Archived - Harper Government Invests to Get Calgary Moving

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New support for public transit projects in Calgary

July 24, 2015 – Calgary, Alberta – Department of Finance

Minister of National Defence and Minister for Multiculturalism Jason Kenney and Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification) Michelle Rempel today announced that funds will be made available within the Public Transit Fund for the Green Line Light Rail Transit project in Calgary. The Harper Government will contribute up to one-third of the costs for the public transit system proposal, approximately $1.53 billion, once a formal application has been received and approved. The Green Line Light Rail Transit project will create jobs, growth and reduce traffic congestion in Canada’s fourth largest city.  

The new Public Transit Fund, announced in Economic Action Plan 2015, will provide significant permanent support for large-scale public transit projects that address congestion and reduce travel time. The Public Transit Fund will also free up additional funding for a range of other infrastructure projects in municipalities across Canada under the New Building Canada Fund and the P3 Canada Fund, including smaller-scale transit projects in smaller communities.

With the Public Transit Fund, the Government of Canada has committed over $80 billion in funding to support federal, provincial, territorial, and municipal infrastructure projects across the country over the 10-year period of the New Building Canada Plan – the largest and longest infrastructure commitment in Canadian history.

Quick Facts

  • PPP Canada Inc., a federal Crown corporation, will administer the PTF on behalf of the Government of Canada. The mandate of PPP Canada is to improve the delivery of public infrastructure by achieving better value, timeliness and accountability to taxpayers, through public-private partnerships (P3s).
  • The Harper Government has provided unprecedented support for public transit, committing close to $5 billion for public transport projects across the country since 2006. In addition, $3 billion of the funding under the Gas Tax Fund has been allocated by municipalities to public transit projects.

Quotes

“Our Government understands that Canada’s largest cities depend on public transit infrastructure to fight gridlock, reduce congestion for people and businesses, and support economic development. The Public Transit Fund will promote public transit infrastructure investment in a manner that is affordable for taxpayers and efficient for commuters. Just as importantly, the Public Transit Fund will support the construction and rehabilitation of large public transit projects such as Calgary’s Green Line. ” 

- Jason Kenney, Minister of National Defence and Minister for Multiculturalism

“Calgary’s Green Line will provide relief for overcrowded transit corridors, connect Calgarians to each other and further facilitate commercial flows through the City. Federal support will be allocated to projects based on merit and delivered through alternative financing and funding mechanisms involving the private sector that demonstrate value for money for taxpayers.”

- Michelle Rempel, Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification)

“Investments in public transit are amongst the very best investments any government can make. They are investments in quality of life, in mobility, in social inclusion, and in the environment. Building the Green Line LRT now means nearly doubling the size of Calgary’s LRT network and serving over 40 million riders a year. The federal government’s national Public Transit Fund will make a huge difference to commuters in cities across Canada.”

- Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary

Additional Links

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper investit pour faciliter les déplacements à Calgary

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Un nouveau soutien pour les projets de transport en commun à Calgary

Le 24 juillet 2015 – Calgary (Alberta) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre de la Défense nationale et ministre du Multiculturalisme, Jason Kenney, et la ministre d’État (Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien), Michelle Rempel, ont annoncé aujourd’hui qu’un financement provenant du Fonds pour le transport en commun sera disponible pour la réalisation du projet de la ligne verte (Green Line) du système de transport léger sur rail de Calgary. Le gouvernement Harper versera une contribution pouvant atteindre le tiers du coût du projet, soit environ 1,53 milliard de dollars, lorsqu’une demande officielle aura été reçue et approuvée. Le projet de la ligne verte créera des emplois, stimulera la croissance et réduira la congestion routière dans la quatrième ville du Canada.  

Le nouveau Fonds pour le transport en commun, dont la création a été annoncée dans le Plan d’action économique de 2015, fournira en permanence un important soutien pour les projets de transport en commun à grande échelle qui réduisent la congestion routière et la durée des déplacements. De plus, le Fonds libérera de l’argent qui pourra être consacré à d’autres types de projets d’infrastructure dans des municipalités partout au Canada dans le cadre du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada et du Fonds PPP Canada, y compris des projets de transport en commun à plus petite échelle dans des collectivités ayant moins d’habitants.

Par l’entremise du Fonds pour le transport en commun, le gouvernement du Canada a réservé plus de 80 milliards de dollars pour appuyer des projets d’infrastructure fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux dans toutes les régions du Canada sur la durée prévue de dix ans du Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le plus vaste et plus long engagement en matière d’infrastructure de l’histoire canadienne.

Les faits en bref

  • La société d’État fédérale PPP Canada Inc. administrera le Fonds pour le transport en commun pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada. Le mandat de PPP Canada est d’améliorer la réalisation des projets d’infrastructure publique selon un modèle de partenariats public-privé (PPP) de façon à assurer l’utilisation optimale des deniers publics, l’exécution en temps opportun des projets et la reddition de comptes pour les contribuables.
  • Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper a apporté un soutien sans précédent au transport en commun en affectant près de 5 milliards de dollars aux projets de transport en commun d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. En outre, une somme de 3 milliards du financement provenant du Fonds de la taxe sur l’essence a été réservée par les municipalités aux projets de transport en commun.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement sait bien que les plus grandes villes du Canada s’appuient sur l’infrastructure du transport en commun pour combattre la saturation du réseau routier, réduire les retards pour les voyageurs et les entreprises, et soutenir le développement économique. Le Fonds pour le transport en commun favorisera la réalisation d’investissements dans l’infrastructure du transport en commun d’une manière qui sera abordable pour les contribuables et efficiente pour les usagers. Tout aussi important, ce fonds soutiendra de grands projets de construction et de remise en état du transport en commun comme la ligne verte de Calgary. » 

- Jason Kenney, ministre de la Défense nationale et ministre du Multiculturalisme

« La ligne verte de Calgary allégera les corridors de transport en commun congestionnés, reliera les Calgariens les uns aux autres et facilitera la circulation commerciale dans la ville. Le soutien fédéral sera accordé selon le principe du mérite des projets et par la voie de mécanismes non traditionnels d’offre de financement et d’octroi de fonds qui feront appel au secteur privé et qui assureront l’optimisation des fonds publics pour les contribuables. »

- Michelle Rempel, ministre d’État (Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien)

« De tous les investissements que les gouvernements peuvent effectuer, ceux dans le transport en commun sont parmi les meilleurs. Ce sont des investissements dans la qualité de vie, dans la mobilité, dans l’inclusion sociale et dans l’environnement. En construisant la ligne verte à court terme, on double presque la dimension du réseau léger sur rail de Calgary pour desservir plus de 40 millions d’usagers par année. Le Fonds pour le transport en commun du gouvernement fédéral aura un grand impact sur les déplacements travail-domicile des gens dans les villes d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. »

- Naheed Nenshi, maire de Calgary

Liens connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés