Archived - Harper Government Invests to Get Ottawa Moving

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New support for public transit in Ottawa

July 27, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Royal Galipeau, Member of Parliament (Ottawa–Orléans) and Federal Interlocutor for Light Rail Transit in Ottawa, and Pierre Poilievre, Regional Minister for Eastern Ontario and Member of Parliament (Nepean–Carleton), today announced that the Harper Government will commit up to $1 billion for the Stage 2 Light Rail Transit project. This contribution will be up to one-third of eligible costs, once a formal application has been received and approved. This transit project will create jobs, economic growth and reduce traffic congestion in Canada’s fifth largest city.

This contribution is from the new Public Transit Fund, which was announced in Economic Action Plan 2015 to provide significant permanent support for large-scale public transit projects that address congestion and reduce commute time in Canada’s largest cities.  The Public Transit Fund will also free up additional funding for a range of other infrastructure projects in municipalities across Canada under the New Building Canada Fund and the P3 Canada Fund, including smaller-scale transit projects in smaller communities.

With the Public Transit Fund, the Harper Government has committed over $80 billion to support federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal infrastructure projects across the country over the ten-year period of the New Building Canada Plan – the largest and longest infrastructure commitment in Canadian history.

Quick Facts

  • The Harper Government has provided unprecedented support for public transit, committing close to $5 billion for public transport projects across the country since 2006. 
  • In addition, $3 billion of the funding under the Gas Tax Fund has been allocated by municipalities to public transit projects.
  • The City of Ottawa’s Stage 1 Light Rail Transit received a total federal contribution of $761 million from the Building Canada Fund and the Gas Tax Fund.
  • PPP Canada Inc., a federal Crown corporation, will administer the Public Transit Fund on behalf of the Harper Government. The mandate of PPP Canada is to improve the delivery of public infrastructure by achieving better value, timeliness and accountability to taxpayers, through public-private partnerships (P3s).

Quotes

“Your Government has delivered real results for this communities’ transit and today we are accomplishing even more. Thanks to Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s economic leadership, we are able to invest in the Stage 2 Light Rail Transit project while keeping taxes low. This will help families in Ottawa spend more time together rather than more time sitting in gridlock.”

- Royal Galipeau, Member of Parliament (Ottawa–Orléans) and Federal Interlocutor for Light Rail Transit

“Our Government has always said that Ottawa will get its fair share and we will not raise taxes. Today, we are delivering on our promise. By being fiscally responsible, we are able to invest in the real priorities of residents in Ottawa which includes transit. This project will create jobs and reduce traffic congestion in Canada’s Capital.”

- Pierre Poilievre, Regional Minister for Eastern Ontario and Member of Parliament (Nepean-Carleton)

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper investit pour faciliter les déplacements à Ottawa

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Un nouveau soutien pour le transport en commun à Ottawa

Le 27 juillet 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le député fédéral d’Ottawa–Orléans et interlocuteur fédéral dans le dossier du réseau de train léger sur rail d’Ottawa, Royal Galipeau, et le ministre fédéral responsable de l’Est de l’Ontario et député de Nepean–Carleton, Pierre Poilievre, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement Harper réserverait jusqu’à 1 milliard de dollars pour la réalisation de la 2e étape du projet de train léger sur rail d’Ottawa. Cette contribution pourra atteindre le tiers des coûts admissibles, lorsqu’une demande officielle aura été reçue et approuvée. Ce projet de transport en commun créera des emplois, stimulera la croissance et réduira la congestion routière dans la cinquième ville du Canada.

Cette contribution doit provenir du nouveau Fonds pour le transport en commun, dont la création a été annoncée dans le Plan d’action économique de 2015 afin de fournir en permanence un important soutien pour les projets de transport en commun à grande échelle qui réduisent la congestion routière et la durée des déplacements dans les plus grandes villes canadiennes. De plus, le Fonds permet de libérer de l’argent qui pourra être consacré à d’autres types de projets d’infrastructure dans des municipalités partout au Canada dans le cadre du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada et du Fonds PPP Canada, y compris des projets de transport en commun à plus petite échelle dans des collectivités ayant moins d’habitants.

Par l’entremise du Fonds pour le transport en commun, le gouvernement Harper a réservé plus de 80 milliards de dollars pour appuyer des projets d’infrastructure fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux dans toutes les régions du Canada sur la durée prévue de dix ans du Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le plus vaste et plus long engagement en matière d’infrastructure de l’histoire canadienne.

Les faits en bref

  • Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper a apporté un soutien sans précédent au transport en commun en affectant près de 5 milliards de dollars aux projets de transport en commun d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. 
  • En outre, une somme de 3 milliards de dollars du financement provenant du Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence a été réservée par les municipalités aux projets de transport en commun.
  • La 1re étape du projet de train léger sur rail de la Ville d’Ottawa a fait l’objet d’une contribution fédérale totale de 761 millions de dollars provenant du Fonds Chantiers Canada et du Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence.
  • La société d’État fédérale PPP Canada Inc. administrera le Fonds pour le transport en commun pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada. Le mandat de PPP Canada est d’améliorer la réalisation des projets d’infrastructure publique selon un modèle de partenariats public-privé (PPP) de façon à assurer l’utilisation optimale des deniers publics, l’exécution en temps opportun des projets et la reddition de comptes pour les contribuables.

Citations

« Votre gouvernement a déjà produit des résultats concrets en matière de transport en commun dans cette collectivité; aujourd’hui, il en fait encore davantage. Grâce au leadership économique du premier ministre Stephen Harper, nous pouvons investir dans la 2e étape du projet de transport en commun par train léger sur rail tout en maintenant les impôts à de faibles niveaux. Les familles d’Ottawa pourront ainsi passer plus de temps ensemble plutôt que d’être coincées dans les embouteillages. »

- Royal Galipeau, député d’Ottawa–Orléans et interlocuteur fédéral dans le dossier du réseau de train léger sur rail d’Ottawa

« Notre gouvernement a toujours dit qu’Ottawa obtiendrait sa juste part et que nous n’augmenterions pas les impôts. Aujourd’hui, nous respectons cette promesse. Notre gestion budgétaire responsable nous permet d’investir dans les priorités réelles des résidents d’Ottawa, dont le transport en commun. Ce projet créera des emplois et réduira la congestion routière dans la capitale du Canada. »

- Pierre Poilievre, ministre responsable de l’Est de l’Ontario et député de Nepean–Carleton

Liens connexes

Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés