Ottawa, September 3, 2015

Archived - Statement by the Minister of Finance on Canada’s Participation at the G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada’s Minister of Finance, Joe Oliver, today issued the following statement on his participation at the G-20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting, which will be held from September 4 to 5, 2015, in Ankara, Turkey:

“During a period of global economic uncertainty, including a dramatic decline in oil prices and market turmoil in emerging economies, it is important that Canada and our G-20 partners remain committed to policies that will create jobs and economic growth. I will be meeting with my G-20 colleagues this weekend in Turkey, as we work together to achieve these objectives.

“Canada plays a central role in G-20 discussions as co-chair of the working group responsible for economic growth strategies. In this capacity, we will continue to work with G-20 members to strengthen their action plans to support stronger global economic performance.

“It is vitally important for the G-20 to make progress on these and other issues and to collaborate during this time of heightened global fragility.”

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Ottawa, le 3 septembre 2015

Archivé - Déclaration du ministre des Finances sur la participation du Canada à la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre des Finances du Canada, Joe Oliver, a fait la déclaration suivante aujourd’hui au sujet de sa participation à la réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G-20 qui se déroulera les 4 et 5 septembre 2015, à Ankara, en Turquie :

« En cette période d’incertitude économique mondiale, marquée notamment par une chute spectaculaire des prix du pétrole et des turbulences sur les marchés d’économies émergentes, il est important que le Canada et ses partenaires du G-20 demeurent résolus à appliquer des politiques qui se traduiront par la création d’emplois et la croissance économique. Lorsque je rencontrerai mes collègues du G-20 cette fin de semaine en Turquie, nous collaborerons en vue de l’atteinte de ces objectifs.

« À la coprésidence du groupe de travail responsable des stratégies de croissance économique, le Canada joue un rôle central dans les discussions du G-20. En cette qualité, nous poursuivrons la collaboration avec les membres du G-20 afin de renforcer leurs plans d’action pour soutenir une performance économique mondiale plus vigoureuse.

« Il est extrêmement important que le G-20 réalise des progrès sur ces questions et dans d’autres domaines, et qu’il concerte ses efforts en cette période de fragilité accrue de l’économie mondiale. »

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

Stéphanie Rubec
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés :