Archived - Minister Oliver Meets with Counterparts Responsible for the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

July 24, 2015 – Victoria, British Columbia – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today attended the inaugural meeting of the Council of Ministers Responsible to review progress achieved in implementing the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System, and to confirm the appointment of William A. Black as the first chair of the board of directors of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority.

The Council also announced that participating jurisdictions will release updated draft provincial/territorial and federal capital markets legislation, along with draft initial regulations, for public comment this summer.

British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and Canada are jointly engaged in the creation of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System. The Cooperative System is designed to preserve local perspectives while streamlining the capital markets regulatory framework to enhance Canada's financial services sector, support efficient capital markets and manage systemic risk.

Quick Facts

  • The implementation of a Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System will:
    • Foster more efficient, globally competitive capital markets in Canada;
    • Provide increased protection for investors across Canada through more integrated and coordinated compliance and enforcement activities;
    • Strengthen Canada’s capacity to identify and manage capital markets-related systemic risks on a national basis; and
    • Enable Canada to play a more empowered and influential role in international regulatory initiatives.

Quote

"It was a pleasure to meet with my colleagues on the Council, discuss progress on shared objectives and to announce the appointment of William A. Black as Chair of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority. Given Mr. Black’s extensive business experience, he will be able to provide solid leadership to the Council. Today’s announcement builds on progress already made to implement the Cooperative System and renews the invitation to all provinces and territories to participate. The Cooperative System will better protect investors, support and foster efficiency, and manage systemic risk in national capital markets.

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le ministre Oliver rencontre ses homologues responsables du régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 24 juillet 2015 – Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a assisté aujourd’hui à la toute première réunion du conseil des ministres responsables du régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux pour examiner les progrès réalisés à l’égard de la mise en œuvre du régime et pour confirmer la nomination de M. William A. Black à titre de premier président du conseil d’administration de l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés des capitaux.

De plus, le Conseil des ministres a annoncé que les administrations participantes publieraient une version actualisée de la législation provinciale, territoriale et fédérale proposée sur les marchés des capitaux, ainsi qu’un projet de règlements initiaux, aux fins d’une consultation publique cet été.

La Colombie-Britannique, l’Ontario, la Saskatchewan, le Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le Yukon et le Canada participent conjointement à la création du régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Ce régime coopératif est conçu de manière à conserver la prise en compte des perspectives locales tout en rationalisant le cadre de réglementation des marchés des capitaux afin d’améliorer le secteur canadien des services financiers, de soutenir l’efficacité de ces marchés et de gérer le risque systémique.

Les faits en bref

  • La mise en œuvre du régime coopératif de réglementation des marchés des capitaux :
    • favorisera le fonctionnement au Canada de marchés des capitaux plus efficients et concurrentiels à l’échelle internationale;
    • assurera une protection accrue des investisseurs, partout au Canada, au moyen d’activités d’observation et d’application de la législation qui seront plus intégrées et mieux coordonnées;
    • renforcera la capacité du Canada à cerner et à gérer les risques systémiques liés aux marchés des capitaux à l’échelle nationale;
    • permettra au Canada de présenter une position plus forte et d’être plus influent en ce qui a trait aux initiatives internationales de réglementation.

Citation

« J’ai été heureux de rencontrer mes collègues du Conseil, de discuter des progrès réalisés à l’égard des objectifs partagés et d’annoncer la nomination de William A. Black au poste de président de l’Autorité de réglementation des marchés des capitaux. Étant donné sa vaste expérience des affaires, M. Black sera en mesure d’assurer une direction solide du Conseil. L’annonce d’aujourd’hui s’ajoute aux progrès déjà réalisés pour mettre en œuvre le régime coopératif, et nous renouvelons notre invitation à participer lancée à l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires. Le régime coopératif protégera mieux les investisseurs, favorisera l’efficacité des marchés et permettra de gérer le risque systémique dans les marchés des capitaux nationaux. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés