Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment to Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

June 30, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Bill Ross to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. Mr. Ross is Senior Counsel at WeirFoulds LLP, where he has a diverse practice in corporate, commercial and not-for-profit law. Since 2008, he has been the Chair of the Board of Directors for the Canada Development Investment Corporation.

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is the Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada’s circulation coins.
  • The Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Quote

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Ross to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. His expertise in business and financial law, as well as his extensive experience in representing large international public corporations, will greatly benefit the Mint."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

N. William C. Ross

N. William C. Ross is Senior Counsel with the Toronto firm WeirFoulds LLP, where he has a diverse practice in corporate, commercial and not-for-profit law. His areas of practice include: business and finance (acquisitions and mergers, corporate financing, financial institutions and securities); charitable institutions with particular emphasis on health care entities; employment law (contracts, benefits, pensions and compensation plans); libel law; and intellectual property.

A law graduate of the University of Toronto and member of the Ontario bar since 1969, Mr. Ross also holds a Master’s degree from Osgoode Hall Law School.

Mr. Ross sits on the boards of directors of various Canadian corporations, including the Canada Development Investment Corporation (Chair), Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation (Chair), and the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce une nomination au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 juin 2015 –Ottawa (Ontario)– Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Bill Ross au conseil d’administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. M. Ross est actuellement avocat principal chez WeirFoulds LLP en droit des sociétés, en droit commercial et en droit des organismes à but non lucratif. Il occupe depuis 2008 la présidence du conseil d’administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (CDEV).

Les faits en bref

  • La Monnaie royale canadienne est la société d’État responsable de la production et de la distribution des pièces de monnaie de circulation canadiennes.
  • La Monnaie est reconnue comme l’un des établissements de monnayage les plus importants et les plus polyvalents au monde. Elle propose toute une gamme de produits spécialisés de grande qualité et des services connexes à l’échelle internationale.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d'annoncer la nomination de M. Ross au conseil d'administration de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Son expertise dans les domaines du droit commercial et du droit financier, ainsi que sa vaste expérience de la représentation de grandes sociétés publiques internationales, profiteront grandement à la Monnaie royale. »

- Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

N. William C. Ross

N. William C. Ross est avocat principal à la firme torontoise WeirFoulds LLP, où il pratique le droit des sociétés, le droit commercial et le droit des organismes à but non lucratif. Ses champs d’activité touchent les affaires et les finances (acquisitions et fusions, financement des entreprises, institutions financières et valeurs mobilières), les organismes de bienfaisance et plus particulièrement les organismes de soins de santé, le droit du travail (contrats, avantages sociaux et régimes de pension et de rémunération), la diffamation et la propriété intellectuelle.

Diplômé en droit de l’Université de Toronto et membre du Barreau de l’Ontario depuis 1969, M. Ross détient également une maîtrise de l’Osgoode Hall Law School.

M. Ross siège au conseil d’administration de diverses entreprises canadiennes, dont la CDEV et  la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia, à titre de président, ainsi que l’Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History.