvre intégrale de ces stratégies aurait pour effet d’accroître la croissance du produit intérieur brut collectif du G-20 de 2,1 % d’ici 2018.

Citations

« À la réunion du G-20 tenue à Ankara, en Turquie, j’ai rencontré mes homologues ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales pour faire le point sur la situation économique mondiale, et notamment sur la faible croissance qu’on observe particulièrement dans les pays en développement ainsi que la volatilité accrue des marchés financiers. Nous nous sommes penchés sur un éventail de politiques monétaires, budgétaires et structurelles visant à renforcer la création d’emplois, la croissance et la stabilité. »

« Dans mon rôle de coprésident du groupe de travail du G-20 chargé des stratégies pour soutenir la croissance mondiale, j’ai souligné l’importance de coordonner à l’échelle du G-20 les mesures que les membres prennent individuellement. J’ai aussi mis en relief les solides assises économiques du Canada et le fait que sa démarche marquée par des impôts peu élevés et l’équilibre budgétaire peut servir de modèle aux autres pays du G-20. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Lien connexe

Communiqué de la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 tenue à Ankara (Turquie) les 4 et 5 septembre 2015 [PDF 325 Ko, disponible en anglais seulement]

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés :