Archived - Harper Government Consults Canadians on Voluntary Supplement to the Canada Pension Plan

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Finance Minister rejects job-killing, mandatory payroll tax hike

July 13, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced that the Government of Canada will consult with individuals, financial sector and retirement income experts, and stakeholders on options for a voluntary supplement to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

At the same time, Minister Oliver made clear that the Government will not impose a mandatory CPP premium increase on Canadians. Payroll tax hikes on workers and employers would kill jobs and be particularly damaging during a time of instability in the global economy. Such a tax hike would hit small business owners especially hard. It would also mean a serious cut in take-home pay for millions of hard-working Canadians. Rather, the Government will continue with its plan for low taxes, economic growth, a balanced budget and benefits provided directly to families.

Quick Facts

The Harper Government is making it easier to save more for retirement:

  • Introducing the Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), a way for Canadians to save tax-free for the priorities that matter to them.  Economic Action Plan 2015 nearly doubled the TFSA annual contribution limit to $10,000, effective for 2015 and subsequent years.
  • Increasing benefits through the Old Age Security (OAS) program’s Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS) for Canada’s most vulnerable seniors. This investment of approximately $300 million each year improves the well-being of approximately 680,000 seniors across Canada.
  • Implementing a framework for low-cost and large-scale Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs) for the more than 60 per cent of Canadians who do not have access to a private workplace pension plan.
  • Canadians can be confident that the CPP will be there for them when they need it. The 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan has confirmed that it is sustainable for at least the next 75 years. Together, the CPP and OAS programs provided approximately $79 billion in 2013-14.
  • Canada’s retirement income system is acknowledged to be among the world’s best, by groups like the OECD, in preventing poverty among seniors and ensuring appropriate income in retirement. According to a recent retirement study by McKinsey & Company, 83% of Canadians are on track for a comfortable retirement.
  • The Canadian Federation of Independent Business surveyed its Ontario members in response to the Ontario Government’s plan to create its own pension plan. 69% of employers indicated they would have to freeze or cut salaries to afford payroll tax hikes. 53% said they would have to fire workers. 13% said they would have to close altogether.

Quotes

“Our Government is taking action to give Canadians more options to save for retirement. We are exploring a voluntary CPP option that would build on past initiatives like creating TFSAs and enhancing GIS benefits. We believe in offering Canadians choice in retirement savings options. What we do not believe in are reckless tax hikes that would kill jobs at the very time when Canadians need more jobs, not less. Hiking payroll taxes would take money out of the pockets of hard working Canadian families that need the money to pay for basic necessities like groceries, gas and housing. Only Prime Minister Harper has the experience and good judgement needed to manage our economy. Under his strong leadership, we will continue cutting taxes and creating jobs.”

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

“Our Government believes in providing voluntary savings options to serve Canadians. We will not consider a one-size fits all approach to force payroll taxes on small businesses and employees. Our Government’s approach is to lower taxes, create jobs, and build the economy while putting more money back in the pockets of Canadians.”

- Kevin Sorenson, Minister of State (Finance)

Consultation Document

Related Products

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected

Archivé - Le gouvernement Harper consulte les Canadiens au sujet d’une cotisation supplémentaire facultative au Régime de pensions du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre des Finances rejette l’idée d’une hausse obligatoire des charges sociales qui feraient disparaître des emplois

Le 13 juillet 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui que le gouvernement du Canada consulterait les particuliers, le secteur financier, les experts en matière de revenu de retraite ainsi que des intervenants au sujet des options relatives aux paiements supplémentaires facultatifs pour le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC).

En même temps, le ministre Oliver a clairement indiqué que le gouvernement n’imposerait pas de hausse obligatoire des cotisations au RPC aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens. Des augmentations des charges sociales que doivent payer les travailleurs et les employeurs feraient disparaître des emplois, et elles seraient particulièrement nuisibles en cette période d’instabilité de l’économie mondiale. Un tel alourdissement du fardeau fiscal serait particulièrement difficile à supporter pour les propriétaires de petites entreprises. Il réduirait aussi de façon marquée la paie nette de millions de Canadiens qui travaillent fort. Le gouvernement poursuivra plutôt son plan pour le maintien d’une faible imposition, la croissance économique, l’équilibre budgétaire et l’offre d’avantages directs aux familles.

Les faits en bref

Le gouvernement Harper facilite l’épargne en vue de la retraite de diverses façons :

  • Il a instauré le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI), qui constitue un mécanisme permettant aux Canadiens d’épargner à l’abri de l’impôt en fonction des priorités qui leur tiennent à cœur. Le Plan d’action économique de 2015 a presque doublé le montant annuel maximal pouvant être versé dans un CELI, le faisant passer à 10 000 $ à compter de 2015.
  • Il a augmenté le Supplément de revenu garanti (SRG) du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), à l’intention des aînés les plus vulnérables du Canada. Cet investissement de près de 300 millions de dollars par année permet d’améliorer le bien-être d’environ 680 000 aînés au pays.
  • Il a mis en œuvre un cadre pour l’offre de régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) peu coûteux et de grande envergure pour les plus de 60 % des Canadiens qui n’ont aucun accès à un régime de pension privé en milieu de travail.
  • Les Canadiens peuvent être sûrs que le RPC existera encore lorsqu’ils en auront besoin. Le 26e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada a confirmé la viabilité de ce régime pour les 75 prochaines années. Ensemble, les programmes du RPC et de la SV ont procuré environ 79 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014.
  • Le système canadien de revenu de retraite est reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs au monde par des groupes comme l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE); il permet d’éviter la pauvreté chez les aînés en leur assurant un revenu suffisant à la retraite. D’après une étude récente sur la retraite menée par la firme McKinsey & Company, 83 % des Canadiens se préparent une retraite confortable.
  • Dans un sondage mené par la Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante auprès de ses membres en Ontario en réaction au plan du gouvernement de cette province de créer son propre régime de retraite, 69 % des employeurs ont indiqué qu’il leur faudrait geler ou réduire des salaires pour pouvoir se permettre des hausses des charges sociales, 53 % ont affirmé qu’il leur faudrait congédier des travailleurs et 13 % ont déclaré qu’il leur faudrait cesser leurs opérations.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement agit pour donner aux Canadiens davantage d’options d’épargne-retraite. Nous étudions actuellement l’option d’une cotisation supplémentaire facultative au RPC, qui irait dans le sens d’initiatives antérieures comme la création des CELI et la bonification des prestations du SRG. Nous croyons qu’il faut offrir aux Canadiens un éventail d’options d’épargne en vue de la retraite. Nous ne croyons pas à un alourdissement irréfléchi du fardeau fiscal, qui ferait disparaître des emplois au moment même où les Canadiens ont besoin de plus d’emplois. Une hausse des charges sociales reviendrait à piger dans les poches des familles de travailleurs canadiens qui ont besoin de cet argent pour leurs dépenses essentielles comme l’alimentation, l’essence et le logement. Le premier ministre Harper est le seul à avoir l’expérience et le bon jugement nécessaires pour gérer notre économie. Sous son leadership solide, nous allons continuer à réduire les impôts et à créer des emplois. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

« Notre gouvernement estime qu’il est important d’offrir des options facultatives d’épargne dans l’intérêt des Canadiens. Nous n’allons pas envisager une approche universelle qui obligerait les petites entreprises et les employés à payer davantage en charges sociales. L’approche de notre gouvernement consiste à réduire les impôts et les taxes, à créer des emplois et à bâtir l’économie tout en remettant plus d’argent dans les poches des Canadiens. »

- Kevin Sorenson, ministre d'État (Finances)

Document de consultation

Produits connexes

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés