Archived - Release of The Fiscal Monitor

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Department of Finance reports a $3.9-billion surplus in April and May 2015; the Government remains on track to balance the budget in 2015

July 22, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today released The Fiscal Monitor for April and May 2015.

For the first two months of the 2015-16 fiscal year (April and May), there was a budgetary surplus of $3.9 billion, compared with a deficit of $1.1 billion reported in the same period last year. By month, there was a surplus of $2.5 billion in April and a surplus of $1.4 billion in May.

For the two months combined, revenues increased by $5.5 billion, or 12.8 per cent, largely reflecting increases in income taxes, excise taxes and duties, and the gain realized on the sale of the Government’s remaining holdings of General Motors common shares in April 2015.

Program expenses were up $0.6 billion, or 1.5 per cent, reflecting increases in major transfers to persons and other levels of government, offset in part by a decrease in direct program expenses.  Public debt charges decreased by $0.1 billion, or 2.3 per cent.

Quick Facts

  • Personal income tax revenues were up $1.9 billion, or 9.2 per cent, in the April to May 2015 period while corporate income tax revenues rose $0.5 billion, or 9.0 per cent.
  • Major transfers to persons, consisting of elderly benefits, Employment Insurance benefits and children’s benefits, increased by $0.7 billion, or 5.7 per cent.
  • Direct program expenses in the April to May 2015 period were down $0.6 billion, or 3.9 per cent, from the prior year.

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Publication de La revue financière

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministère des Finances annonce un excédent budgétaire de 3,9 milliards de dollars pour les mois d’avril et mai 2015; le gouvernement demeure sur la bonne voie pour rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2015

Le 22 juillet 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la publication de La revue financière pour les mois d’avril et mai 2015.

Les deux premiers mois (avril et mai) de l’exercice 2015-2016 se sont soldés par un excédent budgétaire de 3,9 milliards de dollars, comparativement à un déficit de 1,1 milliard pour la même période de l’exercice précédent. Un excédent de 2,5 milliards a été enregistré en avril, tandis que le mois de mai s’est soldé par un excédent de 1,4 milliard.

Au total pour ces deux mois, les revenus ont augmenté de 5,5 milliards de dollars (12,8 %), principalement en raison de la hausse des revenus tirés de l’impôt sur le revenu et des taxes et droits d’accise ainsi que du gain réalisé lors de la vente, en avril 2015, des dernières actions ordinaires de General Motors détenues par le gouvernement.

Les charges de programmes ont augmenté de 0,6 milliard de dollars (1,5 %), ce qui résulte de la hausse des principaux transferts aux particuliers et des principaux transferts aux autres administrations; cette hausse a été compensée en partie par une baisse des charges de programmes directes. Les frais de la dette publique ont diminué de 0,1 milliard (2,3 %).

Les faits en bref

  • Les rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers ont augmenté de 1,9 milliard de dollars (9,2 %) au cours de la période d’avril et mai 2014, tandis que les rentrées d’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés ont progressé de 0,5 milliard (9,0 %).
  • Les principaux transferts aux particuliers, qui comprennent les prestations aux aînés, les prestations d’assurance-emploi et les prestations pour enfants, ont progressé de 0,7 milliard de dollars (5,7 %).
  • Pour la période d’avril et mai, les charges de programmes directes ont diminué de 0,6 milliard de dollars (3,9 %) par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés