Archived - Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of New Chair of the Canada Development Investment Corporation Board of Directors

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

June 30, 2015 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Michael Mackasey as the new Chair of the Canada Development Investment Corporation (CDEV) Board of Directors. Mr. Mackasey was recently appointed to the Board of Directors of CDEV and is currently the Managing Director and Head of Equity Capital Markets Canada for Macquarie Capital Markets Canada. His appointment is for a four-year term.

Quick Facts

  • The Canada Development Investment Corporation is a holding company established in 1982 under the Canada Business Corporations Act. It manages investments assigned to it and it privatizes Government of Canada holdings when appropriate.

Quote

"I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Mike Mackasey as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Canada Development Investment Corporation. His extensive experience in senior roles in the investment banking sector will enable him to play an important role in helping the Government manage its investments and corporate interests."

- Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Related Product

Additional Link

Media Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance
613-369-4000

Stay Connected


Biographical Notes

Michael P. Mackasey

Michael P. Mackasey has 35 years’ experience in the financial sector, most recently as the Managing Director and Head, Equity Capital Markets Canada for Macquarie Capital Markets Canada. In March 2015, he was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Canada Development Investment Corporation.

Mr. Mackasey has provided advice to domestic, international and government clients throughout his career. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from McGill University and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Western Ontario.

He is also a past Chair of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada for the Ontario district.

Archivé - Le ministre des Finances annonce la nomination du nouveau président du conseil d'administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 30 juin 2015 – Ottawa (Ontario)– Ministère des Finances

Le ministre des Finances, Joe Oliver, a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de M. Michael Mackasey à la présidence du conseil d’administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (CDEV). Récemment nommé au conseil d’administration de la CDEV, M. Mackasey occupe actuellement le poste de directeur général et chef des marchés des capitaux à Marchés des capitaux Macquarie Canada. Sa nomination est assortie d’un mandat de quatre ans.

Les faits en bref

  • La CDEV est une société de portefeuille qui a été créée en 1982 en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions. Elle gère les investissements qui lui sont confiés et privatise les avoirs du gouvernement du Canada s’il y a lieu.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d'annoncer la nomination de M. Mike Mackasey au poste de président du conseil d'administration de la CDEV. La vaste expérience qu'il a acquise dans des postes de cadre supérieur au sein du secteur des services bancaires d'investissement lui permettra de jouer un rôle important en vue d'aider le gouvernement à gérer ses investissements et ses intérêts dans des entreprises du secteur privé. »

−Joe Oliver, ministre des Finances

Produit connexe

Lien connexe

Contacts

Melissa Lantsman
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
613-369-5696

David Barnabe
Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances
613-369-4000

Restez branchés


Notice biographique

Michael P. Mackasey

Michael P. Mackasey a accumulé plus de 35 ans d’expérience dans le secteur financier, plus récemment comme directeur général et chef des marchés des capitaux à Marchés des capitaux Macquarie Canada. En mars 2015, il a été nommé au conseil d’administration de la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada.

Pendant toute sa carrière, M. Mackasey a prodigué des conseils à des clients canadiens, internationaux et gouvernementaux. Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université McGill et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université de Western Ontario.

M. Mackasey a également été président du conseil d’administration de la section de l’Ontario de l’Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières.